66 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 25
  • 4 star values: 24
  • 2 star values: 7
  • 3 star values: 7
  • 1 star values: 3

I ate this at a party given by some friends of my uncle's. They had been to Alaska on a fishing trip and had come back with TONS of salmon and halibut. This is one of the yummiest things I have ever eaten!

Wynlet
Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • In a shallow dish, mix the olive oil, butter, lemon juice, dry mustard, salt, and pepper. Place the cubed halibut in the dish, and allow to marinate for 45 minutes in the refrigerator.

    Advertisement
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

  • Transfer the halibut and marinade mixture to a casserole dish. Spread the sour cream over the halibut, sprinkle with Parmesan cheese, and top with French fried onions.

  • Bake 15 minutes in the preheated oven, or until fish is easily flaked with a fork and marinade mixture is bubbly.

Note

The nutrition data for this recipe includes information for the full amount of the marinade ingredients. Depending on marinating time, ingredients, cooking method, etc., the actual amount of the marinade consumed will vary.

Nutrition Facts

542 calories; 40.2 g total fat; 77 mg cholesterol; 906 mg sodium. 13.2 g carbohydrates; 29.2 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (56)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
06/07/2004
I really liked this dish and my husband just loved it. Perhaps the previous reviewer just got some bad halibut to start with if it tasted fishy. I would definitely make this again. The only thing I would do differently is to use a bit less dry mustard.
(15)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
02/26/2012
Tried this last night and concur with the reviews that mention too much mustard. Way too much. Also didn't like the consistency of the dish with the sour cream. Won't make this again.
(1)
66 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 25
  • 4 star values: 24
  • 2 star values: 7
  • 3 star values: 7
  • 1 star values: 3
Rating: 4 stars
03/02/2006
I had this dish last night. It was very easy to prepare and the taste was very good. I do intend to have it again however I think the next time I will not put as much dry mustard in the recipe. It made the taste too spicy. Halibut is a very flavorful fish on its own and if it has too much spicy taste it takes away from the true taste of the fish. I concur with the reviews that I read that said not to use the amount of dry mustard that was in the instructions but I didn't know if that would take away from the flavor. NOW I AM A BELIEVER. That's why it is so nice to be able to read opinions of people who have already tried the recipes.
(36)
Rating: 4 stars
11/28/2004
I was VERY skeptical because of the sour cream halibut is practically a delicacy since we get it so rarely around here I hate to waste it BUT this turned out great. I used a couple more TBLS of parm. chese and half the french fried onions this turned out great.
(22)
Rating: 5 stars
06/07/2004
I really liked this dish and my husband just loved it. Perhaps the previous reviewer just got some bad halibut to start with if it tasted fishy. I would definitely make this again. The only thing I would do differently is to use a bit less dry mustard.
(15)
Advertisement
Rating: 2 stars
03/19/2006
This recipe would move from to with 1 1/2 T Dry Mustard rather than 3 T. It is definitely a keeper.
(11)
Rating: 5 stars
03/30/2008
Made this dish the other evening and I have to say I was surprised. It was absolutely delicious and will definitely be having it again. It was very simple to prepare and as i said very delicious.I read a couple of reviews before making it and the only alteration to the recipe was instead of 3 tablespoons of dry mustard i only used 2 teaspoons This recipe is a "must try" and comes highly recommended so give it a try and enjoy.
(11)
Rating: 5 stars
11/30/2005
I gave this five stars and I don't really like fish. I made this because my wife loves halibut. I made this exactly like the recipe says and it was REALLY good. It tasted like a meal at a fancy restaurant.
(10)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
09/03/2005
Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! So easy and so yummy. I will make this for years. Elegant and classy. Great for guests. The one reviewer that thought it was "too fishy"- it was definitely their fish. My thoughts and prayers are with everyone in New Orleans. Please donate and help!
(7)
Rating: 5 stars
12/07/2005
tried this last night i have to say i was a bit nervious about it but it was outstanding. change nothing and enjoy.
(6)
Rating: 2 stars
09/22/2007
Not a winner with us. I reduced the mustard and skipped the fried onions altogether. Also used light ingredients. Mine came out with 2 totally different layers. The sour cream on top and a ton of liquid almost boiling the fish underneath. It was weird. Won't be a repeat in our house. I prefer the Heavenly Halibut receipe we use or using the Lemon Steamed Fish Packets receipe (both posted here).
(6)