This is the recipe that is served in all the Chinese restaurants in my area. Serve these as a main course or appetizer.

Gallery

Recipe Summary

prep:
1 hr 20 mins
cook:
1 hr
additional:
1 hr
total:
3 hrs 20 mins
Servings:
6
Yield:
6 servings
Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified
Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • In a large bowl, blend hoisin sauce, cranberry sauce, soy sauce, white wine, honey, and red food coloring. Mix in garlic salt and Chinese five-spice powder. Place ribs in the mixture. Cover, and marinate in the refrigerator at least 1 hour.

    Advertisement
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

  • Place water in the bottom of a large roasting pan. Arrange ribs on pan rack, and cook 30 minutes in the preheated oven. Cover with remaining sauce mixture, and continue cooking 30 minutes, to an internal temperature of 160 degrees F (70 degrees C).

Nutrition Facts

932 calories; protein 48g 96% DV; carbohydrates 20.5g 7% DV; fat 71.5g 110% DV; cholesterol 242.6mg 81% DV; sodium 1009.5mg 40% DV. Full Nutrition

Reviews (31)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 4 stars
10/19/2003
It was delicious! I left out the food coloring, but other than that, I followed the directions exactly. Will try it on company now. Read More
(30)
39 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 26
  • 4 star values: 13
  • 3 star values: 0
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 4 stars
10/19/2003
It was delicious! I left out the food coloring, but other than that, I followed the directions exactly. Will try it on company now. Read More
(30)
Rating: 5 stars
04/07/2005
Excellent taste. First time I have made ribs and these came out excellent! I followed the recipe down to the letter including using the red food coloring. I like salty so when I make it next time I will put a little more soy sauce. Also I will puncture the ribs with a fork before marinating them to absorb more flavor. I will let them marinade at least 3 hours. This is important because as the ribs cook the sauce drips down into the pan of water so it is wise to saturate the ribs and maybe basting every 15 minutes may not be a bad idea. But I dont want to be bothered so I think the steps above will improve the recipe to give more flavor on the inside. These ribs where fall of the bone and succulent but I like mine a little crispier and burnt a little which is why I advise after the hour in the oven is done I would turn up the heat in the oven and let 'em roast an extra 5-10 minutes to make the outsides more crispy. Must also say that the leftovers taste even better than the fresh batch. The leftovers that sat overnight in the fridge had even more flavor the next afternoon when I microwaved them. I made them with the chinese chicken fried rice recipe from allrecipes.com and got many compliments. A Read More
(27)
Rating: 5 stars
05/02/2004
I just made these ribs and everyone went wild! What a fantastic recipe. I didn't cook them on a broiler pan with the water. I put them single layer on a cookie sheet and baked them at 350 degrees on convection roast. I changed the foil on the cookie sheet and then basted them with some fresh marinade I made. Put them back in on convection roast for another 5 minutes and basted them one more time. I also sprinkled some sesame seeds on top. Finger licking good!! This recipe is a keeper. I also served it with the Vegetable Lo Mein recipe I got off of allrecipes.com. Great dinner!!!! Thanks!!! Read More
(23)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
12/09/2008
These were delicious and did taste like Chinese style spareribs. I was only cooking one rack of baby back ribs (about 2 lbs.)but made the sauce for 4 lbs. of ribs. I did not change one thing in the recipe except for the cooking time. I cook ribs constantly in the oven and I know that mine would not have been done in 1 hour at 300 unless I had parboiled them first. I ended up cooking them for 2 hours and basting them every 30 minutes for the first hour and then every 15 minutes for the 2nd hour - which explains why I used up all the sauce. I broiled them for 3 minutes before I took them out which gave them that nice charred flavor and look that you get in the restaurant. This was easy and I will be making this again. Thanks submitter. Read More
(16)
Rating: 4 stars
03/26/2004
I omitted the food coloring. The flavor was wonderful. I finished off the ribs by putting them under the broiler for about four minutes on each side. The only thing I'd do different next time is roast them longer so that the meat comes off the bone easier. This was a family pleaser! Read More
(10)
Rating: 4 stars
01/29/2004
I loved this recipe easy and good. I would have given it 5 stars but I cheated on the recipe alittle...I didn't have cranberry sauce so I used duck sauce. It was just like the chinese ribs...thanks Read More
(9)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
12/24/2008
When I found this recipe I knew right away that I had to try it. I went to the store to buy all of the ingredients I didn't have on hand and used substitues for whatever I couldn't find in the store. I used Bragg's Liquid Aminos instead of normal soy sauce a half and half blend of regular salt and garlic powder instead of garlic salt and because my local grocery didn't have any cooking wine I used some flat 7Up ( - sounds bad I know but it turned out fine). These ribs were absolutely delicious. I'm no longer a slave to my local restaurant's spareribs - now I can make my own!:-) Read More
(8)
Rating: 5 stars
03/26/2010
Just like Chinese restaurant ribs - broiled them for a couple minutes at the end. Perfect. Definitely a keeper. Read More
(8)
Rating: 5 stars
10/03/2005
These ribs are incredible! I marinated the ribs overnight and boiled the leftover marinade before using it to baste. I only added 1 step: I turned one more time basted again and put them under the broiler for just a minute to crisp the meaty side a bit more. Read More
(6)