This is a booyah recipe that is adapted from originally a 50 gallon recipe cooked in large 55 gallon cast-iron kettles with a wood fire, most often at church picnics in northeastern Wisconsin.

Advertisement

Ingredients

20
Original recipe yields 20 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Mix chicken, potatoes, beef, corn, carrots, green beans, chicken broth, beef broth, diced tomatoes, onion, celery, bell pepper, cabbage, salt, basil, oregano, celery salt, black pepper, and vegetable base in a slow cooker.

    Advertisement
  • Cook on Low for 6 hours.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

248 calories; 9.6 g total fat; 68 mg cholesterol; 1918 mg sodium. 18.6 g carbohydrates; 21.9 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (50)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
03/30/2015
Great stuff! I followed the recipe for 5 servings instead of 20 as written and used all fresh vegetables instead of frozen or canned. It cooked thoroughly in 6 hours but wasn't as soupy as an original Booyah. Regardless it was delicious. The flavour is country-style and rustic. The seasonings just accent the dish and allow the flavour of the vegetables beef and chicken to come through. No oil no gluten no dairy adjust the salt as you wish this is definitely a dish to take for a pot-luck or large gathering and everyone will be pleased. Thank you wbartelme for sharing your recipe. Read More
(72)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
06/07/2018
cut sodium by 90% and was not impressed by taste or dish itself. I'm surprised recipe is even listed here as I feel no one should ingest this much salt in one meal. Will not be seeing anything like this again. Read More
58 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 23
  • 4 star values: 15
  • 3 star values: 13
  • 2 star values: 5
  • 1 star values: 2
Rating: 5 stars
03/30/2015
Great stuff! I followed the recipe for 5 servings instead of 20 as written and used all fresh vegetables instead of frozen or canned. It cooked thoroughly in 6 hours but wasn't as soupy as an original Booyah. Regardless it was delicious. The flavour is country-style and rustic. The seasonings just accent the dish and allow the flavour of the vegetables beef and chicken to come through. No oil no gluten no dairy adjust the salt as you wish this is definitely a dish to take for a pot-luck or large gathering and everyone will be pleased. Thank you wbartelme for sharing your recipe. Read More
(72)
Rating: 5 stars
08/27/2015
have made many times in the past year. The only thing I add is 1/2 lemon and zest for the over the top Wisconsin flavor:) When I want more of a stew texture I throw in 1/2C rice to thicken it up. Read More
(31)
Rating: 4 stars
09/20/2015
Cut the recipe in half and it came out well. The only problem was it was too salty likely because the recipe calls for not only salt and celery salt but also canned vegetables (which can be high in sodium). If I make this again I'll either use fresh vegetables or sharply reduce the salt. Read More
(31)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
10/19/2015
This was delicious! I cut the recipe in half and my family was glad that we still had leftovers the next evening. The only thing which I did differently was to use 'frozen' green beans (along w/the other frozen vegetables) lower sodium chicken & beef stocks and lower sodium tomatoes (for health reasons). I also added a large clove of finely minced garlic. This came out to be a very tasty and healthy dish and I'll definitely make it again especially during the winter months. Read More
(19)
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2015
I simmered all of the ingredients in an 8-qt. dutch oven on the stove-top for 3 hours because my slow cooker is only 4 qt. and I knew it wouldn't hold all of the ingredients. I used about 1 T. Better Than Bouillon Vegetable concentrate instead of Swanson's (which is no longer available); and canned moose meat instead of beef stew meat. I also cut the salt to 1 T. but still thought that was too much. My husband thought this was the best stew he's ever had and I also liked it in spite of a little more salt than I would prefer so I'm sure I'll be making this often this winter. I like that it makes enough that there's plenty to freeze in gallon Ziploc bags to heat up when we're to busy to cook. Read More
(11)
Rating: 5 stars
10/20/2015
A new fave for us. Outrageously tasty simple to put together and totally healthy! Our first version of Booyah was prepared with what was on hand: all fresh veggies except corn & tomatoes; chicken breast meat and garlic sausage instead of beef; did not peel red potatoes; chicken broth only Italian seasoning replaced dried herbs green onions (tops and white); no celery or veggie base and broccoli slaw instead of cabbage. Salt & pepper were used to taste only. Try your own adjustments to taste and what's on hand. This is a no-fail recipe no matter what your ingredient choices. Thanks for all the ideas from reviewers and for sharing this great recipe. Read More
(10)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
01/16/2016
Very hearty and robust stew! I had to add (2TBSP) minced garlic to the recipe just because I like garlic. Use fresh vegetables for over the top results. There was a bit too much salt for me but it was easily remedied. Took 3 large peeled Idaho Potatoes and placed them whole in the Stew about half way through the cooking process they acted as Salt Sponges and removed the excess salt (threw them away when stew was ready). I suggest you go primal and cook outside so everyone can enjoy the wonderful aromatic smell coming off the stew. Read More
(6)
Rating: 4 stars
01/21/2016
I would rate it 5 stars if it weren't for all the salt! If you use fresh ingredients and cut out as much of the salt as you can this is a great recipe. My rule of thumb is start with it plain: you can always add more later if you need to. So I only used the broth and no other salty ingredients and it was plenty salty. If you use the Better Than Bouillon you can add it very easily later on as you're cooking. Read More
(5)
Rating: 2 stars
10/30/2015
WAY TOO SALTY!!! I had to pour the stew through a colander and briefly rinse the veggies and meat then put back in the crock pot with fresh broth to make it edible. Even then it isn't very interesting. Read More
(4)