After searching the internet for a good Chinese Spareribs recipe and not finding any that caught my eye, I decided to make my own. This recipe is pretty simple, and yields tender, juicy, tangy ribs. In Japan, I cooked this in the fish broiler, but it should be fine on the grill or in the oven.

Advertisement

Ingredients

2
Original recipe yields 2 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified
Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • In a shallow glass dish, mix together the hoisin sauce, ketchup, honey, soy sauce, sake, rice vinegar, lemon juice, ginger, garlic and five-spice powder. Place the ribs in the dish, and turn to coat. Cover and marinate in the refrigerator for 2 hours, or as long as overnight.

    Advertisement
  • Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Fill a broiler tray with enough water to cover the bottom. Place the grate or rack over the tray. Arrange the ribs on the grate.

  • Place the broiler rack in the center of the oven. Cook for 40 minutes, turning and brushing with the marinade every 10 minutes. Let the marinade cook on for the final 10 minutes to make a glaze. Finish under the broiler if desired. Discard any remaining marinade.

Tip

Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

503 calories; 30.9 g total fat; 121 mg cholesterol; 1015 mg sodium. 23 g carbohydrates; 30.4 g protein; Full Nutrition

Reviews (99)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
02/28/2007
Wonderful recipe. I parboiled the ribs first and them marinated them overnight. I skipped the water in the pan part. Lined a pan with foil and cooked them at 325 for about an hour and half basting every 1/2 hour. They were wonderful fell of the bone. This recipe is a keeper. Read More
(132)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
03/16/2015
These looked great but dried out when left on "hold" for guests. I think I expected them to have a sweeter flavor. Love the cooing technique will tweak the sauce. Read More
(3)
124 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 76
  • 4 star values: 29
  • 3 star values: 12
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 6
Rating: 5 stars
02/28/2007
Wonderful recipe. I parboiled the ribs first and them marinated them overnight. I skipped the water in the pan part. Lined a pan with foil and cooked them at 325 for about an hour and half basting every 1/2 hour. They were wonderful fell of the bone. This recipe is a keeper. Read More
(132)
Rating: 5 stars
02/28/2007
Wonderful recipe. I parboiled the ribs first and them marinated them overnight. I skipped the water in the pan part. Lined a pan with foil and cooked them at 325 for about an hour and half basting every 1/2 hour. They were wonderful fell of the bone. This recipe is a keeper. Read More
(132)
Rating: 5 stars
05/08/2005
Used this recipe for beef short ribs in my Slow-Cooker and we both thought they were delicious! I'm a new fan of hoisin sauce! Subbed tequila (sorry) for the sake cuz I didn't have any and used red wine vinegar instead of the rice vinegar. Reduced the spices because of my husband just a dash of 5-spice pdr and 1/4 tsp powdered ginger. Skimmed the fat off the sauce and served it with rice and salad. Next time will make coconut rice and bok choy salad to go with it. Thank you for a wonderful recipe! Read More
(114)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
05/17/2010
Wow! This comes really close to the stuff you get at a Chinese restaurant. I scaled this up to 10 for 5 lbs. of ribs. I didn't have sake so I used white wine and 1 tsp. of powdered ginger. I boiled the ribs for about 20 minutes first then marinated them in some of the marinade all day then put them on the grill basting them a bit. I then finished them in the slow cooker with the rest of the sauce for a couple of hours to get them nice and tender. If you want that deep red color add a couple drops of red food coloring to the marinade. This stuff is awesome! Read More
(110)
Rating: 5 stars
02/19/2007
After 40 years of cooking I rarely (if ever) follow a recipe exactly. I did follow this one with two tiny additions -- I added a small amount of sesame oil because I like the flavour and a few drops of hickory liquid smoke. I used baby back ribs marinated them for about 4 hours and cooked them about twice as long as called for. This turned out fantastically! The flavour was EXACTLY what I was looking for. I served it to raves from picky eaters. Next time I'll probably make this the day ahead and marinate overnight to really soak the marinade into the ribs. Thanks so much for this great recipe! Read More
(50)
Rating: 4 stars
10/13/2007
this has become a favorite way of mine to do country ribs in the crockpot....I turn it on for 6 hours and when I come back they are just falling apart...I have also used the meat inside of pie crust to make hot pockets for lunch....it is wonderful Read More
(40)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
03/13/2007
I am SO, SO, SO glad I tried this recipe! These ribs were EXCELLENT and I will make them again, and again , and again! I let them marinate for 5 hours and simply baked them in the oven. I didn't bother messing around with broiler pans or oven grates. Thanks for sharing this recipe! It's definitely a keeper! Read More
(33)
Rating: 5 stars
09/12/2005
Even without the five spice powder (didn't have any on hand) these ribs were amazing. I absolutely love cooking with hoisin sauce so I was very excited to find this recipe. I always simmer my ribs first and then marinate. They were tender and delicious! Thanks so much! Read More
(28)
Rating: 5 stars
04/22/2007
Big hit at dinner party! I doubled recipe for 8 pork chops and doubled again for 16 chicken thighs. Cooked 30 minutes covered and then 30 minutes uncovered. Boiled and reduced leftover marinade and basted during last 30 minutes. Fantastic and easy! Read More
(24)
Rating: 5 stars
12/16/2007
i used babyback ribs the sauce was better then the chinese takeout by far!! Will def make this again GREAT recipe!!!! Read More
(16)
Rating: 3 stars
03/16/2015
These looked great but dried out when left on "hold" for guests. I think I expected them to have a sweeter flavor. Love the cooing technique will tweak the sauce. Read More
(3)