73 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 40
  • 4 star values: 25
  • 3 star values: 4
  • 1 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 2

A grilled peanut butter and chocolate sandwich. We used to make these camping in a pie iron over a campfire. It was one of our favorites. Modified it for home.

D J
Advertisement

Ingredients

2
Original recipe yields 2 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Spread 1 teaspoon of margarine onto one side of each slice of bread. Put the margarine sides together. This is to keep from getting margarine on your hands when spreading peanut butter. Spread peanut butter over one slice of bread, and sprinkle chocolate chips onto the peanut butter. Remove the other slice of bread from the back of the peanut butter slice, and place margarine side out over the peanut butter and chocolate chips.

    Advertisement
  • Place a skillet over medium heat. Fry sandwich until golden brown on each side, 2 to 3 minutes. Cool slightly before cutting in half.

Nutrition Facts

222 calories; 13.9 g total fat; 0 mg cholesterol; 272 mg sodium. 21.7 g carbohydrates; 5.5 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (58)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
05/28/2008
A local restaurant makes a similar sandwhich that I crave often. It has Nutella PB and marshmallow creme toasted between white bread. It's sort of like a s'mores without the campfire. Delicious!
(31)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
05/29/2008
For some reason I did not care for this recipe at all. The chocolate chip flavor was too strong and I even used less than the recipe asked for. Usually I love peanut butter/honey toast and anything to do with chocolate but after 2 bites I threw this away. Maybe I'm just weird!:
(1)
73 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 40
  • 4 star values: 25
  • 3 star values: 4
  • 1 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 2
Rating: 5 stars
05/28/2008
A local restaurant makes a similar sandwhich that I crave often. It has Nutella PB and marshmallow creme toasted between white bread. It's sort of like a s'mores without the campfire. Delicious!
(31)
Rating: 5 stars
07/22/2006
Delicious! To make it healthier I used 1 tbsp natural PB 1 1/2 tsp mini choc chips (I know that's quite a cut in amount but I'm watching my calories & the choc flavor still came through nicely!) & sprayed whole wheat bread with butter spray so thereby omitted the margarine. I baked the sandwich at 375 for 5 min then flipped it & baked for another 3-4 min. It was a great treat w/ some fiber & protein-plus a little chocolate for kicks! Thanks for sharing!
(28)
Rating: 5 stars
04/27/2004
Oh Jill Jill Jill....do I like you or hate you for submitting this terrific little treat? I went all out and used butter in lieu of the margarine and even added some nutella to this already wonderful rich and very satisfying sandwich. Anyone who loves peanut butter as much as I has to be O.K. therefore I say thanks for this yummy recipe!
(24)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
10/11/2006
My hubby and I used to make a similar sandwich all the time! We would make two pieces of toast (prefer whole-wheat) and when it was done immdediately press half (or a whole) Hershey's milk chocolate bar onto one piece of toast (the kind you would use for S'mores). On the other piece of toast spread peanut butter then immediately press the two pieces together. The heat of the toast will melt the chocolate and you don't have to mess with grilling it on the stove!
(18)
Rating: 5 stars
02/13/2007
When I make these I use honey roasted peanut butter and a good-quality dark chocolate bar. It's astounding--save it for a kitschy dessert. Sprinkle a little powdered sugar on top to add to the delicious mess factor.
(12)
Rating: 4 stars
07/07/2004
A wonderful and easy to make treat! Instead of the margarine I sprayed the bread with butter flavored cooking spray and cooked on low heat until it started to get brown.
(8)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
09/28/2009
OMG!!! This sandwich is SOOOOO good! It is best when used with Texas toast and real chocolate chips.
(7)
Rating: 5 stars
08/12/2008
Nice sandwich. I used milk chocolate chips instead of semi sweet. I was craving something sweet and this hit the spot. I would definately eat this again.
(6)
Rating: 5 stars
08/08/2007
Oh Lordy! This recipe is delicious! I thought it might be too rich for my taste but as soon as I tasted the first bite it was Heavenly! The one and only difference I made was I used milk chocolate chips instead of the semi sweet because that was all I had on hand. Thank you for sharing this gorgeous recipe!
(5)