315 Ratings
  • 5 Rating Star 242
  • 4 Rating Star 48
  • 3 Rating Star 14
  • 1 Rating Star 8
  • 2 Rating Star 3

Wonderfully tart, classic English lemon curd...perfect with scones and tea.

prep:
15 mins
cook:
6 mins
total:
21 mins
Servings:
12
Max Servings:
12
Advertisement

Ingredients

Directions

  • In a 2 quart saucepan, combine lemon juice, lemon zest, sugar, eggs, and butter. Cook over medium-low heat until thick enough to hold marks from whisk, and first bubble appears on surface, about 6 minutes.

Cook's Note:

You can make curd up to one week ahead of use. Cover surface with plastic wrap, and store in refrigerator.

Nutrition Facts

138.11 calories; 1.72 g protein; 14 g carbohydrates; 0.11 g dietary-fiber; 12.98 g sugars; 8.92 g fat; 5.25 g saturated-fat; 66.84 mg cholesterol; 300.54 IU vitamin-a-iu; 0.39 mg niacin-equivalents; 0.03 mg vitamin-b6; 7.66 mg vitamin-c; 8.21 mcg folate; 10.76 mg calcium; 0.24 mg iron; 2.68 mg magnesium; 38.98 mg potassium; 18.72 mg sodium; 0.01 mg thiamin; 80.24 calories-from-fat; 39 percent-of-calories-from-carbs; 56 percent-of-calories-from-fat; 4 percent-of-calories-from-protein; 32 percent-of-calories-from-sat-fat


Reviews (265)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

SIDCAES
10/17/2004
I read a lot of reviews with concerns about 'scrambled eggs' which is common when eggs are cooked too quickly. As a pastry chef I always temper the eggs. Here's how to do it: Combine the juice and zest in a double boiler and heat until hot not boiling. If you don't have a double boiler a metal bowl atop a saucepan filled with water works just fine just make sure it's stable. Have the eggs in a separate bowl and mix in the sugar just before adding the juice. When the juice is hot SLOWLY pour some over the eggs and sugar while whisking. This may take two people but a towel under the egg bowl will help it from moving around. You don't have to pour all the juice just enough to make the egg mixture the same temperature as the juice. Pour the egg mixture back into the juice over a strainer. This will get rid of any eggs that may have curdled. Then cook over medium-low heat until thick enough to hold the marks from the whisk. Finally remove the curd from the heat and add the butter a little at a time stirring to help it melt. I hope this helps anyone concerned about curdling eggs!
(811)

Most helpful critical review

Anonymous
03/29/2003
incompleted directions. Egg white cooked and left pieces in the custard
(25)
315 Ratings
  • 5 Rating Star 242
  • 4 Rating Star 48
  • 3 Rating Star 14
  • 1 Rating Star 8
  • 2 Rating Star 3
SIDCAES
10/17/2004
I read a lot of reviews with concerns about 'scrambled eggs' which is common when eggs are cooked too quickly. As a pastry chef I always temper the eggs. Here's how to do it: Combine the juice and zest in a double boiler and heat until hot not boiling. If you don't have a double boiler a metal bowl atop a saucepan filled with water works just fine just make sure it's stable. Have the eggs in a separate bowl and mix in the sugar just before adding the juice. When the juice is hot SLOWLY pour some over the eggs and sugar while whisking. This may take two people but a towel under the egg bowl will help it from moving around. You don't have to pour all the juice just enough to make the egg mixture the same temperature as the juice. Pour the egg mixture back into the juice over a strainer. This will get rid of any eggs that may have curdled. Then cook over medium-low heat until thick enough to hold the marks from the whisk. Finally remove the curd from the heat and add the butter a little at a time stirring to help it melt. I hope this helps anyone concerned about curdling eggs!
(811)
susan
06/04/2007
I have made this several times now. I omit the zest and use 1/2 stick butter=1/4 cup. To avoid any cooked egg bits I cream the butter and sugar then add eggs one at a time mixing well after each. Then add lemon juice then heat. Takes about 15-20 minutes to thicken stir constantly.
(370)
PEACHY28
09/26/2004
I haven't made Lemon Curd yet but I'm puzzled by comments about the cooked eggs. To keep the eggs from cooking just mix the butter and sugar together creaming them just as you would when making a cake. Then add the eggs one at a time and mix each one in real well. Then add the lemon juice and zest. Then heat in pan. The eggs will not cook!
(295)
AcadiaBoi
01/19/2007
Word to the wise this recipe is great and easy to make.. but don't make the mistake of making it in a reactive pot or double boiler (i.e. made of metal) unless you're a big fan of the flavor of metal...
(149)
SHIRLEYMACRINA
02/13/2004
This is a pretty classic lemon curd although some recipes would add more butter and use only egg yolks (no whites). The operative word in the directions is SLOWLY. It should take your curd about 15-20 minutes to SLOWLY heat and thicken. This needs to be sitrred very frequently for the first 10-15 minutes and then almost constantly as it begins to thicken to prevent burning. Cooking it this way you'll have no problems. Cooked egg is a sign that your heat was too high and you weren't stirring enough. If you're nervous about it I suggest cooking over a double boiler on medium (not high!) heat. This is not a recipe you want to walk away from as it's cooking. Good clean classic flavor though.
(129)
luv2bake
12/19/2005
I picked a huge load of lemons over Thanksgiving with plans to make lemon curd. I set about looking for a recipe that didn't look too eggy and seemed to have a good tart/sweet balance. I settled on this one after looking around online and through several cookbooks. This was delicious and so easy! I cooked it on low heat because my range is gas and I often find recipes calling for medium low need low on mine. However it was taking quite a lot longer than the 6 minutes in the recipe. I finally turned it up to medium low and I stirred CONSTANTLY (even when it was on low heat). Honestly this was spectacular! I can't wait to make more (I only made one batch.) I'm also going to make some scones to put it on (the other day I ate it just on plain toast -- oh my gosh I had to make myself stop at 2 pieces!) Thanks for a great recipe Tawnie!
(101)
SunnyByrd
09/18/2008
I love lemon curd and have never made it at home because I thought it would be too much trouble. Totally easy and came out perfectly (hence the name I guess). Thanks!
(67)
Anonymous
05/14/2003
One word...YUMMY! It is important to cook on low heat stirring constantly until thick. If a moderate to high heat is used it will become lemon scrambled eggs. I served this at a dinner party by spooning it over slices of pound cake and then topping it off with sliced strawberries. Everyone asked for seconds! Do try this recipe and enjoy!
(47)
Anonymous
05/14/2003
Outstanding!! I'm not sure what the problem was for the other reviewers--I had success with this recipe and it tastes wonderful. Perhaps the key is to make sure to whisk the mixture on very low heat continuously until done. You definitely don't want to overcook it or heat it to high (or yes it will cook the egg). Like custards this can be fussy but if you follow the recipe you should have success as I did. Good luck! It's soooo tasty! Mmmm!
(47)