Rating: 4.31 stars
229 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 146
  • 4 star values: 49
  • 3 star values: 10
  • 2 star values: 8
  • 1 star values: 16

Some wheat bread recipes are hard to make, but this isn't one of them, thanks to the use of your bread machine.

Recipe Summary test

prep:
5 mins
cook:
3 hrs
total:
3 hrs 5 mins
Servings:
12
Yield:
1 - 1.5 pound loaf
Advertisement

Ingredients

12
Original recipe yields 12 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified
Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Place ingredients in the bread machine pan in the order suggested by the manufacturer.

    Advertisement
  • Select Whole Wheat or Basic Bread setting. Press Start.

Nutrition Facts

124 calories; protein 4.7g; carbohydrates 24g; fat 1.9g; cholesterol 0.2mg; sodium 313.6mg. Full Nutrition
Advertisement

Reviews (235)

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
05/17/2004
I made this recipe without the use of a bread machine. Leaving it rise 1 hour for the first rising, and after shaping, another hour, baking it for 33 minutes at 350 degrees and it was really good. This was made in a Kitcheaid mixer with all the dry goods in first then the margerine, and the water last. I left the machine run until it was entirely pulled together, about 6 minutes. This was a real easy recipe taking no time at all, and oh so worth the time. Yum. Thanks. Read More
(375)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 2 stars
08/16/2003
It may be the baker here:) but this turned out really dense. I was going to use it for sandwiches but it was not the right texture. May try again... Read More
(46)
229 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 146
  • 4 star values: 49
  • 3 star values: 10
  • 2 star values: 8
  • 1 star values: 16
Rating: 5 stars
05/16/2004
I made this recipe without the use of a bread machine. Leaving it rise 1 hour for the first rising, and after shaping, another hour, baking it for 33 minutes at 350 degrees and it was really good. This was made in a Kitcheaid mixer with all the dry goods in first then the margerine, and the water last. I left the machine run until it was entirely pulled together, about 6 minutes. This was a real easy recipe taking no time at all, and oh so worth the time. Yum. Thanks. Read More
(375)
Rating: 5 stars
11/11/2003
This recipe looks fantastic.....I'm making it right now - but I'm going to also add 1/4 C GLUTEN for a better rise and fluffier bread. You can find gluten at any health store and some grocery stores in the baking isle where flour is. When you bake bread w/ 100% WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR you're missing out on the gluten which is found in white flour....so it's best to add it for a nice fluffy high risen bread! Thanks for the recipe....also.... if I had honey (which I'm out of!) I would omit sugar and replace w/ honey instead (same amts). -Sharon Read More
(228)
Rating: 5 stars
06/11/2007
The first time I made this in my bread machine, it came out small and very dense. I tried it again using the whole wheat dough cycle. I kneeded it some when it came out and put it in a bread pan, let it rise till double in size. Forgot about it and it rose a LOT above the pan. Still came out very good, but way too tall to fit in the toaster!!! All my family loved it. I did add the 1/4 cup gluten flour also. I am going to try to make hamburger buns next. If you are going to eat bread, it must be 100% whole wheat or from what the nutritionists say, you are eating a slice of sugar. Thanks for the recipe. 6/11/07 I have been making this bread almost every day now. When I have all the ingred. out, I make bread baggies with all the dry ingredients in each baggies except for the flour. Now I only have to put the water in the bread machine, add the 3 cups flour, pour in my baggie of dry ingred., add butter, pop in the bread machine, set for ww dough and in two hours I can plop it in a bread pan, let it rise for about 45 min and bake at 350 for about 25--30 minutes. This is the only bread my 1-1/2 year old grandaughter wants to eat :) Gotta go make bread, thanks... p.s. If you want to use honey, just don't add the sugar to the bread baggies and add it when you add butter:) Read More
(169)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
02/08/2007
I tried this recipe (my first yeast bread - I used instant dry yeast) and it came out perfect and I didn't even use a bread machine. Just put all the ingredients in a bowl and kneaded. Allowed it to rise an hour, kneaded again, let it rise in a greased pan another hour, baked for 50 minutes and had the most glorious bread ever. It was soft and heavenly. Slicing it was a "moment". I don't know what took me so long to bake bread. The recipe was perfect, especially for a beginner like me. Read More
(105)
Rating: 5 stars
02/21/2007
Holy cow! This is everything that whole wheat bread should be! My only change was to use butter instead of margarine, and I added 1/4 C vital wheat gluten, per other reviewers. It is SO light and fluffy. Delicious! Read More
(70)
Rating: 5 stars
02/01/2004
I cheated the first time I made this and used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of unbleached white. It was so delicious I have not tried it any other way nor have I made any other kind of bread in my machine. It's moist light and slices great for toast and sandwiches. My 3 year old loves it. You have to try this one!!! Read More
(64)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
04/11/2003
This is by far the best whole wheat bread. My family loves it down to my 2-year-old grandson. I do add one TB of wheat gluten; have tried it without the gluten so I know it turns out better with it. Read More
(55)
Rating: 5 stars
09/20/2014
I usually do wheat bread with only 1/3 whole wheat flour because I don't like whole wheat bread that much but this bread was excellent. It isn't too dense and it is quite moist. I make bread a few times a week and my husband said this is the best I have ever made. I made it by hand: proofed the yeast let rise 1 1/4 hours then formed into loaves and let rise about 45 minutes. Baked on 350 for 30 minutes. Read More
(54)
Rating: 2 stars
08/16/2003
It may be the baker here:) but this turned out really dense. I was going to use it for sandwiches but it was not the right texture. May try again... Read More
(46)