39 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 23
  • 4 star values: 11
  • 3 star values: 5
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0

Was expecting a few hungry friends to walk in as I started cooking, but they called and had an emergency. Fortunately nothing bad, but there I was with too much food. Chopped everything up, added mayo, and a generous slurp of hot sauce (the way I like it). Not your run-of-the-mill chicken salad. Good way to finish up those leftovers! I put the onion slices and mushrooms in a grill basket so they could be turned without falling apart as they cooked. Hope you like it!

Karen
Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Place chicken breast halves in a large resealable plastic bag with lemon juice, olive oil, and lemon pepper. Shake to coat, and marinate in the refrigerator for at least 1 hour.

    Advertisement
  • Preheat a grill for high heat.

  • Lightly oil the grill grate. Place the Vidalia onions and mushrooms on the grill, and cook until lightly charred on both sides; set aside. Place chicken onto the grill, and discard marinade. Cook for 15 minutes, turning once, or until juices run clear. Remove from heat, cool, and chop.

  • In a large bowl, thoroughly mix the onions, mushrooms, chicken, and mayonnaise. Season with hot sauce, salt, and pepper. Cover, and refrigerate until serving.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

426 calories; 35.6 g total fat; 59 mg cholesterol; 405 mg sodium. 9.3 g carbohydrates; 18 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (31)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
01/25/2004
AWESOME!!! added lots of hot sauce it was delicious!! Ate it with some avacado slices. Wonderful!! Read More
(40)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
01/28/2009
Maybe I didn't grill the onions enough because the onions were overpowering in this. It was still good and I will re-make but with half the onion. Also the recipe doesn't mention anything about chopping up the onions. Surely you aren't meant to leave huge vidalia rings in the salad. Read More
(20)
39 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 23
  • 4 star values: 11
  • 3 star values: 5
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 4 stars
01/25/2004
This was pretty good if you don't mind something a little different. This won't take the place of traditional chicken salad in our house. I really debated between the 3 or 4 stars but in the end I really did like it just don't think I'll be making it when I'm wanting a chicken salad sandwich. My husband also liked it but asked that I please make my usual chicken salad next time. I used a little less onion than called for but that is personal preference as I don't care for dishes with a strong onion taste. The grilled onion was actually very good in this and gave it a slight sweet taste and crunch. Overall a mixed review. While we both acually enjoyed it it won't be an everyday thing for us. Maybe next time I'm in the mood for "something different". Read More
(43)
Rating: 4 stars
01/25/2004
Easy to fix and wonderful to eat. I added apples and grapes to the mix. You will enjoy it Read More
(40)
Rating: 5 stars
01/25/2004
AWESOME!!! added lots of hot sauce it was delicious!! Ate it with some avacado slices. Wonderful!! Read More
(40)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
01/25/2004
I DID NOT GRILL MY CHICKEN. I USED LEFTOVER CHICKEN..ADDED A SPLASH OF LEMON JUICE A BIT OF FAT FREE ITALIAN DRESSING. I USED MY GEORGE FOREMAN TO GRILL THE MUSHROOMS AND ONIONS. OVERALL I THINK IT TURNED OUT PRETTY GOOD. Read More
(28)
Rating: 4 stars
01/25/2004
Very good I wanted to try this recipe so bad I grilled out in 5 degree weather. It was worth it. Thank you Tracie Read More
(27)
Rating: 5 stars
01/25/2004
mmm good I threw in some blueberries and goat cheese for a special little kick. Read More
(27)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
01/10/2011
My Husband and I do not grill in the winter. We only had three chicken breasts. The chicken cooked nicely in a cast iron skillet and then we set it aside to brown the vegetables (in the skillet)...both were cooked in olive oil and we drained well before putting it in with the mayonnaise mixture. The onion used was "Mayan Sweets" purchased at Walmart. Neither of us can have soy so we used a canola-based mayo. Tabasco was used for the hot sauce. The mixture had a very nice color. We served this salad between toasted English muffins which made for a great taste....I would recommend chopping tiny if done this way (messy). If chopped small one might be able to do an open-faced sandwich on English muffins. The amount of sauce was perfect-not always easy to get by following the recipe for a chicken tuna etc. salad. It tasted great served a little warm-we were hungry and couldn't wait to eat it. I would serve this to guests (with or without some sort of bread) and that is saying a lot about my confidence in this dish as many of our guests have very conservative palates. We usually score dishes out of 10...this got a 9. Read More
(26)
Rating: 4 stars
01/25/2004
I had to cook this indoors under the broiler. It is wonderful. Read More
(22)
Rating: 5 stars
07/06/2010
The whole family loved it! Easy to make and yummy! Read More
(21)