2955 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 2261
  • 4 star values: 525
  • 3 star values: 130
  • 2 star values: 24
  • 1 star values: 15

Honey chicken kabobs with veggies. You can marinate overnight and make these kabobs for an outdoor barbecue as a tasty alternative to the usual barbecue fare! Fresh mushrooms and cherry tomatoes can also be used. (This can also be done in the broiler.)

Advertisement

Ingredients

12
Original recipe yields 12 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • In a large bowl, whisk together oil, honey, soy sauce, and pepper. Before adding chicken, reserve a small amount of marinade to brush onto kabobs while cooking. Place the chicken, garlic, onions and peppers in the bowl, and marinate in the refrigerator at least 2 hours (the longer the better).

    Advertisement
  • Preheat the grill for high heat.

  • Drain marinade from the chicken and vegetables, and discard marinade. Thread chicken and vegetables alternately onto the skewers.

  • Lightly oil the grill grate. Place the skewers on the grill. Cook for 12 to 15 minutes, until chicken juices run clear. Turn and brush with reserved marinade frequently.

Editor's Note:

The nutrition data for this recipe includes information for the full amount of the marinade ingredients. Depending on marinating time, ingredients, cooking method, etc., the actual amount of the marinade consumed will vary.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

178 calories; 6.6 g total fat; 45 mg cholesterol; 442 mg sodium. 12.4 g carbohydrates; 17.4 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (1967)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
05/05/2008
This is an excellent recipe and lives up to all the reviews. A few things to remember. 1. Double the sauce or you won't have enough. 2. If you're going to baste with the sauce do it in the last minutes of of grilling. 3. Marinating the chicken and veggies is a MUST and the longer the better. I put the chicken and veggies in separate zip-lock bags and left them for about 8 hours. Every time I went to the fridge I turned the bags over. 4. If you're using wooden skewers don't forget to soak them in water for a few hours or they'll burn...I hate it when that happens. 5. If you lower your grill temperature a bit you'll be able to put the veggies and chicken on the same skewers and they'll come out cooked to perfection. Place your hand about 2 inches over the heated grill surface. If you can hold your hand there for three seconds then you've got the right grill temperature. If you have to take your hand away sooner it's too hot. Oh and you've got to add some pineapple chunks. Keep the faith and keep cooking. Read More
(3309)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
05/27/2007
This recipe didn't turn out well. I wasn't able to eat it. Read More
(4)
2955 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 2261
  • 4 star values: 525
  • 3 star values: 130
  • 2 star values: 24
  • 1 star values: 15
Rating: 5 stars
05/05/2008
This is an excellent recipe and lives up to all the reviews. A few things to remember. 1. Double the sauce or you won't have enough. 2. If you're going to baste with the sauce do it in the last minutes of of grilling. 3. Marinating the chicken and veggies is a MUST and the longer the better. I put the chicken and veggies in separate zip-lock bags and left them for about 8 hours. Every time I went to the fridge I turned the bags over. 4. If you're using wooden skewers don't forget to soak them in water for a few hours or they'll burn...I hate it when that happens. 5. If you lower your grill temperature a bit you'll be able to put the veggies and chicken on the same skewers and they'll come out cooked to perfection. Place your hand about 2 inches over the heated grill surface. If you can hold your hand there for three seconds then you've got the right grill temperature. If you have to take your hand away sooner it's too hot. Oh and you've got to add some pineapple chunks. Keep the faith and keep cooking. Read More
(3309)
Rating: 5 stars
01/02/2004
This was really good. The only thing that I did differently was to put all the chicken together on skewers and the veggies together on skewers. This way if the veggies got done first they didn't burn while waiting for the chicken. Read More
(873)
Rating: 5 stars
01/21/2010
Have tried this recipe 3 - 4 times over the past year with different cuts of chicken etc. The absolute best way is to buy chicken thighs (bone in) and marinate for a minimum of 24 - 30 hours. I make batches of them and put 10-12 pieces in the fridge at a time. My family uses them as "grab and go's". Wonderful recipe!!! Read More
(647)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
05/23/2007
5! These kabobs were SO tender & flavorful. I marinated them all day using low-salt soy sauce canola oil the honey black pepper & fresh minced garlic. Added just a touch of cayenne pepper to the marinade and it was great! Doubled the marinade as I did not want my veggies marinating in the same mixture as the chicken. To grill on one skewer used red & orange bell peppers and a red onion as that is what I had on hand and these required different cooking times than the meat and other veggies used. On another skewer did zucchini grape & cherry tomatoes from our garden. And on another used pineapple chunks. Thank you Ann Marie! Read More
(285)
Rating: 5 stars
05/23/2007
This is a very tasty and versatile recipe! I haven't had any trouble with lack of flavor; in fact the other night I made this last minute and it only marinated about 30 minutes and was still delicious. The kabobs are great but one of my favorite ways to use this is as a sandwich: leave the chicken breasts intact or cut in half to fit a hamburger bun. Otherwise follow the recipe for marinating the chicken (I did put the garlic and onion in the marinade for flavor). Serve on a bun (I prefer whole wheat) with swiss cheese melted on top honey mustard and toppings of your choice (lettuce tomato onion etc). Yum! If you make extra chicken try the leftovers sliced on a salad for lunch the next day. Read More
(204)
Rating: 5 stars
12/09/2005
I used this mix with a stir fry! It was wonderful on top of chicken fried rice! I placed the chicken strips in a bowl with the marinade and then place the whole thing in a wok and let it cook together then drained 3/4 of the marinade and cooked for 5 minutes and served on top of rice AWESOME! Read More
(183)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
05/24/2003
We had a BBQ for July 4th and decided to serve these for something a little different. They were a hit!! People are still talking about them 2 months later. We marinated shrimp in addition to the chicken and added pineapple to the skewers. They were fabulous. Read More
(108)
Rating: 5 stars
04/05/2003
These were fabulous! We only had time to marinate the chicken for two hours but that was plenty of time as they gained plenty of flavor. We also grilled the kabobs on a little skewer rack that kept them from directly touching the grill. It took a little longer to cook this way (just over 15 minutes) but it also kept them from sticking. We used onion cherry tomatoes and mushrooms and these were the best skewers we've ever made on our grill! We'll definitely have them again - the marinade just makes the dish! Read More
(74)
Rating: 4 stars
06/18/2003
I added extra garlic and a tsp of ginger and marinated for three hours. I think they needed longer time in the marinade for more flavor. Next time I will try overnight. They were delicious and will make often this summer. Read More
(60)