96 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 71
  • 4 star values: 20
  • 3 star values: 3
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 1

I made this recipe up when I started eating paleo. I have now found it to be a staple in our home!

Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Heat olive oil in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Saute onion and garlic in hot oil until softened, about 5 minutes.

    Advertisement
  • Stir chicken, sweet potatoes, spinach, crushed red pepper, paprika, and sea salt with the onion and garlic in the saucepan. Pour as much chicken broth into the saucepan to make the mixture as soup-like or stew-like as you'd like it.

  • Bring the broth to a boil, reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer until the chicken is no longer pink in the middle and the sweet potatoes are tender, about 30 minutes.

Nutrition Facts

145 calories; 2.5 g total fat; 21 mg cholesterol; 224 mg sodium. 20.9 g carbohydrates; 9.6 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (77)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
11/18/2014
Since ive gone paleo ive been making this recipe at least once a week. I tweaked it a little by adding a link of smoked sausage added double the spinach and double the chicken broth and added a cup water. I also mashed the sweet potatoes just a bit so it wasn't so soupy. I could eat this all week. Read More
(17)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
05/12/2014
According to my "Paleo Cookbook" a potato of ANY kind is a non-paleo food. Read More
(8)
96 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 71
  • 4 star values: 20
  • 3 star values: 3
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 4 stars
04/06/2015
This was a very good base recipe. I used 1/4 tsp chipotle powder instead of red pepper flakes and browned the chicken with the onions before adding the other ingredients to add to the depth of flavor. I held off on the spinach until the last couple minutes so that it wouldn't get mushy and disintegrate. I used about 2 cups of spinach and will use even more next time since it cooks down so much. 30 minutes was a little longer than it needed to cook but I really liked it anyway because some of the sweet potatoes broke down acting as a thickener for the stew. The flavor profile spot on -- savory sweet and spicy. And it looked beautiful! Both of my boys cleaned their plates. Will definitely be making this again. Read More
(24)
Rating: 5 stars
11/18/2014
Since ive gone paleo ive been making this recipe at least once a week. I tweaked it a little by adding a link of smoked sausage added double the spinach and double the chicken broth and added a cup water. I also mashed the sweet potatoes just a bit so it wasn't so soupy. I could eat this all week. Read More
(17)
Rating: 5 stars
10/04/2014
This was delicious! I too am following the Paleo plan and only SWEET POTATOES are considered Paleo and should be eaten only occasionally as they are still potatoes after all. My husband who is not following Paleo told me that I could make this as often as I liked because he loved loved LOVED IT! Thanks for posting this fantastic dish! Read More
(9)
Advertisement
Rating: 1 stars
05/12/2014
According to my "Paleo Cookbook" a potato of ANY kind is a non-paleo food. Read More
(8)
Rating: 5 stars
01/10/2015
First paleo recipe I've tried and I loved it! I will definitely make again; however next time I'll add the spinach for the last 5-10 minutes of cooking. Putting the spinach in at the same time with the rest of the ingredients causes it to cook down to practically nothing. Read More
(7)
Rating: 5 stars
05/03/2014
This had a ton of flavor my whole family loved! We are trying to incorporate paleo into our lives as much as possible even my 7 year old loved this! Read More
(7)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
01/11/2015
This was a hit. The flavor was there. I did double everything and added plenty of broth and adjusted the seasoning to taste. This is a keeper. Read More
(4)
Rating: 5 stars
02/02/2017
I made this soup with all of the ingredients that were called for but assembled it differently. First I browned the chicken and removed it from the pot white meat has a tendency to dry out if boiled for too long. Then I added the yams for a few minutes then the onions then the garlic. I added in some water to deglaze the pan then the pepper paprika and salt. I added enough chicken broth to cover everything which was probably about 4-6 cups and let that come to a boil. Reduced to a simmer until the yams were mostly done and added the chicken back in. Once everything was cooked through I added in about 3 cups of spinach right before I ladled it into bowls. Served with Paleo Biscuits it was hit. Read More
(4)
Rating: 4 stars
02/03/2015
Fantastic Paleo recipe!!! Read More
(3)