This is an adaptation of yellow chicken curry from India. The aromas and flavors are a delight to the senses! It is best served with fresh Naan bread and Jasmine or Basmati rice.

Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Saute onion until lightly browned. Stir in garlic, curry powder, cinnamon, paprika, bay leaf, ginger, sugar and salt. Continue stirring for 2 minutes. Add chicken pieces, tomato paste, yogurt, and coconut milk. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer for 20 to 25 minutes.

    Advertisement
  • Remove bay leaf, and stir in lemon juice and cayenne pepper. Simmer 5 more minutes.

Partner Tip

Try using a Reynolds® slow cooker liner in your slow cooker for easier cleanup.

Nutrition Facts

313 calories; 21.7 g total fat; 38 mg cholesterol; 268 mg sodium. 14 g carbohydrates; 19.1 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (1002)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
12/02/2006
Great recipe! I had two people from India helping me make it and they suggested these changes: more curry (they added about 8 tbls) fresh ground pepper and use Indian Chili powder not cayenne and increase the amount to about 3 tsp. They said that cayenne is a western spice and Indian chili powder is more authentic. This made it VERY hot. We used the sauce to help spice up another mild curry dish we had. Read More
(2544)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
05/03/2010
This whole recipe is upside down. First of all you need to fry the whole spices. Use vegetable oil for Indian cooking you want the oil to taste of these spices not olives!. It is the taste of the spices in the oil (whether whole or ground) that seperates high quality fare from stuff in glass jars and plastic packets. Use 1" cinnamon stick instead of ground cinnamon taste is far superior put this in with the bay leaf (though 2 is probably better) and if you want more taste 4 or 5 bruised cardomoms and a couple of cloves. All these need to go straight into very hot oil the spices will pop and splutter and release their flavours into the oil. Should only need a minute or so but if you have heat too low you will need to use your nose!. Next add onion garlic and ginger together this will stop the garlic and ginger from tasting raw and allow them to release their flavours. Lower the heat but still keep it medium high. Once onion etc is done add ground spices let them touch the bottom of the hot pan (stirring) they will brown somewhat and they won't taste raw do this for about a minute (again use your nose!). Do the same for the tomato puree it browns taste improves. I would let the yoghurt integrate and cook a bit before adding the coconut milk. I don't why you would need to remove the bay leaf... The above..frying spices etc is Indian food 101 and can be used in all recipes and will produce "that" taste you are after (spices integrated into the oil!). Read More
(908)
1358 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 790
  • 4 star values: 330
  • 3 star values: 124
  • 2 star values: 50
  • 1 star values: 64
Rating: 5 stars
12/02/2006
Great recipe! I had two people from India helping me make it and they suggested these changes: more curry (they added about 8 tbls) fresh ground pepper and use Indian Chili powder not cayenne and increase the amount to about 3 tsp. They said that cayenne is a western spice and Indian chili powder is more authentic. This made it VERY hot. We used the sauce to help spice up another mild curry dish we had. Read More
(2544)
Rating: 5 stars
06/06/2005
I used this recipe when I made curry myself for the first time ever. I loved it! Absolutely wonderful. Having experimented with the recipe since that first experience I suggest trying out a different first step. In a dry pot pre-heated to a medium heat first roast the curry powder for a minute or until browned stirring constantly. Add the paprika and the cinnamon and ginger stirring constantly. (I do not add the sugar) Then add the garlic bay leaf and onions and drizzle the olive oil over top. You can do this with about 1 1/2- 2tbsp. of olive oil. Continue as per the recipe. I found that that extra first step enriches the flavor of the curry powder and makes for a fuller-bodied/ slightly spicier curry. Amazing recipe and I will definitely use it again and again! - Nadia Read More
(1025)
Rating: 1 stars
05/03/2010
This whole recipe is upside down. First of all you need to fry the whole spices. Use vegetable oil for Indian cooking you want the oil to taste of these spices not olives!. It is the taste of the spices in the oil (whether whole or ground) that seperates high quality fare from stuff in glass jars and plastic packets. Use 1" cinnamon stick instead of ground cinnamon taste is far superior put this in with the bay leaf (though 2 is probably better) and if you want more taste 4 or 5 bruised cardomoms and a couple of cloves. All these need to go straight into very hot oil the spices will pop and splutter and release their flavours into the oil. Should only need a minute or so but if you have heat too low you will need to use your nose!. Next add onion garlic and ginger together this will stop the garlic and ginger from tasting raw and allow them to release their flavours. Lower the heat but still keep it medium high. Once onion etc is done add ground spices let them touch the bottom of the hot pan (stirring) they will brown somewhat and they won't taste raw do this for about a minute (again use your nose!). Do the same for the tomato puree it browns taste improves. I would let the yoghurt integrate and cook a bit before adding the coconut milk. I don't why you would need to remove the bay leaf... The above..frying spices etc is Indian food 101 and can be used in all recipes and will produce "that" taste you are after (spices integrated into the oil!). Read More
(908)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
02/24/2007
This is probably the best curry I've had in a long long long LONG time. My alterations are: 1/4 cup curry powder - I love the taste! 1/2 tsp cinnamon 3/4 tsp ground ginger 1 tsp chilli flakes 1/2 red bell pepper 1/2 cup pineapple tidbits I used a whole can of coconut milk because I didn't have yogurt. I also added about 1/4 cup low fat sour cream to make it a bit creamier. I served it on Jasmine rice. All I can say is that this is amazing!! If I could rate it 100 stars I would. Read More
(837)
Rating: 1 stars
12/28/2007
I did not care for this recipe. My husband is Indian and he took one bite and was done. I have been cooking Indian for 14 years and this is not it. I will continue with my in-laws' version instead. I will post that recipe soon. Sorry to leave negative feedback. Read More
(434)
Rating: 5 stars
09/16/2007
A very nice Chicken Curry. I also used 1 tsp. of Garam Masala. I wish I had left out the lemon and the cayenne because I thought it tasted better before those were added. I even cut down the cayenne to 1/4 tsp. because my youngest daughter doesn't like it too hot. I think that next time I will omit the last two ingredients. Read More
(179)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
12/20/2010
My wife and I love this one and make it all the time. Use more chicken / curry though or it is pretty mild. Special thanks to the person who wrote "my husband had one bite and was done." I used to have trouble finding this recipe but now I just google that line and it takes me right here! Read More
(155)
Rating: 5 stars
03/30/2006
My first comment is to read through the rest of the reviews before making this dish. The recipe alone is a great starting place but you may want to take some of the suggestions you read to make it just right for you. Not everyone likes the same flavors so you need to tweak it specifically for your taste buds. Thanks everyone for making this dish a perfect one for me!!! Read More
(134)
Rating: 5 stars
06/20/2005
OMG--this is sooooo good! I added 2 small potatoes peeled and cubed and 1/2 cup of peas; also sprinkled cilantro on just before serving. Didn't have yogurt so I just used a full can of coconut milk. I would give this 100 stars if I could. A must if you like Indian food. Read More
(120)