1232 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 766
  • 4 star values: 319
  • 3 star values: 101
  • 2 star values: 28
  • 1 star values: 18

Chicken thighs are used in this recipe, but boneless, skinless breasts could be used instead. Be careful not to overcook, as the result could be rather dry chicken. Serve with warm flour tortillas, salsa and sour cream.

Advertisement

Ingredients

5
Original recipe yields 5 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • In a medium bowl, combine Worcestershire sauce, vinegar, soy sauce, chili powder, garlic and hot pepper sauce. Place chicken in sauce, and turn once to coat. Marinate for 30 minutes at room temperature, or cover and refrigerate for several hours.

    Advertisement
  • Heat oil in a large skillet over high heat. Add chicken strips to the pan, and saute for 5 minutes. Add the onion and green pepper, and saute another 3 minutes. Remove from heat, and sprinkle with lemon juice.

Note

The nutrition data for this recipe includes information for the full amount of the marinade ingredients. Depending on marinating time, ingredients, cooking method, etc., the actual amount of the marinade consumed will vary.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

210 calories; 8.3 g total fat; 113 mg cholesterol; 344 mg sodium. 5.7 g carbohydrates; 27.6 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (849)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
11/07/2007
Wow I cant believe that 2 out of the 3 top reviews for this recipe are so negative! I think the people who rated those reviews as "helpful" never even tried this recipe! SHAME ON YOU!!!! IT IS GREAT! I prepared the recipe as recommended but with chicken breasts. And i have to say I totally loved it! I was worried about such a short cooking time for the chicken but it turned out just right. And that splash of lemon at the end incredible dont leave it out! Hope that you try this you wont regret it! Read More
(662)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
12/29/2003
I thought the soy sauce in fajitas was a little strange but because of all the wonderful reviews I put my doubts aside. I shouldn't have. This was an odd tasting fajita. Slightly oriental in flavor. I'm from the Southwest and I've had a lot of good versions of fajitas. These are not good. Read More
(272)
1232 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 766
  • 4 star values: 319
  • 3 star values: 101
  • 2 star values: 28
  • 1 star values: 18
Rating: 5 stars
11/07/2007
Wow I cant believe that 2 out of the 3 top reviews for this recipe are so negative! I think the people who rated those reviews as "helpful" never even tried this recipe! SHAME ON YOU!!!! IT IS GREAT! I prepared the recipe as recommended but with chicken breasts. And i have to say I totally loved it! I was worried about such a short cooking time for the chicken but it turned out just right. And that splash of lemon at the end incredible dont leave it out! Hope that you try this you wont regret it! Read More
(662)
Rating: 5 stars
04/17/2007
This is the best fajitas recipe I have found. I substituted about 1/2 T of lime (instead of the lemon) and added it to the marinade. I also let the meat simmer in the juices - this makes sure that it won't be dry but juicy instead. Read More
(343)
Rating: 1 stars
12/29/2003
I thought the soy sauce in fajitas was a little strange but because of all the wonderful reviews I put my doubts aside. I shouldn't have. This was an odd tasting fajita. Slightly oriental in flavor. I'm from the Southwest and I've had a lot of good versions of fajitas. These are not good. Read More
(272)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
09/10/2005
The ingredients for this recipe seem odd for fajitas but the chicken is outstanding. I have used this recipe 3 times and the entire family loves it. I do not add the hot sauce we don't have any and I double the garlic we love garlic. I am doing a low carb diet so I top a salad with the chicken and use tomato salsa as the dressing. It is full of flavor and very yummy. Greate recipe! Read More
(132)
Rating: 3 stars
02/09/2004
Hmmmmm. I've been craving Mexican food for sometime now. My honest opinion would be that these were not bad but not great either. In my opinion and it IS just an opinion the marinade would be much much better if the oil & lemon juice were added to it. I added my veges to the marinade as well. With a lil doctoring this is a 5 but I rate a 3 for a decent recipe. No offense Teresa mind you this is just my opinion which may mean nothing to you others! Thanks for posting! Read More
(102)
Rating: 4 stars
02/09/2007
I took the advice for 'more spice' and added some cumin sirachen hot sauce some cracked peppercorns and a little bit of lime juice to the marinade. This added just the right amount of spice to the dish. I too was sceptical about the worcestershire and soy sauce but it does work; especially with the addition of the aforementioned spices. Read More
(88)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
03/09/2007
These were delicious but I made quite a few changes we don't eat meat: no chicken I added about 3 portabello mushrooms caps (sliced) 1 zucchini 1 yellow crook-necked squash I used lime instead of lemon and I doubled the marinade (and didn't marinate the veggies just added the marinade to the skillet). Truly delicious. We made burritos out of it adding sour cream. Read More
(70)
Rating: 5 stars
09/05/2007
Excellent!! I used it to marinade my thighs and then baked it all together!! We didn't have wraps so I just made black beans and rice and served with the chicken thighs. Read More
(65)
Rating: 5 stars
05/25/2007
The flavour of the marinade was incredible and you don't need to let it sit for a long period of time. Read More
(55)