Yummy, moist, tasty turkey! I combined two of my favorite turkey recipes to make this one superb apple flavored roast turkey with stuffing.

prep:
25 mins
cook:
4 hrs
total:
4 hrs 25 mins
Servings:
12
Max Servings:
12
Advertisement

Ingredients

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

  • Gently loosen the turkey skin on the breast by sliding your hand between the skin and bird. Insert pieces of butter between the skin and breast.

  • In a medium bowl, toss together the celery, bread cubes, and onion. Season with garlic powder, salt and pepper. Stuff this mixture into the cavity of the turkey, and place the apple halves inside with it. Place the turkey into a roasting bag, and pour the apple juice over the inside and outside of the turkey. Close the bag, and place turkey into a large roasting pan breast side up.

  • Bake for 3 to 3 1/2 hours in the preheated oven, or until the internal temperature is 180 degrees F (85 degrees C) when measured in the meatiest part of the thigh. Open the bag, and remove turkey to a serving platter. Let stand for 20 minutes before carving.

Nutrition Facts

786.99 calories; 91.35 g protein; 11.36 g carbohydrates; 0.97 g dietary-fiber; 7.57 g sugars; 39.31 g fat; 14.07 g saturated-fat; 284.79 mg cholesterol; 295.66 IU vitamin-a-iu; 33.35 mg niacin-equivalents; 1.38 mg vitamin-b6; 2.13 mg vitamin-c; 32.8 mcg folate; 102.49 mg calcium; 6.17 mg iron; 86.1 mg magnesium; 1023.04 mg potassium; 313.63 mg sodium; 0.22 mg thiamin; 353.75 calories-from-fat; 5 percent-of-calories-from-carbs; 46 percent-of-calories-from-fat; 47 percent-of-calories-from-protein; 16 percent-of-calories-from-sat-fat


Reviews (12)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

shirley zumbrun
11/25/2005
added a bonus taste
(29)

Most helpful critical review

Nina
11/27/2009
The turkey turned out moist and juicy and looked great. But it was slightly lacking in flavor - next time I will add poultry seasoning. I did not care for the stuffing. It turned out soggy and the little flavor it had was weird (maybe the garlic powder -?).
(3)
16 Ratings
  • 5 Rating Star 12
  • 4 Rating Star 3
  • 3 Rating Star 1
shirley zumbrun
11/25/2005
added a bonus taste
(29)
robwhitehead
11/24/2007
Second year making this turkey recipe. If you like a moist turkey than this is the recipe for you. Yummmm!
(18)
Anonymous
02/18/2006
Excellent very tender and full of juice.
(13)
alotta
11/30/2006
i would definitely do this again. i have never cooked a turkey before but i read up on it to cook for some friends. i brined my turkey almost 24 hours which you shouldn't because that's a little too long. the turkey turned out tasting fine but my gravy was definitely too salty. i used oranges instead of apples i cut each orange in half and squeezed the juice over the turkey then stuffed it inside the cavity along with my vegetables i didn't do the stuffing. i was almost worried that there wasn't going to be enough juice to make gravy but there is so much you'll have plenty. the only bad part was that my turkey stuck to the plastic a little bit and ripped some skin off. my turkey was honestly so tender the drumsticks were falling off when i tried to move the bird to my cutting board. i thought my breast was pretty dry but everyone else thought it was really moist. i would trust them because i don't eat very much roast turkey anyway.
(9)
vulliet
11/11/2008
I used this recipe to make my first turkey. It was fabulous! Very moist! Now I'm afraid to stray from this recipe for my second turkey!
(8)
Ellie
11/28/2008
The stuffing was perfect. I diced one apple and left the second halved to cover the turkey ends. The apple juice made it moist and had a great flavor. I prefered this over adding wine.
(4)
pomplemousse
07/31/2009
megaturkey indeed! This was quite the turkey! the stuffing was a bit wet for the bf and he complained that there were no seasonings on the turkey itself but otherwise he liked it. It is a very moist turkey. Mine took 5 hours to cook but it was also an almost 20 lb turkey so I am not surprised. If not horrendously flavorful it is nice and moist. If I do this again I'll salt and pepper the bird itself and rub in some poultry seasoning as well. Thanks for the recipe. Spot on directions!
(4)
Nina
11/27/2009
The turkey turned out moist and juicy and looked great. But it was slightly lacking in flavor - next time I will add poultry seasoning. I did not care for the stuffing. It turned out soggy and the little flavor it had was weird (maybe the garlic powder -?).
(3)
Anonymous
11/28/2009
This recipe already uses my basic stuffing recipe that I love so I decided to try it and we LOVED it. We will definitely make it again and again and again. Ours was 13 lbs and it was just right. Not so many left overs that they will go bad but just right for a family of 4. The turkey was moist and wonderful and the apples (I used green) were a great touch. I did use salt pepper and garlic powder on outside of the turkey before putting it in the bag. The hardest part of the recipe was finding the oven bags the day before Thanksgiving the first 2 stores were sold out! Thanks for sharing!!!
(3)