30 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 24
  • 4 star values: 6

This makes a great appetizer and afternoon snack! It is also good using ham and cheese. beef and sauerkraut

Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • In a large bowl, combine 1 1/2 cups flour, yeast, sugar and salt. Add warm water, mustard and butter; stir well. Stir in the remaining flour, 1/2 cup at a time, beating well after each addition. When the dough has pulled together, turn it out onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth and elastic, about 6 minutes. Cover and let rest for 10 minutes.

    Advertisement
  • On lightly floured surface, roll dough to a 10x15 rectangle. Layer corned beef, Swiss cheese, and sauerkraut in the center third of the rectangle. Use a knife to make cuts from filling to dough edge, approximately 1 inches apart. Folds strips across bread, alternating sides. Cover loaf and let rise in a warm area for 45 minutes.

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).

  • Brush risen loaf with beaten egg. Bake in preheated oven for 30 minutes, until golden brown.

Nutrition Facts

694 calories; 32 g total fat; 161 mg cholesterol; 1556 mg sodium. 64.3 g carbohydrates; 35.3 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (26)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
11/17/2010
We really enjoyed this at our home. Please don't judge but I didn't have time to make dough. I had a Pillsbury french loaf that filled in nicely. Instead of mustard I made 1000 island dressing (mayo ketchup and pickle relish). The possibilities are endless ham and cheese Philly cheese-steak Italian meats w/marinara turkey w/ bacon and Caesar dressing... The sky is the limit! Thank you NEHCTERG for the wonderful recipe.
(33)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 4 stars
04/09/2003
What a delicious recipe! I used 1 Cup of rye flour and caraway seeds in the bread ingredients. I LOVE ruben sandwiches and this was no exception! It is a half-day project though and contains expensive ingredients. Sometimes you just gotta splurge though!
(25)
30 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 24
  • 4 star values: 6
Rating: 5 stars
11/17/2010
We really enjoyed this at our home. Please don't judge but I didn't have time to make dough. I had a Pillsbury french loaf that filled in nicely. Instead of mustard I made 1000 island dressing (mayo ketchup and pickle relish). The possibilities are endless ham and cheese Philly cheese-steak Italian meats w/marinara turkey w/ bacon and Caesar dressing... The sky is the limit! Thank you NEHCTERG for the wonderful recipe.
(33)
Rating: 4 stars
04/09/2003
What a delicious recipe! I used 1 Cup of rye flour and caraway seeds in the bread ingredients. I LOVE ruben sandwiches and this was no exception! It is a half-day project though and contains expensive ingredients. Sometimes you just gotta splurge though!
(25)
Rating: 5 stars
01/20/2009
i love to make bread! this stuff is a big hit at my house. we like corn beef brisket. when i make it the left overs are for this bread. the only thing i changed is i mix a little thousand island dressing in with the sauerkrat and layer cornbeef then sauerkrat and then cheese. if cheese on bottom it makes to soggy. great find! thanks lisa
(19)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
03/08/2008
I had been making this for years from an old recipe book i had. When I moved and couldn't find the book i searched high and low on st. patty's day for this! i was soooo happy to find it here! my family and i LOVE this and make it every march 17th; its so much better than the traditional bland corned beef and cabbage. i have graduated to making 2 or 3 at a time because we can never get enough!
(12)
Rating: 5 stars
07/14/2011
We made this according to the directions the first time. We liked the idea of the crust but it was a bit thicker and harder than we liked. In the interests of time the next time I thawed a loaf of bread dough during the day in the refrigerator. I let it rise a bit then rolled spread it out and added the corned beef Swiss cheese and sauerkraut. I did the same type of braid spread with beaten egg and then baked it at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. We used this recipe for a dip/sauce. 1/3 cup mayonnaise 1 1/2 Tbsp ketchup 1 1/2 teaspoons prepared horseradish 1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce Salt to taste Freshly ground black pepper to taste Great concept NEHCTERG but we like these slight changes.
(10)
Rating: 5 stars
08/01/2011
This was so yummy. I did not make the bread from scratch. I used the Pilsbury French loaf. Yum and easy.
(9)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
05/18/2010
This bread came out FANTASTIC...Def. worth the time put into making it! You will love it.
(8)
Rating: 5 stars
01/31/2011
Fantastic use of leftover corned beef. I did substitute 1c rye flour but it was completely unnecessary. The yellow mustard adds a great flavor and brightness to the bread. I mixed some Thousand Island with hot cream horseradish and we dipped the sandwiches in that. So very tasty!
(8)
Rating: 5 stars
03/03/2010
Everybody loved this recipe. I didn't use the corned beef. Instead I used left over roast beef mashed potatoes corn and peas. Made a gravy to dip it into. It was a big hit
(7)