This recipe does wonders for pork ribs. My mother made it when I was a child, and now I make it for my family. This recipe is very rich but very filling. It goes great with mashed potatoes!

Gallery

Recipe Summary

prep:
15 mins
additional:
2 hrs
total:
2 hrs 15 mins
Servings:
6
Yield:
6 servings
Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified
Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).

    Advertisement
  • In a saucepan over medium heat, stir together the vinegar, ketchup, soy sauce, and pineapple. Stir in brown sugar, cornstarch, salt, and ginger. Cook, stirring constantly, until slightly thickened, about 5 minutes.

  • Arrange a layer of spareribs in a roasting pan. Pour half of the sauce over the top. Arrange another layer of spareribs, and top with remaining sauce. Cover pan tightly with foil.

  • Bake in a preheated oven until done, about 1 1/2 to 2 hours.

Nutrition Facts

474 calories; protein 29.5g 59% DV; carbohydrates 20.3g 7% DV; fat 30.2g 46% DV; cholesterol 120.1mg 40% DV; sodium 661.8mg 27% DV. Full Nutrition

Reviews (65)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
12/07/2006
These were delicious. To those who had trouble getting the sauce to stick to the ribs try this: put the plain ribs (meat side up seasoned with salt & pepper) on a rack in a roasting pan. Cover them super tight with foil and bake an hour and fifteen minutes at 350. This will get them nice and tender. Then remove them from the pan drain the fat out of the bottom of the pan and put the ribs back in the pan (with no rack this time). Cover them with the cooked sauce and bake them again uncovered for 35 minutes. The meat will fall off the bone and the sauce will be thick and yummy. I do this with pretty much every sauce I try on my ribs and it really works. Yum yum yum. These were so loving thanks for the recipe!! Read More
(143)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
03/23/2010
Fairly bland; spice it up if you try Read More
(6)
81 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 45
  • 4 star values: 19
  • 3 star values: 10
  • 2 star values: 6
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 5 stars
12/06/2006
These were delicious. To those who had trouble getting the sauce to stick to the ribs try this: put the plain ribs (meat side up seasoned with salt & pepper) on a rack in a roasting pan. Cover them super tight with foil and bake an hour and fifteen minutes at 350. This will get them nice and tender. Then remove them from the pan drain the fat out of the bottom of the pan and put the ribs back in the pan (with no rack this time). Cover them with the cooked sauce and bake them again uncovered for 35 minutes. The meat will fall off the bone and the sauce will be thick and yummy. I do this with pretty much every sauce I try on my ribs and it really works. Yum yum yum. These were so loving thanks for the recipe!! Read More
(143)
Rating: 5 stars
06/25/2005
I thought this was a really good recipe. I cooked the spareribs in the oven on 350 for about 45 mins then I put them in the crockpot with sauce on low for 5 hours. Maybe a little less vinegar or a little more brown sugar but otherwise great. Read More
(47)
Rating: 5 stars
01/26/2006
Everybody loved these ribs and wanted the recipe. The sauce was a bit thick so I thinned it with some fruit juice I had in the fridge. You could use any fruit juice for this. Definitely a keeper! Read More
(31)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
04/30/2007
These ribs are awesome! I cook them in the crock pot though - on low for about 8 hours (layer layer layer) and then serve over rice.... delicious! I quadrupled recipe for a luau party last year and fed about 25 people with plenty of leftovers! Everyone asked for the recipe! Also there's a recipe on this site for "Hawaiian Coleslaw" which is a great complimentary side dish. Read More
(21)
Rating: 5 stars
07/06/2005
I thought this was a 4 but my wife said definately a 5. Changed a couple of things; used 1/4 cup ketchup and 1/4 cup of my favorite barbecue sauce and upped the brown sugar to 4 Tbs. I let the sauce cool then let meat set in the sauce about 3 hours before baking. Very tender and tangy and easy to make. Read More
(20)
Rating: 5 stars
11/05/2007
If you like sweet and sour with a Hawaiian flair this is definitely for you. The meat is so tender it just falls off the bone...my mom used to make this when I was little but had lost the recipe. Thank you so much for sharing this and bringing back so many memories for me!!! Read More
(11)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
12/17/2008
I made these for a luau-themed Christmas party and loved them! I had never done ribs at all before and yet found this recipe to be super-easy. I did follow the instructions for cooking ribs in general left in one comment (cooking the meat covered by itself for an hour and a half before adding the sauce). Even my husband who claims to dislike all things barbecue or "sweet meat" really liked these - he's asking me to make them again already! Read More
(10)
Rating: 5 stars
06/18/2006
Just made it for a luau surprise party and everyone loved it!!!! Will make it again. We ended making this recipe x'5 and they were almost all gone. People took copies of the recipe home. We put them in a roaster and cooked them for 4 hrs and they were falling off the bone. Would recommend to everyone! Read More
(10)
Rating: 5 stars
07/02/2006
So good! The only change I made was substituting low sodium teriyaki for the soy sauce and cutting down just a bit on the vinegar. The sauce was so rich and thick almost like a jam. The aroma was incredible. Definitely a keeper. Thanks! Read More
(9)
Rating: 3 stars
03/23/2010
Fairly bland; spice it up if you try Read More
(6)