119 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 73
  • 4 star values: 26
  • 1 star values: 11
  • 3 star values: 5
  • 2 star values: 4

Can be used on banana cake, white cake or peanut butter cake.

Carol
Advertisement

Ingredients

11
Original recipe yields 11 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Cream together butter, banana, lemon juice and vanilla. Slowly beat in confectioners' sugar, adding more if needed to make a nice fluffy, spreadable icing. Makes about 2 1/3 cups.

    Advertisement

Nutrition Facts

185 calories; 4.3 g total fat; 11 mg cholesterol; 30 mg sodium. 37.7 g carbohydrates; 0.2 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (101)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
06/13/2008
Highly addictive! A banana that is slightly green on the tips and well mashed works best. I have found that using an overripe banana will make it too sweet and a lot softer. To prevent it from turning brown don t forget to add the lemon juice. Thank you for sharing this recipe it is now my favorite frosting.
(66)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
09/01/2003
I could not get this receipe to thicken up. I ended up using about a box and 1/4 of powdered sugar and it was still runny. At that point even if it had thickened it was now way to sweet.
(15)
119 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 73
  • 4 star values: 26
  • 1 star values: 11
  • 3 star values: 5
  • 2 star values: 4
Rating: 4 stars
03/10/2009
Attempted to make twice...the first time I followed the directions as written mixing everything but the powdered sugar all at once...DON'T DO THIS! The banana puree and lemon juice will NOT cream with the butter properly. Instead cream the butter on its own then add the powdered sugar in small batches. Alternate adding sugar and banana puree until it's fluffy and creamy. It has a nice banana flavor and thick texture.
(152)
Rating: 4 stars
09/17/2010
Here's a foolproof order for adding these ingredients together in order to NOT get a glaze: Mash 1/2 of the greenest NEVER FROZEN banana you have add 1/2 tsp. lemon juice (or lime juice but there is no other substitute here the citric acid is key) and your vanilla into a bowl. Measure out your confectioner's sugar or at least part of it. Cream butter alone (make sure your butter is NOT soft enough to hold an indentation - usually 30 minutes for me). Begin adding in sugar 1/2 cup at a time continue creaming it in add ALL your banana mixture cream that in continue adding in sugar in 1/2 cup measures. I wound up adding more lemon juice myself to counteract the sugar. I've iced all 18 of AR's "Banana Cupcakes" with this & it's in the fridge -- I may revise this review if it's brown in the morning:=) Thanks for the recipe! (Note: I used 3 drops of yellow food coloring.) UPDATE: As of the following morning my refrigerated iced cupcakes had NOT turned brown or discolored or wept in any way.
(78)
Rating: 5 stars
06/13/2008
Highly addictive! A banana that is slightly green on the tips and well mashed works best. I have found that using an overripe banana will make it too sweet and a lot softer. To prevent it from turning brown don t forget to add the lemon juice. Thank you for sharing this recipe it is now my favorite frosting.
(66)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
11/19/2006
Really good and not too sweet. I did take the advice of others and added a twist of my own. Pureed one banana in the food processor used 1/2 c of butter instead of 1/4 c. used only 2 c. of icing sugar and the twist was 1/3 cup of cocoa powder. YUMMY! Used this icing on a dark chocolate cake. It was divine!
(41)
Rating: 5 stars
09/18/2003
Great icing for kids and so easy! I halved the recipe & used it on one 9x9 inch white cake (the "Simple White Cake" from this Web site). Perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
(27)
Rating: 1 stars
09/01/2003
I could not get this receipe to thicken up. I ended up using about a box and 1/4 of powdered sugar and it was still runny. At that point even if it had thickened it was now way to sweet.
(15)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
12/15/2005
i'd recommend putting the bananas through a food strainer -- it removes the black specks and improves the overall appearance.
(12)
Rating: 4 stars
07/27/2003
Used this on the A-Number-1 Banana Cake on this site. Delicious!
(10)
Rating: 5 stars
04/12/2003
Simply delicious! Went great with the banana cake recipe.
(8)