79 Ratings
  • 5 Rating Star 51
  • 4 Rating Star 18
  • 3 Rating Star 7
  • 1 Rating Star 3

This is a very easy and different tasting sparerib recipe dominated by the taste of allspice. It's loved by everyone who has ever tasted it.

ppj1949
prep:
15 mins
cook:
2 hrs
total:
2 hrs 15 mins
Servings:
6
Max Servings:
6
Advertisement

Ingredients

Directions

  • In a small bowl, mix together the pepper, sugar, salt and allspice. Sprinkle the spice mixture generously over each rib.

    Ads will not print with your recipe
  • Melt butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat, but be careful not to burn. Brown ribs on all sides in the butter. Pour in the beef broth, cover, and reduce heat to low. Simmer for about 1 1/2 hours, or until ribs are fork tender. Do not remove the lid from the skillet during cooking.

Easy Cleanup

Try using a liner in your slow cooker for easier cleanup

Nutrition Facts

378.89 calories; 30.03 g protein; 5.75 g carbohydrates; 0.48 g dietary-fiber; 4.17 g sugars; 25.83 g fat; 11.29 g saturated-fat; 132.22 mg cholesterol; 259.78 IU vitamin-a-iu; 10.22 mg niacin-equivalents; 0.83 mg vitamin-b6; 0.82 mg vitamin-c; 2.02 mcg folate; 53.02 mg calcium; 1.57 mg iron; 35.99 mg magnesium; 533.25 mg potassium; 1088.54 mg sodium; 1.07 mg thiamin; 232.49 calories-from-fat; 6 percent-of-calories-from-carbs; 61 percent-of-calories-from-fat; 31 percent-of-calories-from-protein; 27 percent-of-calories-from-sat-fat


Reviews (64)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Celiac_family_mom
12/12/2006
This is a very good recipe. I really just want to quickly address the ingredients listing for those who found this recipe by doing a "Gluten-free" search (as I did). Where this recipe calls for beef broth those who have been diagnosed with Celiac disease (or gluten-intolerance) might want to know that the vast majority of beef broths on the market (both dried and ready-made) contain modified food starch or other fillers derived of wheat or other glutenous grains. Thus unless you are able to locate a truly gluten-free broth this recipe is not necessarily gluten-free.
(72)

Most helpful critical review

Anonymous
04/04/2012
It was moist but way too much Allspice and sugar for my liking. My daughter said it tasted like licking Christmas.
(3)
79 Ratings
  • 5 Rating Star 51
  • 4 Rating Star 18
  • 3 Rating Star 7
  • 1 Rating Star 3
Celiac_family_mom
12/12/2006
This is a very good recipe. I really just want to quickly address the ingredients listing for those who found this recipe by doing a "Gluten-free" search (as I did). Where this recipe calls for beef broth those who have been diagnosed with Celiac disease (or gluten-intolerance) might want to know that the vast majority of beef broths on the market (both dried and ready-made) contain modified food starch or other fillers derived of wheat or other glutenous grains. Thus unless you are able to locate a truly gluten-free broth this recipe is not necessarily gluten-free.
(72)
Anonymous
03/14/2006
This was excelent! I cut down the allspice to about 1 1/2 tbl. and added some garlic powder and onion powder. After browning the meat I slow cooked it about 8 hrs and also added the drippings from the skillet when I had browned the meat. Will definitely make again. Also the broth thickens up wonderfully- perfect over egg noodles.
(41)
Lonnie
03/02/2007
I must admit I was a bit skeptical about how this was going to turn out. It had a wonderful aroma as it cooked but not one that I would have associated with spareribs. The 4-year came into the kitchen and thought I was making cookies. All-in-all it is very easy to prepare and everyone absolutely loved them. I've made them twice already. One note: I think the recipe only calls for 2 pounds of meat. The mixture however can easily coat nearly 5 pounds of spareribs.
(34)
Joan
12/28/2003
For fans of Allspice and quick and easy recipes this is a great one! The kids picked and prodded because they are not used to that flavor but I thought it was great. I replaced the sugar with Splenda (I'm on Atkins) and used the slow-cooker. E-A-S-Y and tasty! VERY low carbs too. Thanks for posting it!
(13)
Anonymous
01/13/2011
This recipe was a hit at our New Year's party. I skipped the butter and placed the meat into the crockpot. The ingredients went on top turned the crockpot on low for 5 hours. They fell apart and were delicious. I will make this again.
(13)
KEVINCOOK
11/02/2009
I have to admit I was skeptical using allspice on pork ribs........DELICIOUS!! I used olive oil instead of butter. Excellent and easy!
(10)
Anonymous
11/05/2007
I have made these four times in a crock pot. I now crave them so beware they are fantastic!
(10)
No2Fauxd
12/27/2011
These are the best ribs I have ever tasted! They got raves at the table from my daughters boyfriends and my husband. They wanted to know what was in the rub. Even though there was sugar in the rub they were less sweet than the typical BBQ ribs. I used unsalted butter to help keep them from burning and I used a large non-stick wok to do the browing. Then I added the beef broth to the wok and then transferred the entire thing to a crock pot and cooked on low for about 4 hours and then one hour on high. ( I needed the stove top to make other things we were having so I didn't want to have the giant wok on there taking up space.THe crock pot worked fine they were very tender but didn't fall apart.) I couldn't find the "country style" ribs so I just used 2 lbs of meaty baby back pork ribs cutting them apart before I coated them with the rub.They tasted great but the country style that the recipe actually calls for would have been better because I couldn't really brown the underside of the ribs due to the curvature of the bones and also the country ribs would have had more meat. The amount of rub to coat the 2 lbs was just perfect. I used Kitchen Basics beef broth. I will be making them again soon and often. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
(7)
Anonymous
10/18/2006
I made a few changes to this recipe to create an oriental dish - instead of allspice I used chinese five spice. At the end of the cooking time I turned up the heat and cooked the liquid off shredding the beef at the end. I served it with rice and edamame and it was great! My kids wolfed it down! The flavors really intensified and we cooked off any of the fat that country style spare ribs often have.
(6)