11 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 10
  • 4 star values: 1
  • 3 star values: 0
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0

This is my version of a spicy low-carb chicken stew I created while starting a flat belly cleanse. I don't measure so the measurements are approximate - adjust to your taste! It just turned out so good I had to share!

Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Heat oil in a large pot over medium heat. Cook and stir chicken until juices start to run clear, about 4 minutes. Add zucchini, celery, onion, and garlic; cook and stir until onion is translucent, about 5 minutes.

    Advertisement
  • Stir diced tomatoes, chicken broth, sofrito, Cajun seasoning, and red pepper flakes into the pot. Bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer soup until flavors blend together, 10 to 15 minutes.

Nutrition Facts

171 calories; 7.5 g total fat; 30 mg cholesterol; 1315 mg sodium. 12.2 g carbohydrates; 15.1 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (6)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
07/14/2017
I make my own broth and so I added 3 1/2 cups rather than what was in the recipe also I didn't add the sofrito or red pepper flakes and it still came out delicious. Read More
(1)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 4 stars
11/23/2016
Delicious... The tomatoes with green chilies brand I use tends to be pretty spicy so I left out the red pepper flakes and it was prefect. Non low carbers should make this and serve over rice or even a short pasta.. really easy too Read More
(4)
11 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 10
  • 4 star values: 1
  • 3 star values: 0
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 4 stars
11/23/2016
Delicious... The tomatoes with green chilies brand I use tends to be pretty spicy so I left out the red pepper flakes and it was prefect. Non low carbers should make this and serve over rice or even a short pasta.. really easy too Read More
(4)
Rating: 5 stars
07/14/2017
I make my own broth and so I added 3 1/2 cups rather than what was in the recipe also I didn't add the sofrito or red pepper flakes and it still came out delicious. Read More
(1)
Rating: 5 stars
09/17/2017
I found this recipe after curiosity got the best of me. I thought surely there can't be a chicken stew right!?! There is and I must say that It's really delicious. I have made it twice and I have found that this recipe can suffer if one does not use the freshest ingredients possible the flavor really awakens with fresh spices. The recipe is a keeper. Read More
(1)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
12/01/2018
I made this a few times and I have found it exceptional! Sometimes instead of one medium size zucchini I use two small ones and instead of sofrito I use Pace salsa I may cut up a pepper or two tonight for a change since I don't eat celery ( personal taste ). I love making this dish! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/22/2018
Excellent! Made this as more of a soup than a stew. Doubled everything except the cajun seasoning and red pepper flakes and broth. Used 6 cups chicken broth. Added one carrot. Added corn kernels cut of two ears of corn. Added 1/3 cup brown rice (uncooked). Used a lot less cajun seasoning and red pepper flakes. Added both to taste. We like spicy food but this would have been way to spicy with the amounts as written. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
03/30/2019
Very good. A little spicy so I think next time I will use the mild can of green chilis. Read More
Advertisement