Easy Southern classic, with chicken, sausage, ham, and shrimp.

Advertisement

Ingredients

12
Original recipe yields 12 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Heat a large pot over medium-high heat. Add bacon, and cook until crisp. Remove bacon pieces with a slotted spoon, and set aside. Add celery, bell pepper, and onion to the bacon drippings, and cook until tender.

    Advertisement
  • Add the ham, chicken and sausage to the pot, and pour in the tomatoes, beef broth and chicken broth. Season with thyme and Cajun seasoning. Bring to a boil, and add the rice. Bring to a boil, then turn the heat to low, cover, and simmer for about 20 minutes, until the rice is tender.

  • Stir in the shrimp and bacon just before serving, and heat through. If you use uncooked shrimp, let it cook for about 5 minutes before serving.

Partner Tip

Try using a Reynolds® slow cooker liner in your slow cooker for easier cleanup.

Nutrition Facts

349 calories; 13.8 g total fat; 72 mg cholesterol; 1177 mg sodium. 32.3 g carbohydrates; 22.7 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (705)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
06/26/2008
Quite delicious!!! I cooked the rice separately and used 1 can crushed tomatoes 1 can tomato sauce and used large fresh shrimp. Some extra seasonings garlic powder and a little sugar to cut bitterness of tomatoes (maybe 1/2 tsp). Finally I added in about a cup of frozen okra 5 min before it was done. Served over buttered white rice w/ crusty french bread. My hunny could eat this for breakfast lunch and dinner! Read More
(378)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
10/25/2010
I didnt read the comments that others made. I followed the directions and cooked the rice together instead of making it seperately and my Jambalaya came out like mush. The flavor was good but the texture was horrible. I will try this recipe again but I will make the rice seperately. Read More
(42)
956 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 725
  • 4 star values: 188
  • 3 star values: 28
  • 2 star values: 10
  • 1 star values: 5
Rating: 5 stars
06/26/2008
Quite delicious!!! I cooked the rice separately and used 1 can crushed tomatoes 1 can tomato sauce and used large fresh shrimp. Some extra seasonings garlic powder and a little sugar to cut bitterness of tomatoes (maybe 1/2 tsp). Finally I added in about a cup of frozen okra 5 min before it was done. Served over buttered white rice w/ crusty french bread. My hunny could eat this for breakfast lunch and dinner! Read More
(378)
Rating: 5 stars
04/28/2008
Bubba I love you. This recipe was AWESOME! My husband kept nudging me and telling me how good it was. I added more celery onion and bell pepper than I should have but it was all the merrier. I didn't think it was going to be very good....until it all started to marry in the pot. YUUUUMMMMM. I even left out the bacon and shrimp and it rocked!!!!! I used minute rice boil in the bag so I cooked the rice first but not too much and then poured it in the brew. That worked out really well. I'm always leary of cookin rice I can screw that up fast! Uncle Ben's Boil in Bag is awesome. Read More
(196)
Rating: 5 stars
05/26/2007
I liked this version better than the one I had in New Orleans. I had kielbasa on hand and was looking for a way to use it so I thought that putting it in a jambalaya sounded good. I used Smart Balance to saute the veggies instead of bacon... the bacon sounded too heavy plus in the south everything is cooked in butter right? I used extra creole seasoning an extra teaspoon or maybe a little more and served it with Crystal hot sauce. Excellent! My eight year old agrees. Read More
(151)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
09/24/2010
I've never made Jambalaya before and this recipe was a huge hit with everyone in the family. My mom has had Jambalaya in Louisiana and said mine was the best she's ever had! I did make adjustments. I used 1.5 onions and 2 bell peppers (one red one green). I used 14oz of kielbasa because I wanted to use up the whole package. I used 2 chicken breasts instead of 1. I may have put a little more than 2 cups of jasmine rice into the mix and in addition to the crushed tomatoes I used a 14.5oz can of diced tomatoes with their juice. I used fresh medium-sized shrimp. I used a 32oz box of beef broth and a 14.5oz can of chicken broth. I used both fresh and dried thyme because I had fresh on hand. I added 3 cloves of chopped fresh garlic in with the onions and peppers during the last minute and powdered onion and garlic powder to taste. I also added crushed red pepper flakes to taste. All in all I think it was perfect; my rice cooked up perfectly in about 20 minutes and the consistency was nice and thick. MAKE SURE YOU STIR THOROUGHLY EVERY 5 MINUTES WHILE THE RICE IS COOKING SO IT DOESN'T STICK OR CLUMP IN THE POT! Read More
(109)
Rating: 5 stars
11/07/2007
I made this last night and it was a hit!! Thanks for submitting such a great recipe. The only thing I changed was that I added more Cajun seasoning a little crushed red pepper 1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper and andouille sausage instead of smoked. I simmered everything except the shrimp rice and bacon for about 4 hours (so the house smelled really yummy) and added the last ingredients prior to serving. We gobbled it up!! Thanks again! Read More
(87)
Rating: 5 stars
12/29/2014
OK here's how to solve the rice issue. When the vegetables are almost done stir in the rice so it gets coated with the bacon grease. Then add all of the other ingredients except shrimp and cooked bacon. This way the grains stay separated and they soak up all the deliciousness of the tomatoes and stocks. There's no need to cook rice separately - this is jambalaya not gumbo. Read More
(85)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
02/18/2013
I have been making Bubba's jambalaya recipe for years from scratch and it's a request for every get-together. I hate it when commenters TOTALLY chsnge a recipe here but I've made this more than 20 times now so I thought I'd share my secret pre-step: Make your own stock from the chicken; I throw about 6 drumsticks in water with seasonings (celery leaves parsley onion salt) so there's no need for beef broth or chicken stock--I have enough from scratch. When the broth is done I de-bone the drums for the chicken in the recipe. Enjoy all this one is the best! Read More
(84)
Rating: 4 stars
10/06/2008
Excellent recipe! My boyfriend couldn't get enough of it even ate it for breakfast lol.. one tip though i would cook the rice seperate otherwise it takes forever and sticks to the bottom of pot Read More
(52)
Rating: 4 stars
02/08/2006
This is very very good. I added the ingredients (minus the rice) and let it simmer for a couple of hours. I also added some flour and water to thicken it up a little bit. I seasoned it a bit more with some cayenne and pepper. Will make it again! Read More
(50)