139 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 73
  • 4 star values: 51
  • 3 star values: 10
  • 2 star values: 4
  • 1 star values: 1

A quick and easy recipe using many of the staples you have on hand. Serve with your favorite cornbread.

Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Bring the rice and water to boil in a pot. Cover, reduce heat to low, and simmer 20 minutes.

    Advertisement
  • Melt butter in a skillet over medium heat. Stir in onion and green bell pepper, and cook until tender. Stir in sausage, and cook until evenly browned. Mix in beans and tomatoes, and continue cooking until heated through. Serve skillet mixture over the rice.

Nutrition Facts

531 calories; 28.4 g total fat; 62 mg cholesterol; 1421 mg sodium. 42.8 g carbohydrates; 23.9 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (116)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
03/28/2007
This was sooo good!! I followed some of the advice of the reviewers and changed the recipe some. I'm so glad I made this! My changes: skipped the onion sauteed a little bit of frozen diced green pepper. It seemed like a lot of sausage for just 1 can of kidney beans so I used 2 cans of light red kidney beans. I used 1 can of petite diced tomatoes drained the can into the pan and only used half of the tomatoes (my preference). I added the following seasonings while everything was simmering: garlic powder creole seasoning cayenne pepper and oregano. I can't wait to have leftovers for dinner this evening! Yum!
(92)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
06/02/2018
very bland no flavor. will not make it again.
139 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 73
  • 4 star values: 51
  • 3 star values: 10
  • 2 star values: 4
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 4 stars
05/26/2006
This recipe is quick and easy but needed a little seasoning to make it 5 star. I added 1 tsp. chili powder 1/2 tsp. cumin and 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper to give it some extra flavor. Used Portuguese sausage and my family loved it. Great for busy nights with little time to cook. Might try diced tomatoes with jalepenos next time. Overall very good.
(150)
Rating: 5 stars
03/28/2007
This was sooo good!! I followed some of the advice of the reviewers and changed the recipe some. I'm so glad I made this! My changes: skipped the onion sauteed a little bit of frozen diced green pepper. It seemed like a lot of sausage for just 1 can of kidney beans so I used 2 cans of light red kidney beans. I used 1 can of petite diced tomatoes drained the can into the pan and only used half of the tomatoes (my preference). I added the following seasonings while everything was simmering: garlic powder creole seasoning cayenne pepper and oregano. I can't wait to have leftovers for dinner this evening! Yum!
(92)
Rating: 4 stars
03/01/2006
I used long grain brown rice olive oil (instead of butter) and low-fat chicken sausage..this was fantastic (and very healthy)
(58)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
07/14/2005
This recipe was good I added some parsley cayenne pepper thyme sage and some cajun seasoning that another recipe suggested. I also used a red pepper instead of a green pepper and it was great. A big hit! Really good served with Corn Bread.
(19)
Rating: 4 stars
06/27/2006
i made this recipe to complement the johnsonville louisiana andouille-style sausage i had (or vice versa) and was pleased with the results. we like our spicy foods spicy so we stirred in 1 tsp. chili powder 1/2 tsp. cumin & 1/4 tsp. cayenne into the sauce. this dish also went well with brown rice. thanks diane!
(17)
Rating: 4 stars
09/01/2006
Fast easy and good. I used a whole pepper instead of 1/2. I wish I had read the other reviews and added a bit more seasoning. Makes great left-overs!
(16)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
02/28/2006
Great recipe my wife and I enjoyed it very much and will make it again. I used a can of diced tomatoes and green chiles which added some good spice.
(12)
Rating: 5 stars
02/26/2006
We really enjoyed this. It does need seasoned I added cayenne pepper and cajun seasonings. Yummy!
(10)
Rating: 5 stars
09/10/2009
One of my favorite dinners. This recipe is especially good on cold rainy days and makes the kitchen smell warm and cosy.....
(10)