35 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 16
  • 4 star values: 10
  • 3 star values: 6
  • 1 star values: 3

Chicken breasts in a thyme cream sauce. Serve over bow tie pasta or wide egg noodles. The recipe lists red wine, but you can also use white - either one is fine.

Advertisement

Ingredients

5
Original recipe yields 5 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Melt butter with oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. When hot, add chicken breasts. Brown 3 to 5 minutes on both sides until golden.

    Advertisement
  • Add mushrooms, and saute for 2 to 3 minutes, or until soft. Deglaze pan with wine, making sure to loosen any brown bits from bottom of pan. Simmer for 5 minutes.

  • Stir in cream. Add salt, pepper, and thyme. Reduce heat to low, and cover. Simmer for 5 to 7 minutes, stirring occasionally.

  • Remove cover. Reduce cream for 3 minutes, until thickened. Add red grapes, and heat through.

Nutrition Facts

402 calories; 26.4 g total fat; 132 mg cholesterol; 581 mg sodium. 9.6 g carbohydrates; 23.5 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (28)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
07/09/2007
This was delicious -- probably one of the best recipes I've made thanks to Allrecipes! I used more mushrooms than the recipe called for (a whole large container of sliced mushrooms). I also used a little flour to thicken the sauce as other reviewers suggested; that worked perfectly. I also used white cooking wine instead of red and I served the dish over egg noodles and with a green veggie side -- yummy!!!
(11)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
12/16/2008
this sauce had no flavor and the pasta absorbed it all so it came out dry. I reheated it later on and added some butter and Parmesan to the pasta and it was a lot better.. will not be making this again.
(4)
35 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 16
  • 4 star values: 10
  • 3 star values: 6
  • 1 star values: 3
Rating: 4 stars
10/05/2003
Ok. I really enjoyed this dish. It was simple to prepare light and flavorful. I would use white wine instead of red the next time I prepare it. I didn't like the "purple" hue of the chicken. It was a bit watery and I had to add a little flour to help it along. It has a heavy Thyme flavor so if you don't love Thyme reduce the recipe to 1/2 tablespoon.
(17)
Rating: 5 stars
07/09/2007
This was delicious -- probably one of the best recipes I've made thanks to Allrecipes! I used more mushrooms than the recipe called for (a whole large container of sliced mushrooms). I also used a little flour to thicken the sauce as other reviewers suggested; that worked perfectly. I also used white cooking wine instead of red and I served the dish over egg noodles and with a green veggie side -- yummy!!!
(11)
Rating: 3 stars
10/17/2008
Easy and enjoyable. I used fresh sage instead of dried thyme and sauteed the sage with the mushrooms. Next time I might use more red wine (or perhaps port wine) to give the sauce a stronger flavor.
(8)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
07/17/2005
Followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding some fresh minced garlic. Overall we enjoyed this meal greatly. Very gourmet "comfort food" if that makes sense. Placed the chicken atop garlic mashed potatoes and ladled the sauce over everything. Nice presentation. My husband said it was one of his all-time favorite chicken recipes (and he hates chicken). Next time I would like to add a bit more flavor to the chicken while it is cooking.
(7)
Rating: 5 stars
02/24/2008
I took the advice of other users and used white wine and some garlic. It worked even though I used whole milk instead of heavy cream. I thickened it with flour as someone else suggested. It was delicious!
(5)
Rating: 5 stars
03/16/2009
This is incredibly rich. Almost too delicious! The purple color didn't bother me at all. Makes it seem more gourmet lol. I might tone down the cream and butter next time for reasons others have also mentioned. But in any case you gotta try this one. If you're a novice like me it will take more than 30 min but totally worth it.
(4)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
03/31/2009
The flavors melded pretty well but it's also pretty rich. My husband thought it was great!
(4)
Rating: 3 stars
06/25/2009
First time cooking with grapes! I used half-&-half instead of heavy cream. I added oregano basil and a dash of curry powder! I don't think the grapes added much flavor but this recipe was interesting to make!
(4)
Rating: 5 stars
02/04/2009
This was so delicious!! Although we did not add the grapes. We've made this many times and always look forward to it!
(4)