502 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 299
  • 4 star values: 135
  • 3 star values: 47
  • 2 star values: 8
  • 1 star values: 13

Chicken baked in a home made barbecue sauce. Very easy. Very good.

Advertisement

Ingredients

12
Original recipe yields 12 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Preheat the oven to 500 degrees F (260 degrees C). In a small saucepan over medium heat, stir together the water, ketchup, brown sugar, vinegar, lemon juice, and Worcestershire sauce. Season with salt, mustard powder, and chili powder. Simmer the sauce for 15 minutes.

    Advertisement
  • Place the chicken thighs into an oblong baking dish, and pour the sauce over them. Cover tightly.

  • Bake for 15 minutes in the preheated oven, then reduce the temperature to 300 degrees F (150 degrees C), and bake for one hour. Remove cover, stir and bake uncovered for 15 minutes.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

135 calories; 7.3 g total fat; 43 mg cholesterol; 305 mg sodium. 5.1 g carbohydrates; 11.7 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (359)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
08/23/2006
This is truly one of the BEST baked BBQ chicken recipes ever!!! I don't know how I lived without it. Here's how I altered it based on our tastes and the other reviews: (1) used 6 thighs not 12 (2) doubled the sauce (3) halved the water (will omit completely next time) (4) omitted the salt (5) added cayenne. WONDERFUL!!!!!!!! One further note.... The second time I made this the baby started crying just as I was about to start cooking the sauce so I threw the uncooked sauce and chicken in the oven and went on my way. We didn't notice any difference! So from now on I won't be wasting time cooking the sauce. Read More
(336)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
04/07/2003
The barbeque mixture was drippy/runny. My daughter said it was "okay." This is definately not a winner w/us. Read More
(6)
502 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 299
  • 4 star values: 135
  • 3 star values: 47
  • 2 star values: 8
  • 1 star values: 13
Rating: 5 stars
08/23/2006
This is truly one of the BEST baked BBQ chicken recipes ever!!! I don't know how I lived without it. Here's how I altered it based on our tastes and the other reviews: (1) used 6 thighs not 12 (2) doubled the sauce (3) halved the water (will omit completely next time) (4) omitted the salt (5) added cayenne. WONDERFUL!!!!!!!! One further note.... The second time I made this the baby started crying just as I was about to start cooking the sauce so I threw the uncooked sauce and chicken in the oven and went on my way. We didn't notice any difference! So from now on I won't be wasting time cooking the sauce. Read More
(336)
Rating: 5 stars
01/03/2008
Very tasty! I threw it all in the slow cooker on low for 6 hours (as opposed to the oven) and it turned out fabulously! Read More
(304)
Rating: 5 stars
04/21/2005
Thanks for sharing this was excellent. For those who complained the sauce was too runny there is an easy fix. I poured the sauce over chicken breasts and baked at 375 covered for approximately 45 min. I removed the cooked chicken to a platter then poured the remaining sauce into a saucepan over med-high heat I added about 1/2 tsp. of cornstarch and stirred constantly. Within minutes it was thickened & bubbly. I then basted it over the cooked chicken and then put the chicken on the outdoor grill just to crisp it up and give it that authentic "barbeque" feel. Everyone loved it. Read More
(294)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
05/31/2011
Great recipe for BBQ chicken! However I turned this into a marinade for grilling vs. baking this in the oven. I left out the water and used Heinz chili sauce vs. ketchup for a little extra kick. I also added a tsp. of liquid smoke anad some minced garlic. I put everything into a ziploc bag and let it marinate overnight. The smell was downright heavenly on the grill and the taste was fabulous! Read More
(91)
Rating: 5 stars
06/21/2003
This has GOT to be my favorite chicken recipe of all time and my family of 5 agrees! I used 12 boneless skinless chicken thighs and followed the recipe to the letter. The chicken was oh-so-tender and tasted great. Unfortunately there were NO leftovers! Thanks for a great recipe. Read More
(85)
Rating: 5 stars
06/12/2004
This was so good! I made this last night with boneless skinless chicken breasts and it was so delicious and also very easy. I had never tried making my own BBQ sauce before but this is so simple I will use this recipe from now on. Also the chicken was so tender it fell apart. Wonderful! Read More
(78)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
05/16/2005
Excellent delicious easy-to-make recipe. I made five changes in my preparation: soaked the meat in a salt sugar and spice brine for an hour covered the pan bottom with onion slices used honey threw in a dash each of cinnamon and cayenne and I added a couple of minutes broiling time to the cooking time. While it is a "runny" sauce it was very tasty; however one could simmer the sauce longer and thicken it with corn starch. Some of the best chicken sauces I've had have been thin -- it's a common style where I live Western Kentucky. Read More
(64)
Rating: 4 stars
11/01/2005
Great Recipe for BBQ chicken! I used boneless/skinless thighs and just baked a little less time at 300 deg. Yes sauce is thin but very good combo of flavors (only thing I added was some garlic - Everything's better w/the big "G") Overall: Easy used common ingredients and tasted wonderful! Read More
(41)
Rating: 5 stars
09/06/2007
We prepare this recipe using a measurement yield for 24. We like this thinner style sauce that much. We use 12 thighs instead of 24 or 6 skinless breasts or combination of each. Again using the ingredient measurement yield for 24 reduced the water to a 1/4 cup. Add 1/2 Tsp of red pepper 1/2 Tsp onion powder 1/2 Tsp garlic powder. Super tender recipe. Excellent dinner to freeze leftovers. Tangy vinegar taste. If you like sweet add more brown sugar and reduce the vinegar. A keeper recipe. Read More
(34)