1148 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 669
  • 4 star values: 329
  • 3 star values: 85
  • 2 star values: 45
  • 1 star values: 20

Great on a summer's day with fresh corn and mashed potatoes.

Advertisement

Ingredients

2
Original recipe yields 2 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a baking sheet. Heat a cast iron skillet over high heat for 5 minutes until it is smoking hot.

    Advertisement
  • Mix together the paprika, salt, cayenne, cumin, thyme, white pepper, and onion powder. Oil the chicken breasts with cooking spray on both sides, then coat the chicken breasts evenly with the spice mixture.

  • Place the chicken in the hot pan, and cook for 1 minute. Turn, and cook 1 minute on other side. Place the breasts on the prepared baking sheet.

  • Bake in the preheated oven until no longer pink in the center and the juices run clear, about 5 minutes.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

135 calories; 3 g total fat; 67 mg cholesterol; 205 mg sodium. 0.9 g carbohydrates; 24.7 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (759)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
09/21/2005
I use this all the time and when I make it I change the serving size to 30 and fill an old spice jar so I have it on hand instead of making it everytime (it wont go bad). Not sure why the directions tell you to grill then put in the oven save the time (and the cleaning of a pan) and keep it in the pan. Take the chicken out of the fridge 20-30 min before cooking (this brings the chicken closer to room temp chicken will cook faster). Heat the pan on high for maybe 5 minutes (don't put anything in the pan until you are ready to use it). I then use spray butter directly on the chicken (to avoid extra smoke) and put it in the pan spray side down. Let it cook on medium high heat for 5-7 minutes (you will see the sides of the breast turn white). Spray the uncooked side with spray butter and flip it over. Cook another 5-7 minutes. Take it out of the pan and let it sit for atleast 10 minutes. in short... 3 tips for tender chicken 1 - take out of the fridge for a few before you cook it. 2 - heat pan to help cook chicken faster allowing it to sear and seal in juices. 3- let chicken sit 10 minutes after it is out of the pan for the juices to flow throughout the chicken. If you cut it too early only the first bite will be juicy the rest will be dry Read More
(1366)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
06/30/2004
FIRE! My son (19) was heating the oil in a cast iron pan with a lid on it. When he took the lid off the oil flashed! He popped the lid back on right away which stopped the fire but that quickly it had melted the hood on the stove. We went out for burgers that night aired out the house and just baked the chicken the next day. Be careful this recipe can be dangerous! Read More
(19)
1148 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 669
  • 4 star values: 329
  • 3 star values: 85
  • 2 star values: 45
  • 1 star values: 20
Rating: 5 stars
09/21/2005
I use this all the time and when I make it I change the serving size to 30 and fill an old spice jar so I have it on hand instead of making it everytime (it wont go bad). Not sure why the directions tell you to grill then put in the oven save the time (and the cleaning of a pan) and keep it in the pan. Take the chicken out of the fridge 20-30 min before cooking (this brings the chicken closer to room temp chicken will cook faster). Heat the pan on high for maybe 5 minutes (don't put anything in the pan until you are ready to use it). I then use spray butter directly on the chicken (to avoid extra smoke) and put it in the pan spray side down. Let it cook on medium high heat for 5-7 minutes (you will see the sides of the breast turn white). Spray the uncooked side with spray butter and flip it over. Cook another 5-7 minutes. Take it out of the pan and let it sit for atleast 10 minutes. in short... 3 tips for tender chicken 1 - take out of the fridge for a few before you cook it. 2 - heat pan to help cook chicken faster allowing it to sear and seal in juices. 3- let chicken sit 10 minutes after it is out of the pan for the juices to flow throughout the chicken. If you cut it too early only the first bite will be juicy the rest will be dry Read More
(1366)
Rating: 5 stars
01/10/2008
I made this exactly as the recipes is written and my very picky husband LOVED the chicken from my first attempt. He's asked me to make it every week for the past month. While he loved it from the start I thought the flavor was a bit off I have since perfected it to our tastes: I double all spices except halve the thyme. I also put all the spices in a plastic baggy cut the chicken into strips and shake them in the bag then follow the recipe as written. I serve over pasta alfredo. Read More
(351)
Rating: 4 stars
10/05/2009
This recipe was tasty quick & easy. Read More
(350)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
08/08/2003
Not exactly my "type" of blackened chicken though most will probably find it delicious. I used real onion (not powdered) and a bit of garlic as well. Was good but just not what I was looking for. I prefer a spicier and crispier blackened chicken and this one was not spicy enough for my tastes and was a bit too moist (sheesh is that possible?). If you like 'em hot and cripsy seek a different recipe if you like 'em moist with a mild tang you'll like this.:) Read More
(133)
Rating: 5 stars
01/23/2007
My husband's first word after eating this chicken was "yummy." I followed the recipe to a T except that I only allowed the oil to heat up for about 5-7 minutes. It did create a lot of smoke so turn on the fan ahead of time. I also had to cook it in the oven for more than 5-10 minutes - it was probably closer to 20-25. I don't know why people were saying that this chicken was bland - it was one of the most flavorful recipes I've tried in a long time. I suspect that it's important to use a cast iron skillet as it sears the spices into the skin of the chicken. That might be the difference. It was actually quite spicy and I love and can tolerate quite a bit of spice. I wouldn't change a thing except that next time I might cook it in the cast iron skillet completely as I wish it had a hard crust of the spices. Read More
(123)
Rating: 5 stars
02/12/2003
This chicken was the best. My family loved it. I cooked the chicken on the grill until done. (I didn't use the frying pan at all.) I also made up a little extra spice mixture and sprinkled it over the hot coals while the chicken was cooking. (Garlic added to the coals gives food a nice light smoked garlic flavor as well) Read More
(116)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
04/25/2006
This is a good basic blackening rub and putting the chicken in the oven kept it so moist and yummy. I've made it twice: 1st time I followed the ingredients exactly & my husband thought it was a little bland. 2nd time I added 1/2 tsp. rubbed sage & 1/2 tsp garlic powder which definitely added some zip and more flavor. I also coated both sides the second time around. My husband and I dipped the chicken in Blue Cheese dressing which went great with the spices. This is now one of my husband's favorites! Read More
(74)
Rating: 5 stars
09/26/2010
This tastes good and is QUICK! I tripled the amount of spice rub; put it on both sides of the chicken; pounded the chicken breasts so they wouldn't be so thick; and baked it for about 15 minutes which was just the right amount of time. Thanks for sharing this one with us Karena. Read More
(68)
Rating: 5 stars
04/21/2009
The people that reviewed this recipe and commented that it was a "fire hazzard" or the like DID NOT READ THE DIRECTIONS!!!!!!!!! You heat the pan for 15 minutes and OIL the chicken!! It mentions nothing about adding oil to the pan!!! This recipe tastes great and will not burn down your house!! Read More
(66)