147 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 84
  • 4 star values: 31
  • 3 star values: 15
  • 2 star values: 10
  • 1 star values: 7

This recipe using only three chicken breasts is very economical and super delicious! My kids love it and they are extremely picky. The chicken just melts in your mouth and is so flavorful! Garlic bread and salad goes well with this meal. I always taste before serving so I will know what, if anything more, I need to add such as Parmesan, Italian dressing, or milk if it's too thick, etc.

Advertisement

Ingredients

5
Original recipe yields 5 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Whisk sea salt, black pepper, cumin, paprika, Italian seasoning, and garlic powder together in a bowl. Season chicken breasts with seasoning mixture and place chicken in the slow cooker.

    Advertisement
  • Stir cream of mushroom soup, Italian dressing, sour cream, Parmesan cheese, flour, and vinegar together in a bowl; pour over chicken.

  • Cook on Low for 6 hours.

  • Shred chicken in the slow cooker using 2 forks.

  • Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Cook angel hair in the boiling water, stirring occasionally until cooked through but firm to the bite, 4 to 5 minutes. Drain.

  • Serve chicken over angel hair pasta.

Cook's Notes:

The malt vinegar was used in place of wine since I was out last time I made this. Everyone said it was the best to-date so I incorporated it into the official recipe. White wine can be used in place of malt vinegar if desired.

Cream of chicken soup can be substituted for cream of mushroom if desired.

I don't measure the seasonings, so 1 teaspoon for each is approximate.

Partner Tip

Try using a Reynolds® slow cooker liner in your slow cooker for easier cleanup.

Nutrition Facts

480 calories; 25 g total fat; 56 mg cholesterol; 1582 mg sodium. 40.5 g carbohydrates; 24.1 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (120)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
03/03/2014
I made this exactly as written (except for the malt vinegar which I did not have on hand) and it was devoured by four picky eaters all with different tastes! The dish was easy to make and although the spices and ingredients don't sound like they'd go together -- they do! The sauce was thick rich and creamy the chicken tender and juicy. I took the breasts out to shred gave the sauce a good stir and then placed the shredded chicken back into the crockpot on low while I made the pasta and side dish (green beans with grape tomatoes in a touch of Italian dressing). Thank goodness -- a new staple that every one can agree on! Thanks! Read More
(81)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
02/02/2015
This is actually the first review (regarding a recipe) I've ever written. They say "Don't judge a book by it's cover" but in this case I really should have! I FOLLOWED IT TO A T!!!! I eventually had to skim out all (of what I could) the sauce. It was sooooo BITTER! I'm assuming it was the Italian dressing and I LOVE Italian dressing! (I could literally drink it!!) I did however; leave out the malt vinegar (simply because I had none on hand) and that might have ACTUALLY worked in my benefit. Anyways hope this helps but I will NOT EVER be making this again. Read More
(27)
147 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 84
  • 4 star values: 31
  • 3 star values: 15
  • 2 star values: 10
  • 1 star values: 7
Rating: 5 stars
03/03/2014
I made this exactly as written (except for the malt vinegar which I did not have on hand) and it was devoured by four picky eaters all with different tastes! The dish was easy to make and although the spices and ingredients don't sound like they'd go together -- they do! The sauce was thick rich and creamy the chicken tender and juicy. I took the breasts out to shred gave the sauce a good stir and then placed the shredded chicken back into the crockpot on low while I made the pasta and side dish (green beans with grape tomatoes in a touch of Italian dressing). Thank goodness -- a new staple that every one can agree on! Thanks! Read More
(81)
Rating: 5 stars
03/27/2014
I have to agree you don't think these spices would work but it totally does! Followed this recipe by the book and it turned out perfect. The whole family loved it! Read More
(37)
Rating: 1 stars
02/02/2015
This is actually the first review (regarding a recipe) I've ever written. They say "Don't judge a book by it's cover" but in this case I really should have! I FOLLOWED IT TO A T!!!! I eventually had to skim out all (of what I could) the sauce. It was sooooo BITTER! I'm assuming it was the Italian dressing and I LOVE Italian dressing! (I could literally drink it!!) I did however; leave out the malt vinegar (simply because I had none on hand) and that might have ACTUALLY worked in my benefit. Anyways hope this helps but I will NOT EVER be making this again. Read More
(27)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
08/26/2014
Made this last night and it was very good and thanx OBXcat! I left out the malt vinegar and used 8 boneless/skinless thighs instead of the breasts. I made a casserole with it using egg noodles. 2 hours on "high" and 2 hours on "low" was perfect. Wife said a bit salty but delicious (she has her own salt-lick) so it was a bit much for me (but still edible) and still good. Also used 2 cans mushroom soup. Next time will use thighs again and use 2 cans of low sodium soup. Will also delete the tsp salt as I believe there is enough in the salad dressing (salt is one thing that you can always add on your plate for those with salt-lick fetishes). This is a keeper as noted and hope you may find this helpful. Read More
(20)
Rating: 5 stars
03/01/2014
wow Read More
(18)
Rating: 5 stars
08/03/2014
Made this recipe as written except I cooked it 3 hours on high in the crockpot because of time. Turned out great! Sauce is wonderful. Thanks for this deliciously easy recipe. Read More
(14)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
05/19/2014
When I first read this recipe I thought the spices on the chicken were a very odd combo. This made me think this dish would be either amazing or terrible. It was amazing! The only change I made (accidentally) was I used cayenne pepper instead of peprika (whooops!) which gave it a really good kick. It was tamed down by the sauce and the pasta so it wasn't overwhelming (this is coming from someone with a low tolerance to spicy foods!). Very very yummy! Read More
(12)
Rating: 4 stars
08/08/2014
Omit the salt. Everything else has salt already in it the soup the dressing the parmesan etc. We found it waaaaay too salty. But the flavors were really yummy. Instead of the malt vinegar I used a bit of prepared balsamic vinegar dressing along with the Italian (I used zesty Italian) and instead of breasts I used boneless skinless thighs. I don't think chicken breasts belong in the slow cooker. I would definitely make it again without the salt. Read More
(12)
Rating: 5 stars
06/26/2014
I used 1.25 lbs of chicken tenderloin cooked on low for about 4 hours. I also left out the vinegar and like someone else said I used red pepper instead of paprika. I tasted it before cooking the noodles and opted for burritos instead since it was a pretty thick mixture. It turned out wonderful! Perfect chicken burrito! Added a little more sour cream and shredded cheese and my 7 year old picky eater said it was TERRIFIC. Great recipe! Read More
(10)