9 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 6
  • 4 star values: 2
  • 3 star values: 0
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 1

I loved Little House on the Prairie, and Almanzo's favorite dish was fried apples 'n onions. Fascinated, I made this recipe up (lol, not complicated) and have loved the combination!

Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Melt butter in a skillet over medium-high heat; cook and stir apples, onion, brown sugar, and cinnamon in the melted butter until onions are translucent and sauce is slightly reduced, 15 to 20 minutes. Cool before serving.

    Advertisement

Cook's Note:

Measurements are broad. Adjust according to size of apples. I find it unnecessary to add water. May add cinnamon if you like.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

249 calories; 11.8 g total fat; 31 mg cholesterol; 89 mg sodium. 38.1 g carbohydrates; 1.1 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (9)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
08/05/2013
Beyond tickled that someone submitted this recipe--I have been a fan of Laura Ingalls books since I first started to read. I made this last night for a quick dinner. I used Granny Smith apples for a hint of tartness used a little more butter brown sugar and cinnamon (my apples and onion were a bit on the larger side) and served this with a quality cooked kielbasa. NO leftovers. We ate every single bite.
(14)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
07/23/2016
A very creative recipe.
9 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 6
  • 4 star values: 2
  • 3 star values: 0
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 5 stars
08/05/2013
Beyond tickled that someone submitted this recipe--I have been a fan of Laura Ingalls books since I first started to read. I made this last night for a quick dinner. I used Granny Smith apples for a hint of tartness used a little more butter brown sugar and cinnamon (my apples and onion were a bit on the larger side) and served this with a quality cooked kielbasa. NO leftovers. We ate every single bite.
(14)
Rating: 5 stars
12/11/2013
So good! I love how they paired apples and onions! Who knew it would come out so good? I actually added some turmeric which kicked things up a notch!
(5)
Rating: 5 stars
10/28/2013
Farmer Boy has always been my favorite of the Little House books. Years ago I made this for my kids--without a recipe to follow from the book and because I always use apples in my Stuffing I went with typical stuffing seasonings Sage being a key player of flavor. It was pretty good eating! I tried this sweet and spicy version today and love it! We enjoy the health benefits of cinnamon so I added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and cut the sugar down to 2 TBLS. I used Macintosh apples. And a dash of salt.
(4)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
03/22/2014
This is easy and I love this combination of onions and apples.
(3)
Rating: 5 stars
05/19/2018
Thank you i love this I added bacon as directed by the little house recipe (didnt have salt pork) and it was the perfect mix of savory and sweet
(1)
Rating: 4 stars
11/27/2015
It was easy and tasty both. I was worried about the added sugar since I am diabetic but decided it was Thanksgiving after all and went ahead. I too did not need to add water just cover the pan with a lid and the water in the apples and onions will cook into a sauce as they reduce. I wonder if it would be possible to make a spicy and sweet version of this dish?
Advertisement
Rating: 1 stars
07/23/2016
A very creative recipe.
Rating: 4 stars
11/17/2018
Yummy for something different! Good with a Thanksgiving meal.
Rating: 5 stars
11/23/2014
I took Sarah Jo's tip and sautéed chopped kolbassa in with the onions and apples. I added some chicken stock to the skillet otherwise the brown sugar will burn and stick to the pan. It was so easy but such tasty comfort food. Will make this again for sure it also would be good to take for pot lucks. Thanks for posting the recipe