952 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 822
  • 4 star values: 109
  • 3 star values: 14
  • 2 star values: 5
  • 1 star values: 2

A healthy and tasty chicken salad with a fruity twist - great on a croissant or in a honey pita. Note: This salad is best if eaten the day after preparation. This allows the ingredients time to mingle, giving a fuller flavor. If desired, use nonfat mayonnaise.

Advertisement

Ingredients

8
Original recipe yields 8 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • In a large bowl combine the chicken, celery, onion, apple, raisins, grapes, pecans, pepper, curry powder and mayonnaise. Mix all together. Serve!

    Advertisement

Partner Tip

Try using a Reynolds® slow cooker liner in your slow cooker for easier cleanup.

Nutrition Facts

229 calories; 14 g total fat; 44 mg cholesterol; 188 mg sodium. 12.3 g carbohydrates; 15.1 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (675)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
07/20/2005
HOLY MOLY. I gave this 4 stars the day before yesterday thinking it was better than okay but not outstanding. Well yesterday and especially today the flavors have melded together the curry flavor has mellowed the fruity flavors have brightened it tastes like a great amercian chicken salad for a picnic lunch but about 20 times better. WOW. TRY THIS RECIPE! But don't judge until it's had a chance to sit in the fridge for at least 1 day...... p.s. I used about 4 Tbs. Miracle Whip Light (25 cals/Tbs) and I don't think it could have tasted better with full fat mayo. To keep the cals to a minimum remember that 1/2 cup of nuts packs a big calorie punch so chop them small and reduce the amount to 1/4 or 1/3 cup. And use nuts that are especially healthy such as walnuts (excellent source of Omega-3 fats) if you want those extra calories to really count for something nutritionally. Read More
(533)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
03/04/2009
Oh what a waste of chicken!!! We hated this recipe. Read More
(2)
952 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 822
  • 4 star values: 109
  • 3 star values: 14
  • 2 star values: 5
  • 1 star values: 2
Rating: 5 stars
07/20/2005
HOLY MOLY. I gave this 4 stars the day before yesterday thinking it was better than okay but not outstanding. Well yesterday and especially today the flavors have melded together the curry flavor has mellowed the fruity flavors have brightened it tastes like a great amercian chicken salad for a picnic lunch but about 20 times better. WOW. TRY THIS RECIPE! But don't judge until it's had a chance to sit in the fridge for at least 1 day...... p.s. I used about 4 Tbs. Miracle Whip Light (25 cals/Tbs) and I don't think it could have tasted better with full fat mayo. To keep the cals to a minimum remember that 1/2 cup of nuts packs a big calorie punch so chop them small and reduce the amount to 1/4 or 1/3 cup. And use nuts that are especially healthy such as walnuts (excellent source of Omega-3 fats) if you want those extra calories to really count for something nutritionally. Read More
(533)
Rating: 5 stars
09/09/2007
Wow this is my new chicken salad recipe. I am a bit of a chicken salad 'snob' in that I have made so many different varieties and order it very often at restaurants. This version is perfect (as long as you like curry)!! Boiling chicken to perfection is hard to do so here's my 5 cents worth: Cut up your raw chicken in chunks and bring to a boil in chicken broth. Boil for just a couple of minutes and then put a lid on take off the stove and just let it sit for 15 minutes or so. It cooks slowly like this and results in a perfect texture and flavor. Read More
(431)
Rating: 5 stars
02/16/2006
Excellent! I modified this recipe by omitting the apple and grapes and using craisins in place of raisins and chunk chicken in a can to save time and it tasted great. The tasted of curry in this really makes this salad and you definitely need to make sure to let the flavors "marinate" for a few hours before serving as the taste is much better then. I have eaten this stuffed into a pita pocket and also rolled into a wheat tortilla wrap with a green salad on the side for lunch. Read More
(150)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
01/03/2006
Wonderful! I used a whole rottiserie chicken increased the mayonnaise to 1 cup increased the curry to 1 tsp. added craisins instead of raisins and it turned out great. Definitely my favorite. Thanks. Read More
(91)
Rating: 5 stars
04/22/2011
Easy and delicious - plus it's a great way to use up leftover grilled chicken! I didn't have pecans so I subbed toasted walnuts instead. I used a Granny Smith Apple and red seedless grapes vs. green. I also used dried cranberries vs. raisins. I mixed the dressing in a separate bowl before folding it into the chicken and other ingredients. For the dressing I used 1/2 cup of Hellman's light mayo cut with 1/4 cup of reduced fat sour cream along with the curry and a bit of salt and pepper. It chilled for just a couple of hours and it came out really good. Overall a great combination of flavors! Especially good on whole grain bread! Read More
(79)
Rating: 5 stars
05/30/2007
LOVE this recipe my favorite of all recipes I have tried at this site. It is healthy relatively simple to make can be made ahead of time (although Hubby keeps eating it up). I often substitute depending on what I have on hand without any problems: canned chicken leftover rotisserie chicken leftover turkey fuji apples walnuts cranberries yellow onions. This is one of the few recipes my husband and my own mother has complimented me on more than once. Read More
(65)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
07/07/2006
I am always looking for the perfect recipes--those that are keepers that I will make repeatedly. This is one of those recipes. I have made it for two bridal luncheons in the past month and both occasions lead to the remarks home chefs love to hear--"This is the best chicken salad I've ever eaten!" If you make it the day before I would suggest having a bit more of the curry mayo to freshen it up right before serving. Mine seemed to soak up the dressing. Read More
(50)
Rating: 5 stars
01/02/2006
Wonderful chicken salad recipe!! I used boneless chicken breasts that I sprinkled with garlic pepper and seasoned salt and baked for about 45 minutes. I made the recipe exactly as written and people raved about how good it was. I think this is the best chicken salad I've ever had. This is a new favorite for me! Read More
(35)
Rating: 5 stars
12/28/2005
I served this recipe on croissants at at women's seminar. They are still talking about how good the sandwiches were. Thanks for the recipe! Read More
(34)