Advice on baking cake in jars. You can use any cake recipe for this.

Allrecipes Member

Recipe Summary test

Servings:
8
Yield:
8 pint straight-sided wide-mouth canning jars
Advertisement

Ingredients

8
Original recipe yields 8 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified
Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Prepare the cake according to package instructions, or use any cake recipe.

    Advertisement
  • In pint size, straight-sided wide-mouth jars, put 1 cup of batter in each greased jar. Make sure to keep the rims of the jars clean. Put in preheated oven 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Place jars on a cookie sheet to keep from tipping over while baking.

  • Bake for 30 to 35 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into cake comes out clean.

  • While they are baking, have your jar lids boiling in a pan of water. When the cake is done, take one jar out at a time and add the hot lid and screw on your jar ring and let set and cool.

  • It will seal as it cools. Place the jars on the counter and listen for them to 'ping' as they seal. If you miss the 'ping', wait until they are completely cool and press on the top of the lid. If it doesn't move at all, it's sealed.

  • After it cools it will pull away from the jar and when you are ready to eat, open and pop out the cake and enjoy.

  • Unsealed jars should be stored in the refrigerator and eaten within 2 weeks. Sealed jars may be stored in a freezer.

Nutrition Facts

279 calories; protein 2.8g; carbohydrates 50.5g; fat 7.5g; cholesterol 1.3mg; sodium 424.6mg. Full Nutrition
Advertisement

Reviews (49)

Rating: 5 stars
11/22/2005
This is a GREAT ideal for anything. I have a son in Iraq and it was his Birthday. I made him this cake in a jar and sent it to him and some of the other soldiers to help him have a cake for his Birthday. It turned out great for him. He loved it so much. Thanks for the help to help the soldiers to have some home cooking from home. Read More
(207)
Rating: 1 stars
08/14/2007
this exploded on me!!!!!!!! Read More
(137)
Rating: 5 stars
12/15/2003
I personally tried this recipe for mothers day gifts. It was the biggest hit! I also have my own frosting recipe so I purchased small canning jars with fancy lids and put the frosting in these jars and added them to the gift along with homade tags off the computer and everyone wanted this recipe!! Read More
(94)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
06/01/2007
My sister and I made this with Cinnamon Swirl Cake mix to send to my husband who is in the military overseas (for his Birthday) We sent him 2 jars and tried one ourselves. It really does seal! One thing is you have to use no more than a CUP of cake batter or you will be cutting the top of your cake off before you put the lid on. Now if only I had a food saver bag to put some icing in there for him! Read More
(65)
Rating: 5 stars
01/09/2004
This was such a great idea!! I made several different flavors during the holidays and made gift bags for the people I work with. They were huge hit! I used the small jars so I could give everyone a sample of each flavor. This year I am going to have to stock up on the jars because they were very hard to find that time of year. Read More
(61)
Rating: 2 stars
02/05/2010
What a cute idea ....I made them using the Chocolate Pudding Fudge Cake recipe and they looked great until they cooled ... shriveled in the jars and looked quite unappealing. The leftover batter I cooked in a pan and it tastes OK, but after all the work you still have to store the cakes in the freezer or eat them right away. On a good note ...I just found the Allrecipe web site this weekend and it is GREAT! Been glued to my computer since! Read More
(59)
Advertisement
Rating: 2 stars
05/14/2007
This is a great idea and I really wanted it to work, as I was giving them as Christmas gifts to the girls at the office. One cup of cake batter per jar is not enough, I could never find the right amount to get them to fill the jar but not go over. Also when the jars sealed and began to cool down the condensation built up and you could see the cake getting soggy in the jar, yuck! Not a pretty presentation, I was running around at the last minute trying to find something to give instead of these. Read More
(51)
Rating: 5 stars
10/09/2003
Loved it. Made mine with spice cake mix and used applesauce instead of oil and added a few nuts. Fun to do also! Read More
(49)
Rating: 4 stars
09/15/2003
I must have put too much batter in my jars, because it overflowed :) However, once I got that problem fixed, it worked out great! Thanks! Read More
(43)