1673 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 908
  • 4 star values: 527
  • 3 star values: 162
  • 2 star values: 59
  • 1 star values: 17

A light but super-tasty pasta dish, with fresh asparagus cooked in broth with sauteed garlic and seasoned chicken.

Advertisement

Ingredients

8
Original recipe yields 8 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to boil. Add pasta, and cook until al dente, about 8 to 10 minutes. Drain, and set aside.

    Advertisement
  • Warm 3 tablespoons olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Stir in chicken, and season with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Cook until chicken is cooked through and browned, about 5 minutes. Remove chicken to paper towels.

  • Pour chicken broth into the skillet. Then stir in asparagus, garlic, and a pinch more garlic powder, salt, and pepper. Cover, and steam until the asparagus is just tender, about 5 to 10 minutes. Return chicken to the skillet, and warm through.

  • Stir chicken mixture into pasta, and mix well. Let sit about 5 minutes. Drizzle with 2 tablespoons olive oil, stir again, then sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

332 calories; 10.9 g total fat; 20 mg cholesterol; 69 mg sodium. 43.3 g carbohydrates; 16.7 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (1136)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
06/21/2006
Okay so I posted this recipe but I wanted to let you all know that I added sauted mushrooms to the mix and it came out even better. Also for those of you wanting a sauce type of pasta dish this is not for you. It is very lite and any of the broth mixture gets sucked up into the pasta while you have it sit for 5 minutes. If it is too bland just add more galic powder and salt and pepper. Read More
(677)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
05/29/2013
This turned out to be very disappointing. I used the exact ingredients listed and followed all directions carefully. My plate looked exactly like the one in the picture! However the result was a flavorless dry pasta dish. Perhaps a light cream or broth sauce would help it. It was missing the taste of herbs and spices. Read More
(6)
1673 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 908
  • 4 star values: 527
  • 3 star values: 162
  • 2 star values: 59
  • 1 star values: 17
Rating: 5 stars
06/21/2006
Okay so I posted this recipe but I wanted to let you all know that I added sauted mushrooms to the mix and it came out even better. Also for those of you wanting a sauce type of pasta dish this is not for you. It is very lite and any of the broth mixture gets sucked up into the pasta while you have it sit for 5 minutes. If it is too bland just add more galic powder and salt and pepper. Read More
(677)
Rating: 5 stars
11/14/2007
Seems like I'm doing these reviews every night lately! I'm really enjoying cooking thats for sure! But what I did was... Chopped the asp. into 1 in. pieces and boiled it in my pasta water for a few while it came to a boil. Then I drained it into a bowl so I was able to reserve the hot water; then added the pasta back to it. Grilled my chicken breast seasoned w/ poultry seasoning s&p. on my little indoor grill for a few (I like the chix to have a little golden color) then cut it up & added it to evoo that had been sauteeing garlic and onion. Added the chix asp. sqz of lemon juice chopped a few roasted red peppers (out of a jar "RAO'S" brand.. yum) 1/2 of a chopped tomato 1/4 cup of chix broth about 1/4 cup of cream cheese and a spash of milk & parm chz. That really helped make it creamier although there still wasnt too much sauce but thats fine w/ me. Makes it feel "lighter"! Thats about it I snuck in a few red pepper flakes & tossed it all w/ the pasta! Perfect! My kids gobbled it down w/out complaint! Although they are pretty good eaters. Their favorite food is calamari and they love the tenacles! My friends are soo jealous of how my kids eat! Guess I'm doing something right! Enjoy! Laura from AZ Read More
(337)
Rating: 5 stars
03/15/2006
Yeah! A meal that both the parents and the kids (ages 3 & 5) will eat! I added a can (drained)artichoke hearts when the asparagus was steaming. I didn't have any chicken broth so I threw in a cube of chicken bouillon to 1.5 cups of water. When the pasta is mixed in the penne drank up all of the broth - so there was really no sauce. I offered crushed red peppers on the side for the adults and plenty of parmesan for the kiddos! And everyone was happy! Read More
(287)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
02/01/2011
THE MOST AMAZING THING EVER!!! I loved this dish. I did alter it ( I am sure it great the way it was posted but I wanted something creamier). After I cooked the chicken ( I marinated it in italian dressing before cooking) I cooked the asparagus in 1 c broth minced garlic salt and pepper but only for like 3 minutes because I wanted it pretty crispy. Then I sprained out the asparagus leaving broth in the sauce pan and added 3 oz cream cheese 1/2 cup parmesan cheese and about 1/4 cup milk. I whisked this until smooth then added the chicken and asparagus then coated it. Then I added the pasta and topped with more parmesan cheese. I seriously had 3 helpings of it and want to eat more. I am going to try it the original way next time but for a wintery comfort food it was AMAZING (if I do say so myself)! Read More
(166)
Rating: 4 stars
01/23/2008
Not bad! I used whole wheat pasta and also added some broccoli some red peppers and the mushrooms. Definitely needs 3-4 cloves of fresh sauteed garlic (not just powder.) Read More
(87)
Rating: 5 stars
09/18/2006
This pasta recipe is simply wonderful. I made only a few changes I used Mrs Dash seasoning on the chicken and added two tablespoons of butter to the finished asparagus and chicken. I highly recommend this simple and elegant dish. Read More
(84)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
06/15/2006
This was a nice change from all the creamy pasta dishes. I did use 3 chicken breast and only 12 oz penne pasta. It turned out perfect for a quick summertime meal that doesn't make you feel like you packed on 10 lbs over dinner.:) Thanks Laurel B! Read More
(78)
Rating: 5 stars
06/11/2012
With some modifications this was exactly the dish my tastebuds were waiting for. I read through many reviews before deciding on my cooking game plan. I wasn't going for "light" I was going for delicious. I added fresh broccoli in addition to the asparagus (yay veggies!). Instead of cubing the chicken I sliced the breasts in half so they'd be thin. I sauteed the salted and peppered chicken with onion and plenty of freshly minced garlic cloves in olive oil. I also used a lot more chicken broth (didn't use low sodium)- at least a cup. I also took the plunge and added Philadelphia cream cheese (quite a bit). Next time I will add even more broth and cream cheese so it has more sauce. One reviewer recommended added a splash of milk as well and I think I will try that next time. The creamy sauce is great and I love having tons of asparagus and broccoli in with the chicken and pasta. This also froze and reheated well. It's good stuff enjoy! Read More
(57)
Rating: 4 stars
10/21/2005
A little bland. I added sun dried tomatoes and artichoke hearts when I cooked the chicken to zest it up. Also added a bit of italian seasoning to the chicken broth when I steamed the asparagus. Next time I may make it with a bit more of a cream sauce at the end. Read More
(54)