Orange marmalade is the key ingredient in a simple sauce with broth, lemon juice, flour and pepper added. Chicken breasts are lightly browned, then simmered in the sauce. Serve over hot cooked rice and sprinkle with fresh parsley, if desired.

sal
Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Saute chicken in a large skillet until lightly browned, about 7 to 10 minutes. Remove from skillet and set aside.

    Advertisement
  • In a medium bowl combine the flour, broth, juice, marmalade and pepper. Mix together. Heat mixture in a medium saucepan over medium low heat, stirring constantly, until bubbly. Add chicken and cook over low heat for 4 minutes.

Nutrition Facts

237 calories; 1.5 g total fat; 68 mg cholesterol; 97 mg sodium. 27.8 g carbohydrates; 27.9 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (124)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
05/24/2005
Oh my GOD!! This was awesome - I did however make a few changes. Instead of broth and flour I used a can of "cream of chicken" soup. I used red pepper flakes instead of regular black pepper and I added a bit of whole garlic(minced) and soy sauce. I also used apricot preserves as well as orange marmalade. It was better then Panda Express!! Read More
(112)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
04/04/2003
I'm going to be honest this was horrible. I didn't even serve it. I had the chicken sauteed and the sauce simmering and it smelled awful I was ready to add the chicken but decided to give the sauce a taste first I'm sure glad I did It was the worst. I thought it was maybe just me so I called my husband over and made him try it. After that it went straight down the drain and I made the chicken into a different recipie. I love marmelade so that was not the problem. It was the combination of all of the flavors they just did not go together I thought. Read More
(71)
161 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 54
  • 4 star values: 37
  • 3 star values: 26
  • 2 star values: 19
  • 1 star values: 25
Rating: 5 stars
05/24/2005
Oh my GOD!! This was awesome - I did however make a few changes. Instead of broth and flour I used a can of "cream of chicken" soup. I used red pepper flakes instead of regular black pepper and I added a bit of whole garlic(minced) and soy sauce. I also used apricot preserves as well as orange marmalade. It was better then Panda Express!! Read More
(112)
Rating: 1 stars
04/04/2003
I'm going to be honest this was horrible. I didn't even serve it. I had the chicken sauteed and the sauce simmering and it smelled awful I was ready to add the chicken but decided to give the sauce a taste first I'm sure glad I did It was the worst. I thought it was maybe just me so I called my husband over and made him try it. After that it went straight down the drain and I made the chicken into a different recipie. I love marmelade so that was not the problem. It was the combination of all of the flavors they just did not go together I thought. Read More
(71)
Rating: 5 stars
09/10/2005
This recipe is fabulous! I've made it for friends on many occasions and I've never had a dissatisfied customer. When I make it I add 1/4 cup of soy sauce to tame the sweetness/orange flavor. I also use two skillets and cook the chicken and sauce simultaneously. Oh and to the geniuses who complained about the taste of orange peel how about you STRAIN THE SAUCE before serving it? I always look forward to cooking this dish! Read More
(61)
Advertisement
Rating: 3 stars
01/06/2004
It is super easy and fast but way too sweet for our liking. We added dashes of salt chopped green and red bell peppers and some minced garlic just to make it less sweet. I would suggest reducing the maralade and/or added some soy sauce or something to reduce the sweetness. Read More
(31)
Rating: 4 stars
01/06/2004
I made this recipe for my family tonight. I was expecting it to turn out the way it looks in Chinese resturaunts. Now don't be discouraged to make this recipe just because it looks unpleasant. The taste was very yummy and I would make it again. I only added a pinch of pepper because it is not my favorite taste. I added a little more Lemon Juice that the recipe called for. There was a lot of sauce but when served over rice it is just right!! Read More
(23)
Rating: 2 stars
01/28/2003
This was very easy and fast. I did not like the taste of the marmalade with chicken. I won't make this again. Read More
(21)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
01/06/2004
I served this dish to company and got rave reviews. I took advice of other reviews and added green and red bell peppers as well as a little extra lemon juice. We didn't find this dish very sweet at all. The difference in sweetness may be due to the type of marmalade that is used. We found the dish refreshingly tart. Thank you for sharing! Read More
(19)
Rating: 5 stars
08/31/2010
Thanks for such an easy recipe!! It was great! The second time I made it I reduced the marmalade to 1/2 cup and added 1/4 cup soy sauce. I also cut the chicken up into bite size pieces battered and fried them before adding them back to the sauce. Thank you!! Read More
(19)
Rating: 4 stars
07/13/2005
OK--so I stole this tip from Rachael Ray... it occurred to me that the complaints could be because the flour didn't have a chance to cook. I sprinkled the flour over the chicken drippings and let it rest for a minute then stirred in the chicken stock. After it thickened a bit I stirred in the marmalade and lemon juice. It turned out to be pretty tasty! Read More
(17)