147 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 78
  • 4 star values: 56
  • 3 star values: 11
  • 2 star values: 2
  • 1 star values: 0

I want to thank my Asian Friends at work for bringing some very tasty dishes to our potlucks and Cindy Ly for taking the time to write down the ingredients for me. This dish can be made with either chicken or pork.

Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Heat oil in a wok or large heavy skillet. Add chicken or pork (see Cook's Note), garlic, and oyster sauce, and stir-fry for 10 minutes.

    Advertisement
  • Stir in broccoli, green pepper, carrots, cabbage, celery, bean sprouts, zucchini, and green onions. Season with salt, and stir-fry for 6 to 8 minutes.

  • In a small bowl, mix together water, soy sauce and cornstarch. Stir into vegetables, and cook for 1 to 2 minutes, or until sauce is thickened.

Cook's Note:

You can substitute 1/2 pound boneless pork chops, cut into 1-inch cubes, for the chicken breast.

Nutrition Facts

192 calories; 8 g total fat; 33 mg cholesterol; 1175 mg sodium. 14.7 g carbohydrates; 16.9 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (109)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
07/11/2005
I thought this recipe was absolutely delicious. My husband asked for seconds!! I think the napa cabbage was a great addition. Read More
(22)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 2 stars
04/16/2012
like many other stir-fries I've tried comes out tasteless. I did not add the salt for fear of too much sodium after using regular soy sauce (not mushroom) but I don't think the pinch would've helped. I did add ginger (thankfully) and this was the only flavor that really came through. Read More
(3)
147 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 78
  • 4 star values: 56
  • 3 star values: 11
  • 2 star values: 2
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 4 stars
11/04/2008
I stir-fry all the time and I thought this was delicious but the cooking times a methods needed a little tweeking! I always blanch my veggies for about 4 minutes in boiling water (everything that is raw even the celery and onions) and then run cold water over them as soon as they come out of the water. This makes them nice and crisp-tender. Also the heat should be on almost the hottest setting and preheated well before adding the pork or chicken (I used teriyaki-marinated pork tenderloin sliced thinly). Stir-fry meat for about 3 or 4 minutes just until no longer pink then add garlic (I also added fresh ginger at this point) and oyster sauce and cook for 1-2 minutes before adding the blanched veggies. Cook until everything is heated through then add the water/cornstarch mixture and any canned veggies (I used baby corn and canned bean sprouts) and cook for 1 more minute until sauce is thick. Stir-fry cooks very quickly so have everything ready and set up on your counter to be tossed right in when needed! I served this over rice and it was a big hit! Read More
(398)
Rating: 4 stars
06/24/2011
This recipe is not complex and not difficult to prepare but it sure is good. I had a heavy dish for supper last night so I wanted to take it easy tonight and make something healthier. This was what I needed. I modified this a little using shrimp and the vegetables I had in the crisper: napa cabbage mushrooms green onion orange bell pepper zucchini broccoli and celery. I sautéed the shrimp in sesame oil not vegetable oil removed it from the pan then sautéed the vegetables adding the napa cabbage green onion and garlic at the end. I returned it all to the pan then added the mixture I brought together of chicken broth (rather than water) traditional soy sauce (never heard of mushroom) cornstarch and oyster sauce. When it had thickened slightly just a minute or so I gave it a very light drizzle of toasted sesame oil. Again I wanted to keep this on the light side so while I really preferred this over rice I tried this product called Pasta Slim" it s wheat and gluten free and ready in 1 minute. I have to put in a plug for this stuff because it was good enough to be worth mentioning to those of us watching our carbs and calories. I discovered it in the produce section of my market. It s a precooked spaghetti made of tofu (trust me you wouldn t even know it!) and konjac flour (whatever the heck THAT is). All I know is each serving has just 20 calories and 4g of carbs! Anyway back to the stir fry. This was so good I ate a 2-serving recipe all by myself. Read More
(153)
Rating: 4 stars
04/30/2003
I didn't have all of the veggies available that were called for so I substituted quite a few ingredients. I used about a pound of chicken cut into chunks 3 cloves of garlic and some "red pepper flakes" as suggested by another reviewer. I stirfried this for the 10 minutes. I would not cook the chicken this long next time. For veggies I used broccoli carrotts celery green pepper snow peas onion and sliced mushrooms. I found when stir frying this large amount I needed to add a little extra oil and I added a few tablespoons of water so nothing would stick. I didn't have mushroom soy sauce so I used Kikkoman's light soy sauce. I served this over thin spaghetti and sprinkled extra soy sauce over my serving. This came out very good and my grown son and daughter told me it was a keeper. I will use the correct ingredients next time and see how it comes out. This was great though. Thanks for the recipe. Read More
(83)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
05/11/2004
Enjoyed this a lot! It is such an adaptable dish. I substituted cold slaw mix for the carrots and cabbage and used mushrooms instead of the broccoli and zucchini. Also added several chopped cloves of garlic and some sweet brown onion. Served over cooked linguini noodles with extra soy sauce - Yum! Read More
(30)
Rating: 4 stars
04/09/2012
I stir-fry all the time and I thought this was delicious but the cooking times a methods needed a little tweeking! I always blanch my veggies for about 4 minutes in boiling water (everything that is raw even the celery and onions) and then run cold water over them as soon as they come out of the water. This makes them nice and crisp-tender. Also the heat should be on almost the hottest setting and preheated well before adding the pork or chicken (I used teriyaki-marinated pork tenderloin sliced thinly). Stir-fry meat for about 3 or 4 minutes just until no longer pink then add garlic (I also added fresh ginger at this point) and oyster sauce and cook for 1-2 minutes before adding the blanched veggies. Cook until everything is heated through then add the water/cornstarch mixture and any canned veggies (I used baby corn and canned bean sprouts) and cook for 1 more minute until sauce is thick. Stir-fry cooks very quickly so have everything ready and set up on your counter to be tossed right in when needed! I served this over rice and it was a big hit! Read More
(27)
Rating: 5 stars
07/11/2005
I thought this recipe was absolutely delicious. My husband asked for seconds!! I think the napa cabbage was a great addition. Read More
(22)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
11/02/2006
I tried this recipe a couple of nights ago for dinner but instead of adding the meat I used just with the veggies as I already had my meat planned and was looking to stir fry some veggies as my side dish. This turned out to be excellent I didn't use all the veggies called for as I didn't have everything so improvised with broccoli bean sprouts mushrooms gr onions yellow peppers and celery. Luckily it's very forgiving and will adapt well with what you have in the fridge! The only other thing I cahnged was not using the mushroom soy sauce (did not have and have actually never even looked for it). I used just regular reduced sodium soy and it turned out great. I didn't add the salt either and was glad as I found that this recipe did not need the additional salt. Hubby and I both really enjoyed thanks for sharing! Read More
(20)
Rating: 4 stars
09/11/2003
This turned out really well. I added some red pepper flakes and more vegetables than the recipe called for. I served this over udon noodles. Great way to get a lot of tasty veggies. I didn't have chicken or pork but used turkey tenderloins.. delish Read More
(20)
Rating: 4 stars
10/04/2011
Very easy and delicious! Stir frying vegetables with meat is something that I do quite often. I just use what I had in the refrigerator which was carrots broccoli crowns water chestnuts zucchini mushrooms red onions garlic a medley of bell peppers (red yellow and green) and seasoning. I blanched the broccoli in hot water and set it aside. I quickly sauteed the carrots and zucchini in sesame oil and set that aside as well. I already had leftover rotisserie chicken so I cut it up and sauteed it in a little sesame oil with minced garlic for about 5 minutes. I put back the carrots zucchini then added mushrooms and onions. I drizzled enough of the oyster sauce to taste. I mixed in the soy sauce with cornstarch and poured it in the pot. Lastly I added in the bell peppers. I seasoned with black pepper and Hawaiian sea salt. The vegetables were tender-crisp chicken very tender and flavorful. The mixture of vegetables made for a colorful presentation. We served this tasty stir-fry dish over hot rice. Read More
(16)