71 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 55
  • 4 star values: 14
  • 3 star values: 0
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 2

I created this salad for a party last year. It tastes wonderful, and everyone asks for the recipe. Serve on croissants or lettuce leaves. For a fancy presentation, line a platter with red leaf lettuce, and top with cream puff shells that have been stuffed with salad (small shells for appetizers or large shell for main dish).

KWARD
Advertisement

Ingredients

8
Original recipe yields 8 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • In a large saucepan, simmer chicken breasts in water for about 7 to 10 minutes, or until cooked through. Drain, cool, and tear into small pieces with a fork.

    Advertisement
  • In a large bowl, combine mayonnaise, chutney, curry powder, and pepper. Stir in chicken, pecans, grapes, and onions. Chill.

Nutrition Facts

399 calories; 30.1 g total fat; 53 mg cholesterol; 210 mg sodium. 15.5 g carbohydrates; 18.7 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (62)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
10/10/2005
This is definitely one of my favorites. I use a slightly different recipes but it's rather close. To cut down on the fat I use a 6 ounce carton of yogurt and since I'm normally making 2 servings I only use 3 skinless boneless chicken breasts and 1/2 C of SUGAR-FREE chutney. I also toss in different nuts and fruits...sometimes sunflower seeds (1/2 C) or slivered almonds instead of the pecans or 1/4 C raisins and 1/2 C diced apples instead of the grapes. I prefer to omit the onion. My version has about 300 calories per serving makes 2 main dish servings. Read More
(77)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
06/18/2008
Yes I did the photo of the dish. I tripled the dish as I am a huge lover of indian food and so does my wife. Sorry though the chutney made it nasty. Love the idea of curry in a creamy chicken salad though. Won't make again tossed 15 bucks worth of food. Read More
(5)
71 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 55
  • 4 star values: 14
  • 3 star values: 0
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 2
Rating: 5 stars
10/10/2005
This is definitely one of my favorites. I use a slightly different recipes but it's rather close. To cut down on the fat I use a 6 ounce carton of yogurt and since I'm normally making 2 servings I only use 3 skinless boneless chicken breasts and 1/2 C of SUGAR-FREE chutney. I also toss in different nuts and fruits...sometimes sunflower seeds (1/2 C) or slivered almonds instead of the pecans or 1/4 C raisins and 1/2 C diced apples instead of the grapes. I prefer to omit the onion. My version has about 300 calories per serving makes 2 main dish servings. Read More
(77)
Rating: 5 stars
02/10/2004
This salad is beyond yummy! It's very formal and would definitely be the star of any meal. As a note 3/4 cup is an entire 9 oz. bottle of chutney. Read More
(47)
Rating: 5 stars
07/29/2003
I use Major Grey's Mango Chutnet with this recipes although others would probobly be just as good. It really is a great recipe! Read More
(34)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
12/28/2005
Made this recipe for a 40th bday party. It was gobbled up quick - the hit of the party (it even stole the spotlight from the bacon-wrapped dates!) I used canned chicken and served it in little pastry shells. I think I used 3 boxes of shells - will get more next time since I had alot more salad than shells. Read More
(20)
Rating: 5 stars
07/08/2007
Best chicken salad I ever ate! I substituted fat-free yogurt for the mayo and used 2 Tbsp. yellow raisins in place of the grapes. I used romaine lettuce leaves to make chicken salad wraps - fantastic! Read More
(20)
Rating: 5 stars
09/11/2003
This is a very unique twist on chicken salad. I took it to a Sunday Brunch party using the serving method suggested by Kim. Not only was it a beautiful platter but everyone really enjoyed the flaky pastry shell idea. Thanks Kim! Read More
(11)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
11/05/2007
I used mango chutney as suggested and shallot rather than onion. Served over lettuce with rice and fresh mango. Delicious! Read More
(11)
Rating: 4 stars
02/03/2011
This was a good recipe. I couldn't follow the recipe exactly because I needed to use stuff that I had in my cupboards/fridge. So I did things a little differently but that just proves it is a good base recipe and very adaptable. I also felt that there was too much mayo. Next time I would go with a 3/4 cup. I also chose to grate the onion and used only about 2.5 TBSP of grated onion. I also used cashews instead of pecans. Here are some substitutions that I made with stuff I had on hand. Replaced 1c grapes with 1c peeled chopped apple. Replaced 3/4c chutney with some strawberry jam. Added a splash of lemon juice. Added a dash of paprika for color. It was yummy with butter lettuce on bakery rolls! I think it would be good in a wrap as well. Thanks for the recipe! Read More
(11)
Rating: 5 stars
08/03/2005
An absolute hit! Read More
(8)