This pate makes a delicious spread!! Serve with assorted crackers or toasted, thinly sliced bread.

Advertisement

Ingredients

8
Original recipe yields 8 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Melt butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Stir in garlic, onion and chicken livers. Reduce heat to low, and simmer approximately 10 minutes, until chicken livers are tender and no longer pink.

    Advertisement
  • Place chicken liver mixture in a blender with dry sherry, cream cheese, hot sauce, salt and pepper. Blend until smooth. Transfer to a medium bowl, cover and chill in the refrigerator approximately 2 hours before serving.

Nutrition Facts

66 calories; 5.4 g total fat; 63 mg cholesterol; 70 mg sodium. 1.1 g carbohydrates; 3.2 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (57)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
12/21/2003
This is a very simple yet tasty recipe. Preparation was quick and the results were very satisfying. The sherry adds a subtle sweetness to the pate. Read More
(65)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
05/06/2013
This is the first time I've tried liver. Since the other reviews are so positive I assume that I must just hate liver because that was the most disgusting thing I've ever put in my mouth. But I'm glad that it must have been a good recipe so I know it was the liver itself. Read More
(2)
70 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 47
  • 4 star values: 14
  • 3 star values: 6
  • 2 star values: 2
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 3 stars
06/12/2007
First of all let me say that the flavor of this mixture was fantastic. However there were too many variables left to chance. Yes well all have different "to taste" measurements but please give a median amount as a starting point; three "to taste" ingredients is too many. I followed the directions converting the ingredients to match 1 lb of chicken livers. There's no pretty way of saying that what I ended up with was a liver shake or a very runny liver mousse. It was unappetizing to the extreme in appearance and still has not set up after six hours in the refrigerator. Because the flavors are so fabulous I may yet try to salvage this by using some unflavored gelatin. Just a word to the wise: even tho the recipe does not say to do so DRAIN your livers after simmering and add liquid as needed only. Next time I will also use a food processor or a hand-grinder rather than a blender for more control of the texture. Flavor -- five-star appearance -- BLECHH. Read More
(175)
Rating: 4 stars
02/29/2008
I quadrupled this to use a pound of livers added some extra onion and garlic (well 7 cloves sliced) while sauteing the livers and used a fraction of the sherry called for and it was amazing. I've tried it with the amount of sherry suggested but that seemed to overpower everything else. As for draining the livers I didn't - a fair bit of that liquid is melted butter which sets up nicely when chilled. The blender does seem to liquefy ingredients easier than my food processor does. I'd suggest letting the livers cool considerably before mashing then add that liquid as seems called for. Totally delicious when served on garlic toast rounds. Read More
(80)
Rating: 5 stars
12/21/2003
This is a very simple yet tasty recipe. Preparation was quick and the results were very satisfying. The sherry adds a subtle sweetness to the pate. Read More
(65)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
12/22/2003
Left the remainder at a party and the hosts had it for breakfast the next day. I tripled the other amounts but used a little over a whole lb of livers. It was great for a party of 24. Read More
(33)
Rating: 5 stars
11/10/2013
Excellent base recipe. My first try at homemade pate and it came out beautifully. I tweaked a tad bit(eat pate often from gourmet markets in hood) -- I added a teaspoon of Worchester sauce (tang was missing) and used plenty (8-10 grinds) of fresh ground pepper to get the specks of black let liver cool off about 10 minutes in freezer before blending so mixture does not liquefy when cream cheese is added and finally when blending in cream cheese also blend in an extra pat of butter (French way)that makes it very creamy and gives more form to the cooled product. Enjoy! Read More
(22)
Rating: 3 stars
01/10/2007
I think this recipe is good but its not great. It seems to be missing 'something'. I mean no disrespect to the author however it does need a little fine tuning. Read More
(17)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
11/10/2010
My Hat off to Miss Amy! Very Good Results.. (Used Food Processer for Onion & Garlic...and again for mixing in final ingr. & Cream Cheese... Tripled recipe. PreBoiled Livers with Chicken Boulion added (1/2 cooked/Pink in middle) Cut up in pieces & added to Sauting Onions & Garlic 1 TBSP LESS Butter Substituted with 2 TBSP Hot Bacon Grease with garlic & Onion...mixed in Sherry Salt Pepper & Hot Sauce while mashing livers and stirring frequently for about 6 minutes on med heat.. 1 1/2 hours later chilled...SLAMMIN!! Choose Crackers Wisely! Read More
(16)
Rating: 5 stars
11/10/2003
very good if you like pate Read More
(15)
Rating: 5 stars
11/15/2006
I love this. As did all adults at our Party. The kids werent crazy about it but the adults raved..The only thing I did differently was I used grape juice instead of sherry as I hardly ever have alcohol on hand...Super thanks.. Read More
(12)