27 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 20
  • 4 star values: 4
  • 1 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 3 star values: 1

This chowder is so easy to make and everyone just loves it. The garnishes are what really make it. Try chopped tomatoes, shredded Jack cheese, cubed avocado, parsley, tortilla chips, salsa, Cheddar cheese -- the choice is up to you. Enjoy!

BUSHY
Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • In a large saucepan over medium heat, melt butter. Cook celery, onion and carrot in butter until onion begins to soften. Stir in garlic, oregano, salt and pepper and cook 2 minutes more. Stir in corn, chicken broth, cooked chicken and chile pepper and let simmer until heated through. Stir in milk and heat gently just before serving.

    Advertisement

Nutrition Facts

287 calories; 13.2 g total fat; 54 mg cholesterol; 122 mg sodium. 29.7 g carbohydrates; 16.2 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (23)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
02/05/2005
this is an excellent recipe. the first time i made it i pretty much followed the recipe but the second time i; added 1 t cumin 1/4 t chipote powder used no fat 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk and made a slurry of flour and water to thicken. it made a great recipe even better - spicier and thicker.
(19)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
07/09/2006
This is the first soup I ever made from this site where no one wanted the leftovers - it wasn't spicy at all hardly any taste at all except for the corn - it was like eating a bowl of corn (too much) in chicken broth diluted with milk.
(2)
27 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 20
  • 4 star values: 4
  • 1 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 3 star values: 1
Rating: 5 stars
02/05/2005
this is an excellent recipe. the first time i made it i pretty much followed the recipe but the second time i; added 1 t cumin 1/4 t chipote powder used no fat 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk and made a slurry of flour and water to thicken. it made a great recipe even better - spicier and thicker.
(19)
Rating: 4 stars
04/06/2007
I made this the night before and the flavor definitely improved after sitting overnight...I used one can of cream corn and a can of whole kernel corn. I added an extra carrot and diced up one medium sized potato. In addition I doubled the garlic and used about one and a half cups of milk. I added red pepper flakes cayenne pepper and some hot sauce (since I left out the green chile pepper). Okay recipe easy to put together...probably won't make again.
(11)
Rating: 5 stars
01/30/2014
This is really simple and really good... my definition of a 5 star recipe. There was another Mexican Corn Chowder recipe on this website that had a lot more reviews but it used half & half and 2 cups of cheese so I chose this one instead because it's ingredients were healthier. I made a few changes: 1. omitted the celery 2. added about 1/4 cup green pepper when I sauteed the onions and carrots 3. used fresh oregano instead of dried b/c I had it on hand 4. added one can of creamed corn and used frozen corn kernels to make up the difference to get to the 3 1/2 cups 5. only used one cup of milk 6.I didn't have a chile pepper on hand so I added some hot sauce and red pepper flakes to taste. Overall this was a really great recipe. I laid out shredded cheese diced red onion tomatoes and cilantro as toppers and served with tortilla chips. I served it with a baked potato and it made the perfect dinner. I will definitely make this again. Update: I've made this again without the creamed corn alteration and I don't recommend that. The creamed corn helps thicken the soup. Otherwise take the other advice and use some flour to thicken. Overall still versatile enough to doctor up to your preferences.
(10)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
07/27/2005
This was really good but instead of fresh corn I did one can of creamed corn and one drained can of kernel corn. I used veggie broth instead of chicken and celery flakes instead of regular celery because that's what I had. I added some green pepper and did a full 6 oz. can of green chiles. I added a touch more oregano and some chili powder and cayenne pepper. However I only needed 1 cup of milk. I don't know if it was because I used the creamed corn but 1 cup of milk was definitely enough. Overall this was tasty and I'm sure I will make it again. Went together quickly.
(6)
Rating: 5 stars
10/17/2003
this is SO good! it works with 1/2 the butter. try adding 1/2 a habanero for spice and top with your own crumbled fried tortillas and lots of cilantro. YUM! (any advice on how to make it thicker?)
(4)
Rating: 5 stars
03/27/2007
This is a really great way to use leftover chicken! It's not too hot so if you like it hot add some hot sauce or cayenne. I used half and half the second time intsead of milk because I had it lying around... and I would advise against doing that. Stick with milk. Delicious!!!
(4)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
01/20/2007
My family absolutely loved this recipe. I took other people's advice and used 1 can whole corn kernels and 1 can creamed corn. I also used only 1 cup of milk and traded jalapeno peppers in for the green chile peppers. I can't wait to make this again.
(3)
Rating: 5 stars
06/01/2012
I really enjoyed this chowder. A good cold weather rib sticking dish. I added flour to the sauteed veggies once they were softened and used homemade chicken stock to thicken the soup a bit. I forgot to add the milk. Still Yummy:) This went well with my grown up grilled cheese. Thankx Bushy.
(3)
Rating: 2 stars
04/01/2010
This one didn't work for me. It was bland and the only thing that made it Mexican were the additions for serving.
(2)