141 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 35
  • 4 star values: 47
  • 3 star values: 17
  • 2 star values: 18
  • 1 star values: 24

A combination of excellent flavors which blend into a wonderful, rich sauce for your chicken! Serve with a simple green salad and focaccia for a feast!

Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • In a slow cooker, combine the chicken, bacon bits, olives, tomatoes, mushrooms, gravy mix, wine, mustard, and vinegar. Mix together.

    Advertisement
  • Cover slow cooker, and cook on Low setting for 6 to 8 hours.

Partner Tip

Try using a Reynolds® slow cooker liner in your slow cooker for easier cleanup.

Nutrition Facts

198 calories; 4.7 g total fat; 62 mg cholesterol; 946 mg sodium. 10.1 g carbohydrates; 24.5 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (112)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
09/27/2003
Excellent just as the original recipe is written. You can substitute skinless/boneless chicken thighs for chicken breast I have found this to be (maybe) even better and also more economical. Either way it is a very nice rich tasting recipe. Read More
(25)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
09/26/2003
If you like pickled things you will like this recipe. As for me and my family... yuck! And yes I followed the recipe exactly. I love things cooked in wine especially red wine but I think the vinegar and green olives were over the top for me. I shall try some other recipes. Read More
(23)
141 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 35
  • 4 star values: 47
  • 3 star values: 17
  • 2 star values: 18
  • 1 star values: 24
Rating: 4 stars
09/27/2003
I was just wondering if someone changes the recipe by REMOVING four of the ingredients and then adding an ingredient that is NOT on the recipe how can there be a bad rating? THAT was not the recipe listed. Maybe people would like it if they followed the recipe. I do not know the person who created this recipe I was just searching for one. And SO many times I see bad reviews on the recipe but it had been 'adjusted'. They just gave their OWN cooking a bad review right? (Opening a can of worms Hmmm?) Sorry just my 2 cents Read More
(362)
Rating: 4 stars
10/18/2003
A very good recipe. I dropped the olives and exchanged the dry chicken gravy mix for the same amount of Lipton Cup-A-Soup Cream of Chicken instant soup mix same quantity. The main reason was because all of the gravy mixes had MSG and I refuse to add that to my food. Secondarily it ended up giving it a better flavor and a slightly thicker sauce. Read More
(63)
Rating: 3 stars
09/27/2003
not a bad recipe....may tend to be salty because of the gravy mix and olives...try his: #1 rinse off the olives before adding and #2 add a cut potato to the crock the potato absorbs some of the saltiness (this is a GREAT tip for all sauces that have ended up too salty)... Read More
(57)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
10/25/2003
We loved this recipe. How can anyone change 3-4 ingredients and then rate the recipe. Get real folks make the recipe as listed THEN rate it. Read More
(46)
Rating: 4 stars
09/27/2003
I made a few changes to this recipe and I was so happy with the results the most important one was thickening the gravy which I thought was too thin by adding cornstarch and water and turning the crock pot on high for a few minutes after the dish was cooked. I used whole chicken breasts instead of cut into strips and they came out so tender. Also nixed the bacon bits. It was VERY delicious healthy and hearty. I used a little less vinegar than the recipe called for and chose a quality balsamic vinegar. Served over rice magnifique! Read More
(26)
Rating: 5 stars
09/27/2003
Excellent just as the original recipe is written. You can substitute skinless/boneless chicken thighs for chicken breast I have found this to be (maybe) even better and also more economical. Either way it is a very nice rich tasting recipe. Read More
(25)
Advertisement
Rating: 1 stars
09/26/2003
If you like pickled things you will like this recipe. As for me and my family... yuck! And yes I followed the recipe exactly. I love things cooked in wine especially red wine but I think the vinegar and green olives were over the top for me. I shall try some other recipes. Read More
(23)
Rating: 3 stars
01/23/2003
My husband and I didn't care for this recipe. Cooking time is WAY TOO LONG. I think 2-3 hours would be plenty. There was also too much vinegar and my husband did not like the olives. I would cut vinegar in half and then add 1 T sugar to cut the tartness of the tomatoes. I won't be making this again. Read More
(23)
Rating: 1 stars
01/10/2006
We Love Green Olives however this is the first & Last time I'll slow cook them. Why do people change so many things in the recipe & then rate the recipe that they used? I made this recipe exact except for less cooking time. Chicken was very tender but we could not handle the overbearing olive flavor. Read More
(18)