214 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 108
  • 4 star values: 80
  • 3 star values: 19
  • 2 star values: 4
  • 1 star values: 3

Delicious and fresh summer treat. A favorite for everyone.

Advertisement

Ingredients

12
Original recipe yields 12 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Preheat grill for medium heat, or preheat your oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

    Advertisement
  • Place each ear of corn on a separate square of aluminum foil. Place 1 tablespoon of butter on each one, and sprinkle with garlic powder. Wrap ears tightly with the foil.

  • Place ears of corn on the grill or in the oven for 20 to 30 minutes, turning over occasionally.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

234 calories; 13.2 g total fat; 31 mg cholesterol; 104 mg sodium. 29.2 g carbohydrates; 5.2 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (154)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
03/18/2007
I've been making this for years (not from this recipe) and I must say it's a must have for my family! A few suggestions garlic powder does not do it justice! I use the sweet corn and shuck it then I put it on the foil (individually) and spray it down really well with spray butter (that way it is evenly distributed.) Then I take roasted minced garlic and spread it out all over the corn (not too much about a 1/2 tsp or so I guess) and then I add some salt and pepper wrap it up tight and grill it. It's AWESOME! Everyone loves it!
(199)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
08/12/2009
I was really looking forward to this side dish for dinner but was underwhelmed. It tasted like corn on the cob with a hint of garlic-essence. By roasting the corn on the grill it also ruined some of the juiciness I love. Not a great enough recipe to be saved tried again or even thought about.
(3)
214 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 108
  • 4 star values: 80
  • 3 star values: 19
  • 2 star values: 4
  • 1 star values: 3
Rating: 5 stars
03/18/2007
I've been making this for years (not from this recipe) and I must say it's a must have for my family! A few suggestions garlic powder does not do it justice! I use the sweet corn and shuck it then I put it on the foil (individually) and spray it down really well with spray butter (that way it is evenly distributed.) Then I take roasted minced garlic and spread it out all over the corn (not too much about a 1/2 tsp or so I guess) and then I add some salt and pepper wrap it up tight and grill it. It's AWESOME! Everyone loves it!
(199)
Rating: 5 stars
01/29/2007
My family and friends can't get enough of this great stuff! The one thing you should change to make it better is minced garlic instead of the powder. I actually do salt & pepper to taste along with the garlic and butter. Sometimes to save on calories I even use the spray butter. It's absolutely delicious!
(156)
Rating: 4 stars
07/17/2004
I took one stick of butter (at room temperature) and added some minced garlic to it. Then spooned a heaping tablespoon of butter on each piece of corn smearing it so it covers the ear of corn completely. Wrapped each piece of corn in foil and placed on the grill for approximately 30-40 minutes. (carcoal grill). No need for additional butter was needed. Delicious.
(105)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
05/05/2005
I THOUGHT THIS WAS GOOD BUT I CHANGED IT A BIT..I DID THE CORN IN THE MICROWAVE(WRAP IN A DAMP PAPER TOWEL AND MICRO 3 TO 4 MINUTES) AND TO SAVE CALORIES AND FAT I USED BUTTER BUDS INSTEAD OF REAL BUTTER...I MIXED THE BUTTER BUDS AND GARLIC POWDER IN A BOWL AND ROLLED THE CORN IN IT...QUICK AND EASY..YOU HAVE TO LOVE THAT.
(58)
Rating: 4 stars
07/09/2005
I'm only giving this 4 stars because I think it tastes SO much better by using fresh garlic than the powder. For 12 ears of corn I used about 4 garlic cloves. Delicous! Last night I tried it the way the recipe calls for garlic powder and it was definitely not as good. I also found that the garlic powder seemed to "dry out" the corn much faster.
(53)
Rating: 4 stars
05/21/2010
Nothing signals the start of summer like grilled corn on the cob at a BBQ! I did mine a little differently though - I left the corn in the husks vs. using foil. I peeled the husks back a bit to remove a little of the silk put it back then left them soak in cold water for 30 minutes. I put the corn in husks on the grill for 30 minutes rotating it around the coals. The corn cooks by steaming inside the husks. I made my own garlic butter for these and all that was left to do was sprinkle with a bit of salt.
(48)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
06/15/2007
I put the corn right on the grill for the grill marks and a little caramelizing... gotta embrace the sugar in the corn!! (I parboiled the corn the day before - helped with timing it up with the meat!)
(40)
Rating: 4 stars
09/05/2007
I par-boiled my corn in sugar water and then grilled it. I too used fresh garlic and then made a garlic butter sauce for brushing after they were off the heat. Very good and thanks Christine!
(26)
Rating: 4 stars
08/29/2007
GREAT! Like others I only give this recipe 4 stars because it truly is better with fresh garlic. The garlic taste might seem odd at first coupled with corn but I promise that by your first ear you'll be craving more! Love that the author included oven instructions!
(23)