With the winter months approaching fast my niece and I co-conspired to come up with this warm and comforting soup using 'zoodles' that's easy on the waistline.

Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Heat olive oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. Saute onion, celery, and garlic in hot oil until just tender, about 5 minutes.

    Advertisement
  • Pour chicken broth into the pot; add carrots, chicken, basil, oregano, thyme, salt, and pepper. Bring the broth to a boil, reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer mixture until the vegetables are tender, about 20 minutes.

  • Divide zucchini 'noodles' between six soup bowls; ladle broth mixture over the 'noodles.'

Cook's Note:

'Zoodles' (zucchini noodles) can be made with a julienne peeler, a mandoline with a julienne blade, or a Spirooli® or Paderno® spiral slicer. I use a Paderno®.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

208 calories; 9.5 g total fat; 48 mg cholesterol; 257 mg sodium. 8.9 g carbohydrates; 21.6 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (79)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
03/24/2014
i probably should not rate this since i changed it. i didn't mean to but i doubled the recipe. i used celery and included the tops...added them after the soup had simmered. i used a roto bird from sam's. shredded the meat. slapped the bones and skin in a cast-iron pot. this simmered @ 3 hours after a reducing boil. strained out the bones ans used the stock. i then used butter and olive oil to sauté the garlic onions and carrots. i added some reserved chicken stock when needed. this is a great cooler weather chicken noodle soup. i love the zoodles in this. i bet some fresh maters would be great here. great stuff! the zukes are terrific here. try this..your flu needs this! Read More
(50)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 2 stars
11/06/2017
Bland. I've made tastier chicken noodle soup and could just use another recipe and substitute zucchini for the noodles. Read More
(1)
102 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 74
  • 4 star values: 25
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
03/24/2014
i probably should not rate this since i changed it. i didn't mean to but i doubled the recipe. i used celery and included the tops...added them after the soup had simmered. i used a roto bird from sam's. shredded the meat. slapped the bones and skin in a cast-iron pot. this simmered @ 3 hours after a reducing boil. strained out the bones ans used the stock. i then used butter and olive oil to sauté the garlic onions and carrots. i added some reserved chicken stock when needed. this is a great cooler weather chicken noodle soup. i love the zoodles in this. i bet some fresh maters would be great here. great stuff! the zukes are terrific here. try this..your flu needs this! Read More
(50)
Rating: 5 stars
10/14/2014
Mom's: Attention please: this is the soup to fight colds! This is the perfect recipe when it's been cold and rainy and the kids come home with runny noses and sore throats. I made this in my pressure cooker in 7 minutes using leftover grilled chicken breasts and threw in some potatoes to add a starch. It's delicious light and hits the spot. It also solves any gluten issues because everyone in the family can eat it meaning I don't have to make two different pots of soup. The "zoodles" were fun but next time I'll make "zaccheroni" because the "zoodles" cut into long strips were sloppy to eat-the kids giggled the whole time though. Do add the thyme as it really makes a difference. Thanks BD Weld and your niece for the recipe; simple and effective and full of flavour. Read More
(33)
Rating: 5 stars
06/15/2015
This is THE PERFECT chicken soup!!! (Trust me I'm a soup-a-holic!) I try to eat lower-carb and this soup allows me to "indulge" in chicken "noodle" soup without the extra carbs and calories. I'm always looking for new ways to use my Veggetti spiral slicer. The broth is so flavorful like it's been simmering all day. This makes 6 very generous and healthy portions. I love the texture of the raw zucchini which gives the soup some nice texture. I didn't have any leftover chicken so I poached 2 breasts for about 10 mins in about 2 cups of seasoned water. I then used the leftover liquid to make up the broth along with 1 carton of regular chicken broth and some leftover garlic-infused chicken broth I had. The dried herbs were spot on. To make the zoodles easier to eat I piled them onto a cutting board and cut them into 2-3" pieces. Even though it's not soup weather right now this did the trick warming me up in my chilly air conditioned office. This will be put into regular rotation for sure! Read More
(21)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
06/28/2014
Made this for lunch today with grilled cheese Sammie's. This was super easy to put together and it tasted great. I love the addition of the thyme. My boys are not the biggest fans of zucchini so I added my zoodles to the simmering soup for a few to make them super soft. Love this one. To make my zoodles I used the julienne peeler from pampered chef. Read More
(12)
Rating: 5 stars
06/03/2015
This soup is de-lish-shush! I mean it's really good! Easy to make chicken soup adding zoodled zucchini is a healthy way to get your veggies and like them too. I would not hesitate using this recipe to make Chicken Noodle Soup or Chicken Rice Soup or Chicken & Dumplings either. The taste is just down right comfort food. We loved it and I've made 3 batches already. Winner winner...chicken dinner Brian. Thanks for a wonderful chicken soup recipe where we can eliminate the carbs and gluten and still have a fabulous and flavorful dish. Thank you Brian for a great (and I mean great) Chicken Zoodle Soup recipe! Read More
(8)
Rating: 5 stars
01/02/2015
Chicken Noodle has always remained my favorite soup but I realized it is due to the rich broth carrots celery and onion combo and not really about the noodles. LOVED this! It was the zoodles instead of noodles that bumped this one up a notch over chicken noodle. Thanks for sharing bd.weld! Read More
(7)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
02/23/2018
Enjoyed this soup very much! I used vegetable broth instead of the chicken broth because that s what I had on hand. Added chopped baby kale at the very end for an extra veggie boost. Really liked the texture of the uncooked zucchini noodles but did let it soften for a few minutes after adding the soup on top. Delicious healthy low-cal soup. Will definitely make again. Read More
(5)
Rating: 5 stars
03/14/2014
Another great way to use my Padermo and zoodles! Love this soup! The seasonings are perfect. I used left-over turkey breast that I added at the end as well as zoodles left from last night's dinner. Read More
(4)
Rating: 4 stars
04/14/2016
Positively delicious soup! Would have given it five stars but I made one change--used homemade chicken stock instead of the canned. An excellent choice for "weight watcher" folks. Will make again! Read More
(4)