This simple dish of baked spareribs and sauerkraut is a winner on a cold winter night. Serve with crusty rye bread and butter.

JMIES

Gallery

Recipe Summary

prep:
10 mins
cook:
1 hr
total:
1 hr 10 mins
Servings:
4
Yield:
4 servings
Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified
Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F (230 degrees C). Coat a 9x13 inch baking dish with cooking spray. Season the ribs with salt and pepper, and arrange them in the greased baking dish.

    Advertisement
  • Roast for 20 to 25 minutes in the preheated oven. Remove from the oven, and reduce the temperature to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

  • Set the ribs on a plate, and drain excess grease from the baking dish. Spread the sauerkraut evenly in the bottom of the dish. Place the ribs on top with the meat side up. Tuck the potato wedges in amongst the ribs. Cover tightly with heavy aluminum foil.

  • Bake for 30 minutes in the preheated oven. Carefully remove the foil to avoid hot steam, and serve.

Nutrition Facts

978 calories; protein 62.4g 125% DV; carbohydrates 43.4g 14% DV; fat 60.6g 93% DV; cholesterol 240.5mg 80% DV; sodium 942.8mg 38% DV. Full Nutrition

Reviews (24)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
08/23/2007
I thought this recipe was very good I also used garlic salt and garlic pepper and seared the ribs and baked them for 1 hr at 400 and then 300 for 3 hrs it was so tender and the potatoes on the top I put the saurkraut on the bottom.this made them so tender and moist I will make these again. Read More
(50)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
11/18/2007
I doubled the time for the ribs and the kraut. The ribs were cooked ok but not falling off the bone tender. Agree with an earlier reviewer an hour for the ribs and three hours for everything combined. Also I added 1/4 of a chopped onion to the sauerkraut. It was too crunchy and prominent at the end. Pre-cooking is needed. Read More
(15)
27 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 11
  • 4 star values: 9
  • 3 star values: 6
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 5 stars
08/23/2007
I thought this recipe was very good I also used garlic salt and garlic pepper and seared the ribs and baked them for 1 hr at 400 and then 300 for 3 hrs it was so tender and the potatoes on the top I put the saurkraut on the bottom.this made them so tender and moist I will make these again. Read More
(50)
Rating: 4 stars
06/15/2007
I've been making this recipe for years. Only I use garlic salt and pepper to season the ribs. Then I brown them and leave them at the bottom of the pan and put the sauerkraut on top. The garlic salt really adds some zip to the meat. I serve it with mashed potatoes and my husband is in heaven. Read More
(33)
Rating: 5 stars
02/25/2010
Das ist gut!! Just like Mama used to make.:) I used boneless country ribs and they came out nice and tender. I used garlic powder onion salt and pepper over the ribs before the first bake. I used a can of sauerkraut (forgot to check how much they called for here before fixing) but next time I'd use two cans it went quickly! I increased the cooking time to ensure the ribs would be tender.:) This is a keeper! Read More
(25)
Advertisement
Rating: 3 stars
11/18/2007
I doubled the time for the ribs and the kraut. The ribs were cooked ok but not falling off the bone tender. Agree with an earlier reviewer an hour for the ribs and three hours for everything combined. Also I added 1/4 of a chopped onion to the sauerkraut. It was too crunchy and prominent at the end. Pre-cooking is needed. Read More
(15)
Rating: 1 stars
01/02/2007
I TRIED THIS RECIPE AND EVEN TWEAKING IT IT CAME OUT BAD. IF YOU TRY THIS I WOULD SUGGEST INTERMINGLING THE SAUERKRAUT ALL OVER THE RIBS TO GIVE A BETTER TASTE AND ELIMINATE THE PEPPER AND SALT AND ADD GALIC AND ONION POWDER. WE HAD TO COOK OURS WAY LONGER AND IT CAME OUT TOUGH FAR FROM WHAT WE EXPECTED. NOT A WAY TO START OUT THE NEW YEAR. Read More
(14)
Rating: 4 stars
12/21/2011
Nice basic recipe. browned the ribs in the oven drained off the fat then put them in a slow cooker. To the kraut I drained only half the liquid shredded a small apple and medium potato. I tossed this together with a tablespoon of caraway seeds and placed this mixture in and around the ribs cooked them on low for six hrs. The end result was a falling off the bone flavorful meal. I served these with twice backed potatoes. Read More
(13)
Advertisement
Rating: 3 stars
11/08/2006
Its a good basic recipes that can take tweaking. I sprinkled the ribs with some ground sage as well as the salt and pepper. Also added a bay leaf to the sauerkraut. I also baked the ribs at 350 for 1 hour before adding the vegetables and then left it at that temp for another hour. The ribs literally fell off the bones! My husband just loved it and it's now a part of our permanent recipe collection. Read More
(7)
Rating: 5 stars
12/29/2012
Most excellent! I've made this recipe twice in the past two weeks...once with bone-in and once with boneless ribs and it turned out fabulous on each occasion. I also used "plain" sauerkraut once and kraut with caraway seeds once...each magnificent! One caveat: if you read the recipe and follow the part about 30 mins at 350 degrees....trichinosis is likely to ensue and the potatoes will be as hard as quantum mechanics. A solid hour in the oven at a minimum and the tenderness of the ribs will bring tears to your eyes. Read More
(7)
Rating: 5 stars
03/15/2015
I LOVE country ribs and sauerkraut!!! I always come to this site to double check to seeif what I'm thinking of making is here. I have made this on my own without a recipe. I thought I'd just check to see if maybe there were some other ideas. I always brown my ribs in a frying pan 1st. Don't need to add oil. The ribs have MORE than enough grease to cook with. That grease gets tossed out. I season with salt (not much as the sauerkraut has plenty) pepper granulated garlic and Johnnys Seasoning. I then place the ribs in my crock pot with the sauerkraut. Put the lid on place the crock pot on high and go about my way. About an hour before we eat I make mashed potatoes. MY personal little trick with my mashed potatoes is instead of using milk with a little bit of butter with pepper is to use a little bit of canned milk. To my family and myself it makes the mashed potatoes not quite so thin. Then we can make a little well in the center of the potatoes and put sauerkraut and juice over the top. This is my little kingdom of heaven. Thank you for putting this recipe up!!! It's wonderful. Read More
(6)