Rating: 4.58 stars
12 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 8
  • 4 star values: 3
  • 3 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0

This tangy bean salad is served cold over crumbled corn chips. It's a great main dish for a light lunch or dinner, and colorful, too! You can make the salad mixture several hours ahead, if needed.

Gallery

Recipe Summary test

prep:
15 mins
additional:
1 hr
total:
1 hr 15 mins
Servings:
6
Yield:
6 servings
Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified
Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Drain and discard half of the liquid from the beans. In a large mixing bowl, toss together beans and the remaining liquid, onion, tomato, cheese, and dressing. Cover, and refrigerate 1 hour, or until chilled.

    Advertisement
  • Serve over crumbled corn chips. Garnish with cilantro.

Nutrition Facts

482 calories; protein 16g; carbohydrates 40.2g; fat 29.1g; cholesterol 39.5mg; sodium 991.4mg. Full Nutrition
Advertisement

Reviews (11)

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
11/28/2005
I added lettuce to this salad this is a keeper! very good. Thanks! Read More
(18)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
04/20/2009
This was just okay....My family didn't really care for it. I don't think that I'll be making this again but thanks for sharing. Read More
(6)
12 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 8
  • 4 star values: 3
  • 3 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
11/28/2005
I added lettuce to this salad this is a keeper! very good. Thanks! Read More
(18)
Rating: 5 stars
01/27/2004
I'm glad I found this recipe!! This is good stuff!! The whole family loves it. It's a wonderful change from the ususal salad. This goes well with most anything. Thanks for posting this Laura! Read More
(10)
Rating: 5 stars
01/16/2007
This salad is very good served over lettuce. I also used Doritos instead of corn chips and it added extra zing! It's very good! Read More
(9)
Advertisement
Rating: 3 stars
04/20/2009
This was just okay....My family didn't really care for it. I don't think that I'll be making this again but thanks for sharing. Read More
(6)
Rating: 4 stars
11/21/2006
Really great! I served with lettuce and sour cream. Definatly add the cilantro. The leftovers were great as a chunky dip. Read More
(4)
Rating: 5 stars
02/24/2006
I added black olives and served on shredded lettuce. My 10 yr old son didn't like the dressing. With the leftovers I added salsa and sour cream - even better!!! Read More
(3)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
08/29/2012
We definitely enjoyed this but it works better as a dip than a salad. If I made again would most likely serve with a scoop shaped corn chip rather than on top of them. Read More
(2)
Rating: 4 stars
03/24/2013
This is a great base but this is the way I tried it the second time around. Drain ranch beans and pour in bowl. Add small grated onion one package taco mix and 3/4 cup catilina dressing. Cover tightly and set in frig overnight. Next day spoon over your favorite salad. add tortia chips and cheese salsa and sour cream or other fav Mexican condiments Read More
Rating: 5 stars
08/06/2014
We make this recipe without the onions use cheese cubes instead of shredded and add small pieces of green bell pepper. It is perfect for a day at the park or camping. Read More