22 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 11
  • 4 star values: 6
  • 3 star values: 3
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 1

Chicken stewed in a spicy tomato sauce is easy to make and delicious for tacos or tostadas.

Advertisement

Ingredients

10
Original recipe yields 10 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Toppings for Tacos or Tostadas:

Directions

  • Pat chicken dry using paper towels. Heat 2 tablespoons oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add half of the chicken to skillet and cook until lightly brown on one side, 3 to 4 minutes. Transfer chicken to 6-quart slow cooker. Repeat with remaining chicken. Add 2 tablespoons oil and onions to skillet and cook for 3 to 4 minutes or until onions begin to soften.

    Advertisement
  • Add to slow cooker with tomatoes, chipotles, garlic and chicken broth. Mix well. Cook for 3 to 4 hours on HIGH or 4 to 6 hours on LOW. The Tinga Chicken is ready when the chicken is tender and can be easily pulled apart. Shred chicken pieces using two forks. Serve Tinga with warm tortillas or crisp tostadas and arrange toppings in small bowls. Top as desired.

Tips

Recipe Note: Canned chipotle peppers in adobo sauce can be found in the Latin/Hispanic section of most grocery stores. Adjust spiciness by adding more or less of the peppers and the adobo sauce.

Nutrition Facts

258 calories; 11.7 g total fat; 60 mg cholesterol; 196 mg sodium. 14.3 g carbohydrates; 24.6 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (14)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
11/05/2014
Tinga is one of our favorites and this one is the best on this site. There is only one flaw in this recipe and it is a big one in my opinion that might detour people from trying this and that is the "ready in" 10 hours 20 minutes. This has got to be a typo so please do not let it fool you. Plan for 4 hours max because this is all you need. Don't skimp on the toppings and I promise that you won't be disappointed! Read More
(19)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
03/30/2015
Disappointing!!! Flavorless!!! Read More
(1)
22 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 11
  • 4 star values: 6
  • 3 star values: 3
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 5 stars
11/05/2014
Tinga is one of our favorites and this one is the best on this site. There is only one flaw in this recipe and it is a big one in my opinion that might detour people from trying this and that is the "ready in" 10 hours 20 minutes. This has got to be a typo so please do not let it fool you. Plan for 4 hours max because this is all you need. Don't skimp on the toppings and I promise that you won't be disappointed! Read More
(19)
Rating: 4 stars
11/20/2014
Tinga is one of my favorite Mexican dishes.It is easy to prepare and full of flavor and very versatile as you can put it in tacos tostadas quesadillas or even as a filling in an omelet.The original recipe uses tomatillos instead of tomatoes and the red color is actually given by the chipotle pepper and the adobo sauce. Many people use tomatoes because it is what they have in hand and in some regions or countries is difficult to find tomatillos. The flavor is amazing no matter if you use tomatoes or tomatillos. This is the first time I use the slow cooker for cooking tinga and it came out pretty good. I cut the chicken into thick strips to shred the chicken easily. I don't really like a messy tinga so I thought this would help the texture and presentation of it and it did. I added 3 more tomatoes to the recipe as I thought the dish was going to be a little bit dry and I suppose I was right because mine was perfectly moist. I added some salt at the end of the cooking process. We enjoyed it in tacos and tostadas. Yummy! Read More
(9)
Rating: 5 stars
11/24/2014
Delicious! I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I subbed canned tomatoes that I drained. These are super flavorful and I found myself wishing I hadn't cut the recipe in half. I won't make that mistake again! Next time I'll increase the chipotle by 50% or perhaps add a spoonful of the adobo sauce because we like spicy stuff and these are just mildly spicy. Thanks for a tasty healthy dinner Mazola! Read More
(8)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
11/15/2014
This was good but it wasn't really flavory enough for us even with flavorful toppings like limes cilantro and cotija. I could've added more chipotles but that would have added more heat. I do think in the future I would need to add something to liven it up without heating it up! A very nice solid base to dress up though and I liked what browning the chicken before throwing it in the crockpot brought to the party. Thanks Mazola! Read More
(3)
Rating: 4 stars
02/17/2015
This turned out well for us. I made it for chicken tacos. It didn't have anyone saying "Wow " but it's a good basic recipe for use in a lot of different dishes. I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I used canned Rotel tomatoes that I drained. Read More
(2)
Rating: 5 stars
11/08/2014
Easily a five star recipe and what's even easier about this recipes is that it's done in a slow cooker. Use your favorite taco toppings for the perfect meal. Read More
(2)
Advertisement
Rating: 1 stars
03/30/2015
Disappointing!!! Flavorless!!! Read More
(1)
Rating: 4 stars
11/25/2014
The chipotles added a nice smoky flavor and the easy prep was great. We all enjoyed it! Read More
(1)
Rating: 5 stars
11/13/2014
Very good and easy! We loved it and I will make this one again. The house smelled so good as it cooked away. Read More
(1)