392 Ratings
  • 5 Rating Star 238
  • 4 Rating Star 124
  • 3 Rating Star 20
  • 1 Rating Star 7
  • 2 Rating Star 3

If you love good, old fashioned mashed potatoes this is the perfect recipe. Simple and delicious.

prep:
15 mins
cook:
20 mins
total:
35 mins
Servings:
4
Max Servings:
4
Advertisement

Ingredients

Directions

  • Bring a pot of salted water to a boil. Add potatoes and cook until tender but still firm, about 15 minutes; drain.

  • In a small saucepan heat butter and milk over low heat until butter is melted. Using a potato masher or electric beater, slowly blend milk mixture into potatoes until smooth and creamy. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Nutrition Facts

257.06 calories; 5.57 g protein; 43.73 g carbohydrates; 3.68 g dietary-fiber; 4.6 g sugars; 7.16 g fat; 4.47 g saturated-fat; 20.15 mg cholesterol; 298.85 IU vitamin-a-iu; 4.05 mg niacin-equivalents; 0.57 mg vitamin-b6; 15.24 mg vitamin-c; 21.65 mcg folate; 89.41 mg calcium; 0.65 mg iron; 47.7 mg magnesium; 763.14 mg potassium; 76.12 mg sodium; 0.22 mg thiamin; 64.48 calories-from-fat; 66 percent-of-calories-from-carbs; 24 percent-of-calories-from-fat; 8 percent-of-calories-from-protein; 15 percent-of-calories-from-sat-fat


Reviews (268)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Syble
12/03/2011
I have been making mashed potatoes like this for over 50 years...and it's the way MY mother made them. For this recipe to be a success you have to know a little about potatoes. Notice the recipe called for BAKING potatoes. Red ones will be gummy. Yukon Golds make GOOD mashed potatoes. Start them off in COLD water so everything will reach boiling at the same time. When they are tender drain them in a colandar and let them STEAM. The more steam is gone the more the potatoes will absorb the milk. (No problem with 'soupy' potatoes here...you even MAY have to add more milk than the recipe calls for. While the potatoes are steaming heat the butter and milk in the same pot you cooked the potatoes in. (Why wash another pan?) Add the steamed potatoes and mash and season. (I've had my share of 'gummy' and 'soupy' mashed potatoe in my time:) Oh! And if this is for a special occasion...use cream instead of milk. Over the top!!!
(613)

Most helpful critical review

Anonymous
12/02/2011
There isn't enough butter in these mashed potatoes you should have a least a stick of butter. I make mashed potatoes all the time and everyone just loves my potatoes.
(62)
392 Ratings
  • 5 Rating Star 238
  • 4 Rating Star 124
  • 3 Rating Star 20
  • 1 Rating Star 7
  • 2 Rating Star 3
Navy_Mommy
12/12/2003
Perfect mashed potatoes. Heating the milk and butter is a must I didn't realize what a difference it would make my potatoes were not gummy and they stayed hot longer.
(746)
Syble
12/03/2011
I have been making mashed potatoes like this for over 50 years...and it's the way MY mother made them. For this recipe to be a success you have to know a little about potatoes. Notice the recipe called for BAKING potatoes. Red ones will be gummy. Yukon Golds make GOOD mashed potatoes. Start them off in COLD water so everything will reach boiling at the same time. When they are tender drain them in a colandar and let them STEAM. The more steam is gone the more the potatoes will absorb the milk. (No problem with 'soupy' potatoes here...you even MAY have to add more milk than the recipe calls for. While the potatoes are steaming heat the butter and milk in the same pot you cooked the potatoes in. (Why wash another pan?) Add the steamed potatoes and mash and season. (I've had my share of 'gummy' and 'soupy' mashed potatoe in my time:) Oh! And if this is for a special occasion...use cream instead of milk. Over the top!!!
(613)
Jillian
11/12/2010
Great recipe for "good old fashioned" mashed potatoes! It's straight forward and just plain delicious. The perfect mashed potato for your favorite gravy! I always heat up my milk in the microwave and add it to the potatoes (sometimes use half n half to make them creamier). You just can't go wrong with this classic recipe for comfort food!
(537)
ChefNan
01/06/2006
Take about 8 cloves of raw garlic and throw them into the water with the potatos and let them cook together. They will be soft and mash easily. TO DIE FOR
(507)
AQUARINIUS
02/06/2003
This recipe is not bad but I added all the milk in and the mash potato became too runny (like soup). I'll say not to add all the milk this recipe suggested. Just add a little milk a time until u think it's the texture u want and that's it. Then maybe u'll love it. -.
(96)
Kristin
02/27/2007
Great basic recipe. If you're watching your calories etc try substituting the potatoes starchy cooking water for most of the milk. After that only a quick splash of milk is needed.
(79)
Esmee Williams
11/18/2002
I have been looking for a recipe for good old fashioned mashed potatoes like mom used to make. This is it. Thanks!
(64)
Anonymous
12/02/2011
There isn't enough butter in these mashed potatoes you should have a least a stick of butter. I make mashed potatoes all the time and everyone just loves my potatoes.
(62)
CHRISTIETROUT
10/31/2002
Oh my God! These are the best mashed potatoes that I have ever put in my mouth! I added cream cheese (half of one 8 oz pkg.) Let's just say there are NO left-overs! Wonderful!
(52)