1264 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 833
  • 4 star values: 329
  • 3 star values: 81
  • 2 star values: 13
  • 1 star values: 8

This actually uses my breading for Chicken Fried Steak---my husband suggested we try it with chicken breasts, and it was delicious!

Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • In a shallow dish, mix together the garlic powder, pepper, salt, paprika, bread crumbs and flour. In a separate dish, whisk together the milk and egg.

    Advertisement
  • Heat the oil in an electric skillet set to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Dip the chicken into the egg and milk, then dredge in the dry ingredients until evenly coated.

  • Fry chicken in the hot oil for about 5 minutes per side, or until the chicken is cooked through and juices run clear. Remove from the oil with a slotted spatula, and serve.

Editor's Note

We have determined the nutritional value of oil for frying based on a retention value of 10% after cooking. The exact amount may vary depending on cook time and temperature, ingredient density, and the specific type of oil used.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

391 calories; 11.4 g total fat; 116 mg cholesterol; 935 mg sodium. 37.3 g carbohydrates; 32.8 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (935)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
05/08/2006
Want the most tender moist fried chicken? Try marinating the chicken for at least 4 hours (if not all day) in buttermilk. Out of this world - great to use buttermilk when soaking raw onions for onion rings too. In order to cut down on the actual frying time I generally brown my chicken and then place it on a broiler rack and bake it for 45 minutes in a 375 oven. The broiler rack allows alot of the fat to drip off. Line the bottom with foil and spray the rack with Pam before placing chicken pieces on top clean up is a breeze. I too like a bit of dill in my chicken coating and I use ordinary flour instead of bread crumbs. I also add a generous portion of Lawry's salt but you can also use Lemon Pepper if you are watching your salt intake. Read More
(644)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
04/26/2010
We just didn't like this recipe. Sorry. Read More
(6)
1264 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 833
  • 4 star values: 329
  • 3 star values: 81
  • 2 star values: 13
  • 1 star values: 8
Rating: 4 stars
04/17/2006
My chicken didn't turn out well the first time I attempted to use the recipe as posted. I used chicken drumsticks not breasts and it took forever the inside of the chicken to cook while the outside coating became rubbery. So having been raised a good portion of my childhood in Kentucky I remembered that mamy people boiled the chicken first (not all the way cooked) before coating and frying. This allows for way less cooking time in the skillet and the for the coating to be crispy not chewy. Also a good way to get rid of that blood that comes from the bone while frying (if not using the boil method)...soak the chicken in ice and water with salt for about half an hour before cooking. Read More
(835)
Rating: 4 stars
05/08/2006
I am Southern and I can fry some chicken but this impressed me. I usually fry with just flour salt and pepper but I added the spices and the egg mixture. It was good. I didn't measure anything out just threw the spices in. I added alot more garlic I love it and of course more salt amd pepper. I salted and peppered the chicken and the egg mixture. You cannot fry chicken in 15 minutes. I cooked on high for 5 then flipping on medium with lid on for 20. Nice and crispy. Served with baked potato and corn. Will make again. Read More
(709)
Rating: 5 stars
05/08/2006
Want the most tender moist fried chicken? Try marinating the chicken for at least 4 hours (if not all day) in buttermilk. Out of this world - great to use buttermilk when soaking raw onions for onion rings too. In order to cut down on the actual frying time I generally brown my chicken and then place it on a broiler rack and bake it for 45 minutes in a 375 oven. The broiler rack allows alot of the fat to drip off. Line the bottom with foil and spray the rack with Pam before placing chicken pieces on top clean up is a breeze. I too like a bit of dill in my chicken coating and I use ordinary flour instead of bread crumbs. I also add a generous portion of Lawry's salt but you can also use Lemon Pepper if you are watching your salt intake. Read More
(644)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
03/06/2010
Just a quick note: This is my recipe and my original recipe called for tablespoons of garlic pwdr and AR edited it to teaspoons. I had mentioned this in an earlier review but the review was deleted ): Also granulated garlic really brings out that garliky flavor! but 'tis all to taste---play with it and see what works best for you! Tan PS Also wanted to say that I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs for the seasoned bread crumbs. This also makes really good chicken for Chicken Parmesan which I do often. (: Read More
(564)
Rating: 4 stars
04/26/2007
Two words... OVEN FRY! Why not try to make this healthier and cut out some of the fat/cholesterol but not loose the wonderful fried taste. I soaked the chicken breasts in buttermilk for 2 hours and then I floured them egged them and used the breadcrumb mixture last. I sprayed Pam on the breasts and I oven fried my chicken at 400 for about 25 minutes ( I hade 2 chicken breasts that were pounded thin) I cut mine into small pieces AFTER they were cooked and added it to a large garden salad. Read More
(464)
Rating: 5 stars
12/30/2005
I read this recipe's notation from the original submitter who added on 5/31/05 that the recipe was supposed to be in tablespoons and not teaspoons for the garlic. I cooked it using TBL. and it was great. It was so flavorful and very crispy on the outside. I used cube steaks because I love chicken fried steak and it was way better than restaurant quality. Make sure to use up that leftover dry mix for the gravy. Yum! Read More
(189)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
12/27/2006
De-freaking-licious! I am normally AGAINST frying any of my food but had to try this one after everyone at The Quality Cook raved about it. I used lots of garlic doubled the paprika and used Panko crumbs as opposed to regular breadcrumbs. Also I seperated the flour from the Panko mixture (and seasoned both) then dredged the chicken in the flour followed by the egg and finally the Panko crumbs. I lost very little - if any - of the breading during the frying process (a miracle from my perspective). Loved it - thanks much Tan!!! Read More
(172)
Rating: 5 stars
09/04/2005
Ok I changed this one up a bit. Like other reviewers I upped the garlic powder. I upped the seasoned bread crumbs omitting the flour and popped this in the oven and baked it. I have low tolerance for frying foods and I love that I don't have to mind the oven during cooking. Also I used Italian bread crumbs added some shredded Parmesan cheese omitted the paprika but added Italian spices and had Italian tasting chicken another night. Thanks for the post:-) Read More
(81)
Rating: 5 stars
04/10/2006
My family LOVES this. I use chicken breast tenders instead of breasts and serve it with a ranch dressing for dipping. Huge hit! Read More
(78)