154 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 52
  • 4 star values: 57
  • 3 star values: 15
  • 2 star values: 14
  • 1 star values: 16

I have been making this casserole for 25 years. It is fast and easy and great for working moms and dads.

Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

    Advertisement
  • In a large bowl mix the rice, dry onion soup mix, cream of mushroom soup, mushroom pieces and milk.

  • Place the chicken pieces in a 9x13 inch baking dish and pour the mushroom mixture over the chicken. Cover and bake in the preheated oven for 1 hour. Uncover and bake for 15 more minutes.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

367 calories; 8.6 g total fat; 72 mg cholesterol; 1252 mg sodium. 37.4 g carbohydrates; 33.1 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (126)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
10/12/2003
My husband and I loved this! Definitely use instant rice in this dish. It does taste heavy on the onion soup flavor so if you don't like that flavor you should cut it back. I personally love it and used the entire packet. It was a great throw it together fast clean up while it's in the oven and have great leftovers meal! Thanks Mary Ann! Read More
(97)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
02/11/2007
Rice didn't cook well even with extra time. Soupy runny bland if not virtually flavorless. I would have vomited but that would have been redundant. Will never make again. Read More
(6)
154 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 52
  • 4 star values: 57
  • 3 star values: 15
  • 2 star values: 14
  • 1 star values: 16
Rating: 4 stars
02/09/2004
This a really good & easy workday meal! The only change I made was to use Lipton Onion-Mushroom soup mix instead of the plain onion soup mix. I think the plain onion mix is just too strong. As for the reviewers who had problems with uncooked rice your problem occured because you used non-fat milk. I don't know the chemistry behind it but you need to use 2% or whole milk in a recipe like this where the rice cooks while baking. Try it again and I promise you'll like it! Read More
(190)
Rating: 5 stars
10/12/2003
My husband and I loved this! Definitely use instant rice in this dish. It does taste heavy on the onion soup flavor so if you don't like that flavor you should cut it back. I personally love it and used the entire packet. It was a great throw it together fast clean up while it's in the oven and have great leftovers meal! Thanks Mary Ann! Read More
(97)
Rating: 5 stars
12/13/2010
Well I dont know about the snob who said this was only for beginners. I made this just like it is written (use half a pkg of onion soup mix) and it was excellent. I have been cooking for 40 years and it was a great easy casserole! Read More
(90)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
12/10/2007
This was pretty good. I used two cups of brown minute rice and a half of the package of soup mix and it turned out perfectly. Putting the rice mixture on top of the chicken keeps the chicken really moist tender and flavorful. Read More
(83)
Rating: 5 stars
08/29/2002
Definitly the best casserole dish I have tried for chicken. What a difference it makes to mix all the ingredients together. I cut the chicken into chunks or strips. Tastes really good the next day if there happens to be any leftover. Doesn't happen often with my family everyone enjoys this dish! Hobbit Read More
(50)
Rating: 2 stars
02/20/2006
This recipe needs to be stopped! It needs to be consigned to the archives of "Beginners Only". Don't bother unless you're a novice... in which case you MIGHT think it's good. Read More
(49)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
05/01/2007
This recipe is delicious. It cooked perfectly. I used 6 chicken legs instead of the breasts. I've been looking for years for the casserole my grandma used to make when we visited and THIS IS IT! I made it without the can of mushrooms only because my children think they are toxic waste but it was still creamy and delicious just like I remember! Read More
(45)
Rating: 5 stars
07/27/2008
I was looking for this kind of recipe but most of the ones I saw I didn't like the look of. This was the one I decided to go with. I did make some tweaks though. I used Cream of Chickena and Mushroom soup and fresh mushrooms. I also threw in some spices (basil oregano parsley salt and pepper). I cooked the sauce before putting it in the oven and put the rice in the sauce to let it soften up a bit before baking. This turned out really good though and I think I've found another regular recipe to add to the rota. Read More
(32)
Rating: 5 stars
11/23/2006
Easy as pie and a big hit especially for cold nights it is a great recipe to make little changes and have a whole new dish llike using broccoli soup instead of mushroom or adding a variety of frozen veggies instead of just the mushrooms it is a great recipe to put together what you have in your cabinets and come out the hit of the house;) Read More
(29)