96 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 73
  • 4 star values: 19
  • 3 star values: 4
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0

This is a Korean-style sweet and spicy sauce. It is very good on baked or grilled chicken.

Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil.

    Advertisement
  • Combine chicken legs, olive oil, thyme, garlic powder, paprika, salt, and pepper in a large bowl. Mix chicken legs until coated and arrange on the baking sheet.

  • Bake in the preheated oven until an instant-read thermometer inserted near the bone reads 165 degrees F (74 degrees C), 45 to 50 minutes.

  • Combine honey, butter, sriracha sauce, and soy sauce in a saucepan over medium-low heat; cook and stir until butter is melted and sauce is smooth, about 5 minutes.

  • Pour sauce into a large bowl. Transfer chicken from the baking sheet to the bowl using tongs; toss until coated with sauce.

Cook's Note:

This isn't quite a Paleo dish because of the sriracha, and it isn't 100% low carb because of the honey, so I have labeled it primal since it's somewhere in between.

Nutrition Facts

489 calories; 28.3 g total fat; 166 mg cholesterol; 1439 mg sodium. 15.9 g carbohydrates; 42 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (72)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
02/01/2017
Made this exactly as recipe was written. It is easy and delicious that will have you craving more in the middle of the night. Double the recipe so you have some in your fridge for that midnight snack! Made white rice with it the sauce on the rice is ridiculously good! Read More
(7)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
05/27/2017
Made this recipe as written with the exception of increasing the Sriracha since we love our food spicy! I just think the thyme overpowered the chicken. I'll make this again but with maybe 1/2 tsp of Thyme. Otherwise the flavors were great. Read More
(1)
96 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 73
  • 4 star values: 19
  • 3 star values: 4
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 4 stars
05/22/2017
Loved this recipe. I used chicken thighs instead of legs. Also added a little more organic honey. Poured the "glaze" on and put chicken back in the oven for about 15 more minutes to let it bake in. Turned out delish!! Read More
(19)
Rating: 5 stars
02/01/2017
Made this exactly as recipe was written. It is easy and delicious that will have you craving more in the middle of the night. Double the recipe so you have some in your fridge for that midnight snack! Made white rice with it the sauce on the rice is ridiculously good! Read More
(7)
Rating: 5 stars
07/10/2017
I left the skin on and grilled the chicken legs. My son loved the sauce and said it had a bite and was sweet but wasn't too spicy. He wants it on wings the next time I get wings. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. Read More
(4)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
03/09/2017
My 1960 'meat and potatoes' husband said "mmnn" at least 4 times while he was eating these Korean style chicken legs....need I say more??. No substitutes......delicious! Carole VH Read More
(3)
Rating: 4 stars
01/22/2017
Made as written and this turned out pretty good. I think the only change I would have liked was more Sriracha to balance out the honey. I used only the oven but next time I think I will toss them on the grill for a bit after the sauce has been added. Good recipe! Read More
(3)
Rating: 5 stars
04/15/2017
This is sure to be a new family favorite. I made this tonight and followed the directions except that I didn't have any thyme so I used a little oregano and poultry seasoning instead. Fantastic! Read More
(3)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
12/04/2017
Followed this recipe to a tee. I cooked the chicken in a cast iron frying pan and it caramelized the skin super well. The sauce really kicks this chicken into gear. I paired it with Asparagus wrapped in Prosciutto and a green Salad. Next time I ll make some rice to go with it. Read More
(3)
Rating: 4 stars
01/27/2018
I made it mostly following the recipe but I used only 1 TB. of Sriracha but next time I'll definitely use two! Also I baked it for 30 minutes then tossed it in the sauce before returning it to the oven for 20 minutes more. Delicious! Read More
(2)
Rating: 5 stars
04/02/2018
That sauce...wow! Only thing I would do different is make a double batch of the sauce so I could marinate the chicken overnight with some of it so you get some of that flavor throughout the meat. Even my son who normally doesn't care for chicken liked it! Read More
(2)