A baked chicken breast dish for company. The mushrooms lend a new flavor to a classic dish.

Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

    Advertisement
  • Rinse and dry the chicken breast halves. Dip each in melted butter, then coat/dredge in flour.

  • Place coated chicken in a 9x13 inch baking dish. Add cream to just cover. Top with sliced mushrooms and grated Parmesan cheese and bake in the preheated oven for 30 to 45 minutes. Let cool 10 minutes and serve.

Nutrition Facts

481 calories; 29.9 g total fat; 159 mg cholesterol; 278 mg sodium. 18.5 g carbohydrates; 34.1 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (108)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
03/23/2007
Made a few changes with this recipe. I used half and half istead of heavy whipping cream. I also seasoned the flour with Lawrys seasoning salt garlic powder and pepper. Seasoned the butter too with garlic salt and pepper. I added the half and half the last 20 minutes of cooking so it would not currdle as it had with another review. I also sauted the mushrooms along with a yellow onion and a green bell pepper in butter then added them the last 15 minutes. This is a great recipe. I will be making again and again!! Thanks for sharing:) Read More
(195)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
07/23/2010
Not one person made this recipe as is...all made very good changes...why would you give it 4 stars? In my opinion it is bland & boring....the changes are what made it successful. Read More
(9)
137 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 61
  • 4 star values: 49
  • 3 star values: 10
  • 2 star values: 10
  • 1 star values: 7
Rating: 5 stars
03/23/2007
Made a few changes with this recipe. I used half and half istead of heavy whipping cream. I also seasoned the flour with Lawrys seasoning salt garlic powder and pepper. Seasoned the butter too with garlic salt and pepper. I added the half and half the last 20 minutes of cooking so it would not currdle as it had with another review. I also sauted the mushrooms along with a yellow onion and a green bell pepper in butter then added them the last 15 minutes. This is a great recipe. I will be making again and again!! Thanks for sharing:) Read More
(195)
Rating: 5 stars
06/29/2006
My husband and I loved this recipe. I took the advice of others. I added salt pepper garlic powder and herbs de provence to the flour. I sauteed the mushrooms with some fresh spinach fresh garlic and sherry. I served over angel hair pasta. Delicious! Read More
(104)
Rating: 5 stars
06/05/2003
Very easy simple but taste is great! As there is no seasoning on this recipe I added S&P garlic powder and onion powder before coating in flour. Read More
(60)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
02/26/2006
Great Recipe! Just my.02 added about 3 cloves of garlic and used Vigo bread crumbs rather than just flour. I would say the garlic is a must though. By far one of the best and easiest dinner I've made from this site. Read More
(56)
Rating: 4 stars
06/27/2006
Great simple recipe! Of course I wanted a lot more flavor & flaire...I added salt pepper garlic powder & herbs du provence in the coating for a little more flavor. I didn't have whole cream on hand so I replaced it with 1/2 & 1/2. I also sauteed my mushrooms with olive oil butter & white wine and added it to the oven cooked chicken. Shredded swiss cheese was added at the end and broiled until light brown. Yummy! Read More
(40)
Rating: 4 stars
04/22/2005
Very good very rich recipe. My wife made it for me in a larger dish than the recipie calls for. Perhaps Sam's Club chicken breasts are larger than most. My wife served it over linguine and I loved it. She said it was a little bland and added pepper and garlic powder. We agreed that some milk to thin the cream or half and half instead of cream might make this less fattening. Read More
(38)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
06/25/2010
Here's a little hint. Marinate your chicken in Zesty Italian dressing for a few hours or overnight. YOU WON'T BE DISSAPOINTED!!!!! Try it. Read More
(34)
Rating: 4 stars
03/28/2008
Tasty and easy. I used fat-free half and half it was plenty thick and my picky hubby couldn't tell the difference. I also used canned mushrooms as I forgot to buy fresh - they were fine as well. I tried to spice it up but didn't use enough garlic powder and such. I should warn you that this is a truly WHITE dinner. I served it with steamed veggies and put it over rice. It would be good with noodles as well. Read More
(22)
Rating: 4 stars
08/05/2003
Although very good this needed a bit of spicing up. I mixed the flour with Italian-style bread crumbs and double-coated the chicken. I also sprinkled Italian seasoning in the last step for a little extra flavor. Turned out great! Read More
(20)