60 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 52
  • 4 star values: 7
  • 3 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0

Tasty healthy meal in under 1 hour.

Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Bring chicken broth and quinoa to a boil in a saucepan. Reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer until quinoa is tender and broth is absorbed, 15 to 20 minutes.

    Advertisement
  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C).

  • Spread sweet potato and red onion onto a baking sheet. Drizzle 1 tablespoon olive oil over mixture and season with salt and pepper; toss to coat.

  • Bake in the preheated oven until sweet potatoes are tender, 20 to 25 minutes.

  • Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a skillet over medium heat; cook and stir 2 cloves garlic and ginger until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add chicken and cook until no longer pink in the center and the juices run clear, about 6 minutes per side. An instant-read thermometer inserted into the center should read at least 165 degrees F (74 degrees C). Cut chicken into 1-inch pieces.

  • Whisk 1 garlic clove, lime juice, peanut butter, soy sauce, and honey together in a bowl. Whisk 1 tablespoon olive oil and sesame oil into mixture until dressing is smooth.

  • Divide quinoa among bowls; top with chicken, sweet potato mixture, spinach, and avocado. Sprinkle cilantro and sesame seeds over the top and drizzle dressing over each bowl.

Nutrition Facts

799 calories; 36 g total fat; 69 mg cholesterol; 1376 mg sodium. 81.9 g carbohydrates; 39.8 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (43)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
01/19/2017
This is one awesome Buddha Bowl! I actually didn't know what to expect with it but loved everything about it! So many favorite parts -- the quinoa was delicious and perfectly cooked. The chicken is so flavorful. LOVE the sweet potato and onion...oh my goodness so wonderful. And the sauce -- perfect. I liked it best when I didn't mix the lime juice in. DELICIOUS and 5 star. Read More
(5)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
07/16/2018
made it. it was good but the nutritional info doesn't scream healthy to me... Read More
(3)
60 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 52
  • 4 star values: 7
  • 3 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
01/19/2017
This is one awesome Buddha Bowl! I actually didn't know what to expect with it but loved everything about it! So many favorite parts -- the quinoa was delicious and perfectly cooked. The chicken is so flavorful. LOVE the sweet potato and onion...oh my goodness so wonderful. And the sauce -- perfect. I liked it best when I didn't mix the lime juice in. DELICIOUS and 5 star. Read More
(5)
Rating: 5 stars
02/21/2017
This Buddha bowl is wonderful! I made it exactly as written except I didn't have an avocado but the flavors balance perfectly together. I made sure to use fresh lime juice because the concentrate can get overpowering in a dish like this. If you're looking to try making your first Buddha bowl this one is super simple and delicious! Read More
(4)
Rating: 3 stars
07/16/2018
made it. it was good but the nutritional info doesn't scream healthy to me... Read More
(3)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
01/29/2017
Wow delicious! I left out the ginger and the lime to make it less scary for two 9 yr olds everyone loved it. Read More
(3)
Rating: 5 stars
05/01/2018
I love this recipe. I make ahead for the week and never get sick of it! Read More
(2)
Rating: 4 stars
02/06/2017
I liked this recipe. It was easy and took us less than an hour. I added sriracha to the sauce to give it a more balanced flavor. This bowl would really be good with any sauce you'd like. Read More
(2)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2018
Just made this tonight for dinner for my large family and EVERYONE loved it! One son even proclaimed "it was so pretty Mom I should have taken a picture of it before I ate it!" Simply delicious and intriguing blend of flavors. I didn't have fresh spinach so substituted romaine and sliced baby cucumbers with excellent results. Great healthy week-night dinner that is a pleasure to serve. I'll surely add this to my fave recipes! Read More
(2)
Rating: 5 stars
06/07/2018
This was excellent! I was a little skeptical with the sweet potatoes and chicken but I was blown away how well all of these flavors worked together and brought about a flavorful and healthy meal. Not only will we make this again but I will be on the search for more clean recipes like this one. Read More
(1)
Rating: 5 stars
09/11/2017
I've made this several times to rave reviews! I have adjusted the peanut sauce...less lime juice I think. But it is a real winner with men and women for lunch or dinner. Love it! Read More
(1)