Growing up, chicken schnitzel was a classic. I decided to make this dish oven-friendly using less oil, and an easier cleanup. This dish tastes great with potato salad, or mashed potatoes and a nice crisp salad. Tastes great the next day cold too! It's a family-favorite! Enjoy with fresh squeezed lemon juice.

Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C). Line a large baking sheet with aluminum foil and drizzle olive oil over foil. Place baking sheet in preheated oven.

    Advertisement
  • Flatten chicken breasts so they are all about 1/4-inch thick. Season chicken with salt and pepper.

  • Mix flour and paprika together on a large plate. Beat eggs with salt and pepper in a shallow bowl. Mix bread crumbs and lemon zest together on a separate large plate. Dredge each chicken piece in flour mixture, then egg, and then bread crumbs mixture and set aside in 1 layer on a clean plate. Repeat with remaining chicken.

  • Remove baking sheet from oven and arrange chicken in 1 layer on the sheet. Drizzle more olive oil over each piece of coated chicken.

  • Bake in the preheated oven for 5 to 6 minutes. Flip chicken and continue baking until no longer pink in the center and the breading is lightly browned, 5 to 6 minutes more. An instant-read thermometer inserted into the center should read at least 165 degrees F (74 degrees C).

Cook's Note:

You can also use panko or season your own bread crumbs.

Editor's Note:

Nutrition data for this recipe includes the full amount of breading ingredients. The actual amount of breading consumed will vary.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

383 calories; 9.1 g total fat; 127 mg cholesterol; 810 mg sodium. 40.2 g carbohydrates; 33.1 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (119)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
01/23/2016
Absolutely amazing!!!! No other words. Simple to make and delicious just without the excess oil! Thanks for this recipe. Will now make a weekly meal out of this... and picky eater kids ask for more:-) The only thing is that I didn't add the lemon zest Read More
(18)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 2 stars
09/15/2016
I'm not sure what happened since I followed the recipe exactly but this was a total flop. It came out soggy; I tried flipping and baking more but was afraid it would dry out. When my extended baking wasn't doing the trick I pulled them out and finished them off in an oiled pan. That helped crisp up the outside and I suppose it was less oil in the long run but kind of defeated the purpose of oven baked! Read More
(8)
150 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 100
  • 4 star values: 37
  • 3 star values: 8
  • 2 star values: 5
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
01/23/2016
Absolutely amazing!!!! No other words. Simple to make and delicious just without the excess oil! Thanks for this recipe. Will now make a weekly meal out of this... and picky eater kids ask for more:-) The only thing is that I didn't add the lemon zest Read More
(18)
Rating: 5 stars
10/20/2016
Made following recipe exactly except we didn't flip the chicken and it certainly wasn't soggy. We had great praise from the 56 people to whom we served it. Easy to make. Served with pickled red cabbage German Spaetzle Dumplings (AR) and my own mushroom gravy for an excellent Oktoberfest luncheon. Dessert was Deep Dish Brownies (AR) served with a Quick Cherry Sauce. Read More
(16)
Rating: 5 stars
06/01/2016
Extremely delicious dish and an excellent recipe as written. It's definitely worth the mild annoyance of dredging/coating. It was very good even with store-brand seasoned bread crumbs. Don't omit the lemon zest! It's what sends the dish above and beyond IMO. Read More
(11)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
02/24/2017
Excellent!!! We loved this chicken. So much flavour and far less oil than the traditional cooking method. I made this exactly as written and can't think of anything that would improve it. I used Italian seasoned breadcrumbs. Update: I don't know why I waited so long to make this again so very good. I thought that I had taken out four chicken breasts but after defrosting I discovered that two were pork loin chops. Proceeded with the recipe anyway and I wasn't disappointed. Thanks again Chef V. Read More
(9)
Rating: 5 stars
04/10/2016
My 11 year old daughter made this and my husband loved it! Read More
(9)
Rating: 4 stars
03/29/2018
Quite good. I didn't have lemon to zest so I substituted lemon pepper for the pepper and zest. Panko crumbs were a timesaver. Be sure the baking sheet is truly hot before taking it out of the oven and put the chicken immediately into the hot oil if you want it to brown. Read More
(8)
Advertisement
Rating: 2 stars
09/15/2016
I'm not sure what happened since I followed the recipe exactly but this was a total flop. It came out soggy; I tried flipping and baking more but was afraid it would dry out. When my extended baking wasn't doing the trick I pulled them out and finished them off in an oiled pan. That helped crisp up the outside and I suppose it was less oil in the long run but kind of defeated the purpose of oven baked! Read More
(8)
Rating: 4 stars
04/04/2016
Yee-Haw! Tasty moist and juicy chicken breasts without having to fry! I used gluten free ingredients. My chicken breasts were a bit bigger than average so I had to double the bread crumbs and egg. Times were right on though 6 minutes on each side and the chicken was cooked perfectly. Thank you for the recipe. Read More
(5)
Rating: 4 stars
09/25/2017
Works fine as is. I once tried House-Autry chicken breader instead of bread crumbs and got a lighter coating that way. By the way auf Deutsch die Name ist "Haenchen Schnitzel." ("Little Hen Schnitzel" I couldn't produce the umlaut here so had to substitute "ae") Read More
(4)