81 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 62
  • 4 star values: 19
  • 3 star values: 0
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0

Beginning with my Fast Chicken Soup Base it is easy to knock hours off of the cooking time usually needed for homemade chicken soup and still end up with soup that tastes even better than the 'from scratch' method. With a little creativity you can easily make two varieties of these soul-satisfying meals.

Advertisement

Ingredients

8
Original recipe yields 8 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Prepare Fast Chicken Soup Base. Bring to a simmer.

    Advertisement
  • Add these, then simmer until tender, 10-20 minutes: 1 9-ounce package refrigerated small cheese tortellini; 1 14.5-ounce can diced tomatoes; 2 medium zucchini, diced; 1 tsp. dried basil.

  • Before removing from heat, stir in: 1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley.

  • Final touch: Add salt and pepper, to taste.

Tips

Get the recipe for Fast Chicken Soup Base.

Copyright 2004 USA WEEKEND and columnist Pam Anderson. All rights reserved.

Nutrition Facts

117 calories; 3 g total fat; 14 mg cholesterol; 342 mg sodium. 18.6 g carbohydrates; 5.5 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (61)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
09/05/2005
Excellent soup used chicken broth from a can and added a little more zucchini (had extra in the fridge). Didn't have the fresh parsely so omitted that step. Everyone loved it and even ate all the leftovers. Eager to try the fast chicken soup base next. Read More
(51)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 4 stars
09/19/2006
Nice little recipe for a cold night. Added a little bit extra in the way of seasonings red wine two cans of tomatoes instead of one and dried oregano. Read More
(12)
81 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 62
  • 4 star values: 19
  • 3 star values: 0
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
09/05/2005
Excellent soup used chicken broth from a can and added a little more zucchini (had extra in the fridge). Didn't have the fresh parsely so omitted that step. Everyone loved it and even ate all the leftovers. Eager to try the fast chicken soup base next. Read More
(51)
Rating: 5 stars
01/23/2005
Excellent soup recipe. I used chicken bouillon & added 2 boneless chicken breasts cubed. Read More
(43)
Rating: 5 stars
09/29/2005
Nice hearty healthy soup. I had the time so I cooked the Soup Base for 4 hours. I also threw in some extra carrots and celery. Husband liked it too. Will use this one again. Read More
(35)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
11/12/2005
Excellent...made this following recipe exactly and was not disappointed! Very tasty. Read More
(26)
Rating: 5 stars
11/23/2005
Fantastic! This is a great change from the normal broth based tortellini soup I usually make. The tomatoes are a nice touch. Read More
(19)
Rating: 5 stars
01/27/2007
Best soup recipie I've ever made. Followed directions exactly as they were written made serving for 16. Everyone loved it and can't wait until I make it again. Fantastic!! Read More
(13)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
01/25/2011
If I could give it 10 stars I would. This soup is so versatile...you can interchange the veggies / leave this or that out / use the Fast Chick Base or just 3 cans low sod broth. I've even added 1/2 a can of chick peas a small squash sauteed onions/celery/garlic shredded carrot. I mean it is really really good. Read More
(13)
Rating: 4 stars
09/19/2006
Nice little recipe for a cold night. Added a little bit extra in the way of seasonings red wine two cans of tomatoes instead of one and dried oregano. Read More
(12)
Rating: 5 stars
11/10/2010
I made this yesterday for a party at my house and it was a hit. I made the "fast chicken soup base" the day before then the next day I added the other ingredients. I did end up adding extra chicken broth but it fed at least 8 people with good sized portions. This is an impressive soup; hearty and full of color and flavor. Read More
(11)