104 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 45
  • 4 star values: 43
  • 3 star values: 12
  • 2 star values: 2
  • 1 star values: 2

A chicken dish that is easy and tastes absolutely delicious! A unique way to use summer squash, zucchini, tomatoes, and cheese!!

Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Lightly grease a medium baking dish.

    Advertisement
  • Arrange chicken in the prepared baking dish, and top with the stewed tomatoes. Arrange squash and zucchini slices around the chicken. Sprinkle with mozzarella cheese.

  • Bake 45 minutes in the preheated oven, or until chicken is no longer pink and juices run clear.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

280 calories; 8.6 g total fat; 96 mg cholesterol; 569 mg sodium. 10.7 g carbohydrates; 39.6 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (85)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
07/02/2006
This is very good! I tried it with extra zucchini and squash Swiss cheese on top and added Italian seasoning salt and pepper. I thought the squash would be mushy after 45 minutes but it was perfect. Mine came out really watery so I will probably drain the tomatoes next time. Served with garlic bread to round out a great meal. Read More
(23)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
07/02/2007
This recipe was a really good idea but the timing and/or temperature need work. While the chicken and cheese came out fine the vegetables were underdone. I even let it cook another 15 minutes and gav e up when the cheese started to blacken. This needs work. One of the things that should be worked on is what happens if you add ingredients like thin sliced potatoes or carrots. Also how about some spices here?! Without out even salt and pepper this is BLAND! Like I said it's a good idea but needs work. Read More
(12)
104 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 45
  • 4 star values: 43
  • 3 star values: 12
  • 2 star values: 2
  • 1 star values: 2
Rating: 4 stars
08/17/2006
This recipe could easily be a 5 star with a few additions; Thanks to other reviewer's suggestions and some of my own. Try tossing the cut up chicken in a little Italian dressing. I like the idea of quartering my vegetables instead and adding vidalia onion. I seasoned the veggies with garlic salt pepper and oregano. I also used a can of petite cut tomatoes instead so you get a little bit with evey bite. I used colby-jack cheese- instead -just 1 cup and then sprinkled a little shredded parmesan over that. The results were incredible. I did have a lot of juice too from vegetables and chicken cooking. I took out several T. and then served garlic bread with the meal for "soaking" up the juices. This is a new favorite for us and is a light dish to serve! Read More
(101)
Rating: 4 stars
07/29/2003
We were pleasantly surprised by this one! Had pre-cooked some chicken the night before so I chopped it into bite size pieces. I sauteed the zucchini & summer sq with 3/4 c chopped onion and about a tsp of oil 1 clove pressed garlic S & P and parsley. I also used some grated parmesan on top in addition to the mozarella. Since everything was cooked ahead only had to bake about 25 min. Read More
(38)
Rating: 4 stars
06/23/2006
I used this recipe as a base for my dish and it turned out great- I used 2 yellow squash instead of 1 yellow 1 zucchini because I didn't have a zucchini. My chicken breasts were in pieces but it worked fine. I added some olive oil oregano garlic powder on the chicken and italian seasonings. I used the can of tomatoes like it called for but on top I sliced up fresh tomatoes and covered with oregano. I might change it up to add fresh tomatoes throughout because that made it really yummy. I changed the cheese to monterey jack which worked fine. I added some fresh garlic too. Next time I'll add mushrooms & an onion. It was really yummy. Read More
(32)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
07/10/2007
Excellent! I had to make a few changes to fit what I had on hand but it came out great all the same. I used only zucchini and a can of crushed tomatoes and added some oregano for flavor. Basically it tastes somewhat like a cross between chicken parm & cacciatore. Good & simple to make everyone enjoyed it. This one's a keeper! Read More
(25)
Rating: 5 stars
07/02/2006
This is very good! I tried it with extra zucchini and squash Swiss cheese on top and added Italian seasoning salt and pepper. I thought the squash would be mushy after 45 minutes but it was perfect. Mine came out really watery so I will probably drain the tomatoes next time. Served with garlic bread to round out a great meal. Read More
(23)
Rating: 1 stars
07/02/2007
This recipe was a really good idea but the timing and/or temperature need work. While the chicken and cheese came out fine the vegetables were underdone. I even let it cook another 15 minutes and gav e up when the cheese started to blacken. This needs work. One of the things that should be worked on is what happens if you add ingredients like thin sliced potatoes or carrots. Also how about some spices here?! Without out even salt and pepper this is BLAND! Like I said it's a good idea but needs work. Read More
(12)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
05/18/2007
This was pretty good. I took some previous advice and marinated the chicken in Italian dressing then also poured some on top of the chicken before baking and I thought it was good. My husband said it could have used more flavor so next time I'll just season the chicken with... whatever I have (parsley chicken seasoning sage etc.). Read More
(10)
Rating: 5 stars
08/02/2007
This was a great light dinner. I had to make some adjustments due to what I had on hand. I used chicken tenders one large and one medium zucchini and a medium onion. I wish I had some fresh 'shrooms but I didn't. I seasoned everything with some McCormick Roasted Garlic & Bell Pepper seasoning along with salt and pepper and a bit on Garlic and Herb Mrs. Dash. I let it cook for about half an hour without the cheese and then checked it to see how the veggies were coming. There was quite a bit of juice so I added some grated parm and mixed it in a bit then put it back in for about 10 minutes. I added some shredded asiago the last 5 minutes just to melt (I was out of mozzarella). I served it with some fresh italian bread with garlic butter and it was perfect! I can't wait to share the leftovers at work tomorrow! Thanks Andrea I know I will make this again! Read More
(8)
Rating: 4 stars
08/08/2005
this was a good recipe--I would definitely recommend putting some sort of seasoning on the chicken before you cook it though. And make sure you have plenty of tomatoes to eat with the chicken (since the chicken itself doesn't have much flavor). The zucchini turns out amazing--it's cooked to perfection in the oven. I'll make this again. Read More
(7)