13 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 10
  • 4 star values: 2
  • 3 star values: 1

A creamy, cheesy soup that tastes just like a Philly cheese steak sandwich and is great on a cold winter's night. Serve with a crusty loaf of French bread.

Advertisement

Ingredients

8
Original recipe yields 8 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Melt butter in a large, heavy-bottomed pot or Dutch oven over medium heat; cook and stir mushrooms, onion, and bell pepper in the hot pot until tender, about 5 minutes. Add flour and continue to cook and stir until flour is golden, about 5 minutes more.

    Advertisement
  • Gradually whisk milk into vegetable mixture and bring to a simmer. Cook until thickened, stirring often, about 5 minutes. Reduce heat to medium-low. Add beef consomme; season soup with salt and pepper. Slowly stir provolone cheese into soup until cheese is melted, 3 to 5 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in roast beef.

Nutrition Facts

448 calories; 30 g total fat; 100 mg cholesterol; 1291 mg sodium. 20.8 g carbohydrates; 24.7 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (11)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
01/07/2014
Very good! A very original recipe that really hit the spot.
(4)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
03/19/2014
While I thought this soup was ok... Overall I thought it was pretty bland.
13 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 10
  • 4 star values: 2
  • 3 star values: 1
Rating: 5 stars
01/07/2014
Very good! A very original recipe that really hit the spot.
(4)
Rating: 5 stars
01/10/2016
Delicious and filling!! I made this soup in the croc pot with a few changes. I used a package of Hillshire Farms roast beef and a package of shredded Parmesan-Reggiano cheese. The only step I would change is when adding the flour which is needed to thicken the soup up. I seasoned the flour first with pepper and garlic powder. My mistake was adding all the flour at once (I had to whisk the soup like crazy to dissolve the flour clumps that formed). I would save a 1/2 cup of milk and whisk the flour into that and then add it to the soup. I cooked the soup on high for 5 hours and added the cheese/flour 1 3/4 of an hour before the soup was done.
(3)
Rating: 5 stars
01/04/2016
I'd give the recipe as is 4 stars however I doubled the cheese added the beef with the cheese and simmered for 20 minutes and added extra beef stock salt pepper garlic and Italian seasoning and it was wonderful. It just needs some doctoring up. Great base recipe and a fantastic idea!
(2)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
01/01/2018
Excellent! Creamy smooth a Philly cheesesteak in soup form. Yummy.
Rating: 5 stars
03/03/2019
Loved it! I added the flour after sautéing the vegetables, sort of making a roux, before adding the milk. Had no problem with lumps. Added some seasoning (I use Savory Spice blends). Really tasty lunch.
Rating: 5 stars
06/11/2019
Great recipe, we doubled the meat and next we're going to put a full pound
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
02/04/2016
Followed the recipe completely. Loved it. Will definitely make this again.
Rating: 5 stars
01/08/2016
this was an awesome recipe and works great in a crock pot
Rating: 3 stars
03/19/2014
While I thought this soup was ok... Overall I thought it was pretty bland.