36 Ratings
  • 4 star values: 14
  • 5 star values: 13
  • 1 star values: 4
  • 3 star values: 4
  • 2 star values: 1

Peas and rice, often served under a tropical sun. You may have had it last while sitting on soft white sand, and looking at a clear blue sea. Goes excellently with other traditional Caribbean fare, such as chicken curry or souse.

Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Melt butter in a large, heavy saucepan over medium high heat. Place bacon in the saucepan, and cook until evenly brown. Stir in onion and celery, and cook until tender. Mix in tomato, tomato paste, and ketchup. Season with salt and pepper. Reduce heat to low, and continue cooking about 15 minutes.

    Advertisement
  • Stir pigeon peas and their liquid, water, rice, and thyme into the saucepan. Bring to a boil, cover, and reduce heat. Cook 40 minutes on low, or until all liquid is absorbed. Fluff rice with a fork.

Nutrition Facts

548 calories; 19.2 g total fat; 40 mg cholesterol; 746 mg sodium. 80.7 g carbohydrates; 13.6 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (24)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
11/23/2009
This recipe is closest to how my Bahamian friend prepares his. Instead of bacon he used small cubes of salt pork sauteed until brown. He then added the chopped onion and garlic. After the onions were cooked about one or two minutes he stirred in a can of tomato paste no tomatoes. about a cup of washed white long grained rice then enough water to just cover the rice. He set the heat on low and just let the rice cook slowly until all liquid was absorbed. He then fluffed the rice adding the peas at the end. He flavored it also with salt (did not need much) and thyme. This is a good recipe.
(39)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
08/01/2008
I haven't tried the recipe yet but my husband was born and raissed in the bahamas and I have made this many times. The critique I would have is that there is way to much tomatoe paste used in the recipe. I've always been told to use about 1/4 of the small can. (you can freeze the rest) No ketchup or tomatos has ever been added. Be careful with the Thyme it is a strong herb. Black eyed peas is another name for the pea.
(59)
36 Ratings
  • 4 star values: 14
  • 5 star values: 13
  • 1 star values: 4
  • 3 star values: 4
  • 2 star values: 1
Rating: 3 stars
09/21/2008
As a Bahamian who frequents this site regularly I thought I'd help out by reviewing this recipe. A few substitutions can be made to make this dish more authentic to our country but all in all it is a good recipe. Tomatoes ketchup and celery can be added but for the most part they aren't included. An ingredient that is normally included but wasn't listed here is diced green bell pepper. Try adding maybe a half of a pepper or a whole one if you really like it. Also instead of using fresh thyme we'd normally let it dry out before cooking with it for a stronger flavor. Pigeon or black-eye peas can also be substituted for canned kidney beans if you can't find either although we'd call that 'Bean 'n Rice' instead:-) Now all you need is some baked macaroni with your favorite meat or fish and you're all set!
(201)
Rating: 1 stars
08/01/2008
I haven't tried the recipe yet but my husband was born and raissed in the bahamas and I have made this many times. The critique I would have is that there is way to much tomatoe paste used in the recipe. I've always been told to use about 1/4 of the small can. (you can freeze the rest) No ketchup or tomatos has ever been added. Be careful with the Thyme it is a strong herb. Black eyed peas is another name for the pea.
(59)
Rating: 5 stars
11/23/2009
This recipe is closest to how my Bahamian friend prepares his. Instead of bacon he used small cubes of salt pork sauteed until brown. He then added the chopped onion and garlic. After the onions were cooked about one or two minutes he stirred in a can of tomato paste no tomatoes. about a cup of washed white long grained rice then enough water to just cover the rice. He set the heat on low and just let the rice cook slowly until all liquid was absorbed. He then fluffed the rice adding the peas at the end. He flavored it also with salt (did not need much) and thyme. This is a good recipe.
(39)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
08/27/2003
Excellent Recipe! Just like we had in the Bahamas! I found the pigeon peas in the Goya section at the grocery store. I used tomato sauce instead of paste since I had an open can. This made a HUGE skillet full. I served it with some mexican fare and it was a hit.
(16)
Rating: 4 stars
01/18/2011
This recipe is pretty close to what I ate while I lived in Nassau. It is definitely missing the minced green pepper and it has more tomato flavor than normal. I'd cut out the ketchup and tomato and just do the tomato paste. But other than that it is a good recipe.
(12)
Rating: 1 stars
01/13/2010
My husband is from the Bahamas and I have yet to find a recipe that is most like his. This one is missing a few ingredients such as the coconut milk and the salt pork.
(12)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
01/23/2008
This recipe turned out quite well and made a LOT for just my husband and I. It didn't taste like what I remember our Puerto Rican neighbor making as a child which is what I was looking for so though I probably wouldn't make it again it was still a good recipe.
(8)
Rating: 5 stars
09/25/2003
Excellent-quick and easy
(7)
Rating: 4 stars
03/02/2010
Although I never been to bahamas I am glad to have stumbled onto this recipie. Being tired of the same old white rice time after time I was looking for something different and easy to make. I followed it exactly exept for the celery. I had none so I added roasted red peppers instead. I could have added the green pepper instead as another reviewer said but I don't really like green peppers. Anyway my family loved it and so did I. I will be making this again. P.S. I don't know what the person who said that the tomato paste simmered to the top. You must have done something wrong because this turned out nicely cooked and fluffy. Thanks for the recipie.
(6)